Verbier Festival
Alexander Ullman

Alexander Ullman first came to international attention in 2011 after winning the Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in Budapest. From 2014 to 2017 he was represented by Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT). Born in London, in 1991, he studied at the Purcell School, the Curtis Institute and the Royal College of Music, completing his Artist Diploma as the Benjamin Britten Piano Fellow in 2017 (awarded by the Philip Loubser Foundation). His teachers have included William Fong, Leon Fleisher, Ignat Solzhenitsyn, Robert McDonald, Dmitri Alexeev, Ian Jones and Elisso Virsaladze.

Praised for his subtle interpretations and refined technical mastery, British pianist Alexander Ullman has impressed audiences and critics worldwide with his deep understanding of the scores he interprets, his elegant touch and crystalline phrasing.

The 18/19 season sees Alexander debut with the Moscow State Symphony Orchestra (Pavel Kogan), Beijing’s NCPA Orchestra (Markus Stenz) and the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra. He performs recitals in Germany (Schloss Elmau, Stadthalle Bayreuth and Festhalle Weimar), Austria (Liszt Festival Raiding), Hungary (Liszt Academy Budapest), the Netherlands, Poland, Italy, Georgia, Mexico, Korea (Seoul Arts Center) and his native UK. Chamber music projects include a tour with violinist Barnabas Kelemen and his debut at the Montreal Chamber Music Festival.

In Spring 2019, Rubicon releases his first album, featuring Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, Prokofiev’s Six Pieces from Cinderella, as well as Stravinsky’s Petrushka and Firebird suites.

The winner of the 2017 International Franz Liszt Piano Competition in Utrecht, Alexander has appeared with the Philadelphia Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, Norwegian Radio Orchestra, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Budapest Radio Orchestra and Korean Symphony Orchestra, as well as the New Jersey, Fort Worth and Montreal symphonies, working with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Giancarlo Guerrero, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Valentin Uryupin and Markus Stenz. In the 17/18 season he closed the Lille Piano(s) Festival with Orchestre de Picardie under Jean-Claude Casadesus.

He has performed at Wigmore Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall (London), the Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Gewandhaus (Leipzig), Kimmel Center (Philadelphia), Kennedy Center (Washington DC), Seoul Arts Center, Shanghai Oriental Arts Center and the NCPA in Beijing, and has been featured in the Nottingham and Oxford international piano series, on BBC Radio 3, France Musique and MDR Klassik. Chamber music highlights include performances at the International Musicians Seminar at Prussia Cove (UK), Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Germany), the Pablo Casals Festival in Prades (France) and La Jolla Summerfest (US) with performers such as the Dover Quartet, violinist Aleksey Semenenko and cellist Michael Petrov.

Future plans include recital tours to China, Japan and North America (April 2020).

Verbier Festival
Alexander Ullman

Alexander Ullman s’est fait connaître sur la scène internationale pour la première fois en 2011 après avoir remporté le Concours international de piano Franz Liszt à Budapest. De 2014 à 2017, il a été représenté par le Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT). Né à Londres en 1991, il étudie à la Purcell School, au Curtis Institute et au Royal College of Music et obtient le diplôme d’artiste Benjamin Britten Piano Fellow en 2017 (remis par la Fondation Philip Loubser). Ses professeurs ont été William Fong, Leon Fleisher, Ignat Solzhenitsyn, Robert McDonald, Dmitri Alexeev, Ian Jones et Elisso Virsaladze.

Salué pour ses interprétations subtiles et sa maîtrise technique raffinée, le pianiste britannique Alexander Ullman a impressionné le public et la critique du monde entier par sa profonde compréhension des partitions qu’il interprète, sa touche élégante et son phrasé cristallin.

La saison 18/19 voit Alexander faire ses débuts avec l’Orchestre symphonique d’État de Moscou (Pavel Kogan), l’Orchestre NCPA de Beijing (Markus Stenz) et l’Orchestre symphonique de Barcelone. Il donne des récitals en Allemagne (Schloss Elmau, Stadthalle Bayreuth et Festhalle Weimar), Autriche (Liszt Festival Raiding), Hongrie (Liszt Academy Budapest), Pays-Bas, Pologne, Italie, Géorgie, Mexique, Corée (Seoul Arts Center) et son Angleterre natale. Parmi ses projets de musique de chambre, mentionnons une tournée avec le violoniste Barnabas Kelemen et ses débuts au Festival de musique de chambre de Montréal.

Au printemps 2019, Rubicon sort son premier album, avec Casse-Noisette de Tchaïkovski, Six pièces de Cendrillon de Prokofiev, ainsi que les suites Petrushka et Firebird de Stravinsky.

Lauréat du Concours international de piano Franz Liszt 2017 à Utrecht, Alexander s’est produit avec l’Orchestre de Philadelphie, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, le Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, le Norwegian Radio Orchestra, le St. Petersburg Philharmonic, le Budapest Radio Orchestra et le Korean Symphony Orchestra, ainsi que le New Jersey, Fort Worth et les symphonies de Montréal, travaillant avec des chefs tels Vladimir Ashkenazy, Giancarlo Guerrero, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Valentin Uryupin et Markus S Au cours de la saison 17/18, il clôt le Festival de Piano(s) de Lille avec l’Orchestre de Picardie sous la direction de Jean-Claude Casadesus.

Il s’est produit au Wigmore Hall et au Queen Elizabeth Hall (Londres), au Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), au Gewandhaus (Leipzig), au Kimmel Center (Philadelphie), au Kennedy Center (Washington DC), au Seoul Arts Center, au Shanghai Oriental Arts Center et au NCPA à Beijing, et a participé aux séries internationales Nottingham et Oxford, à BBC Radio 3, France Musique et MDR Klassik. Parmi les temps forts de la musique de chambre, citons le Séminaire international des musiciens à Prussia Cove (Royaume-Uni), Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Allemagne), le Festival Pablo Casals à Prades (France) et La Jolla Summerfest (États-Unis) avec des artistes tels que le Quatuor Dover, le violoniste Aleksey Semenenko et le violoncelliste Michael Petrov.

Des tournées de récitals en Chine, au Japon et en Amérique du Nord (avril 2020) sont prévues à l’avenir.