Verbier Festival
Antonin Musset

Antonin Musset was born in Paris in 1996, he started playing the cello at the age of seven with the French pedagogue Alexandre Lacour. He studied in Paris Regional Conservatory with Hélène Dautry, Matthieu Lejeune and had the chance to have lessons with french cellists such as Philippe Muller and Roland Pidoux. Antonin has taken part in masterclasses with Julius Berger, Claudio Pasceri, Gérard Wyss, Jens Peter Maintz, Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt. Since 2014, he studies with Antonio Meneses at the Hochschule der Künste Bern.

Antonin has played in many countries in Europe, both as a chamber musician and as a soloist. He won the first prize at the “International chamber music competition Luigi Nono” together with the Italian pianist Angiola Rocca In 2017, Antonin received a scholarship from the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein. In 2018, he was awarded with a special prize at the XI Witold Lutosławski International Cello Competition for his interpretation of the Chopin Cello Sonata. Antonin was invited by The Fryderyk Chopin Institute to perform at the festival “Chopin and his Europe” 2018 in Warsaw.

After one year of internship, Antonin he is currently playing in the Sinfonieorchester Basel as a tutti. He also plays regularly as a member of the Gstaad Festival Orchestra. Antonin Musset plays a cello made by Fabrice Girardin (Switzerland, 2012), courtesy Fondation Boubo-Music Switzerland.

Verbier Festival
Antonin Musset

Antonin Musset est né à Paris en 1996, il a commencé à jouer du violoncelle à l’âge de sept ans avec le pédagogue français Alexandre Lacour. Il étudie au Conservatoire Régional de Paris avec Hélène Dautry, Matthieu Lejeune et a eu la chance d’avoir des cours avec des violoncellistes français tels que Philippe Muller et Roland Pidoux. Antonin a participé à des masterclasses avec Julius Berger, Claudio Pasceri, Gérard Wyss, Jens Peter Maintz, Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt. Depuis 2014, il étudie avec Antonio Meneses à la Hochschule der Künste Bern.

Antonin a joué dans de nombreux pays d’Europe, aussi bien comme chambriste que comme soliste. Il remporte le premier prix du « Concours international de musique de chambre Luigi Nono » avec la pianiste italienne Angiola Rocca. En 2017, Antonin obtient une bourse de l’Académie internationale de musique du Liechtenstein. En 2018, il a reçu un prix spécial au XI Witold Lutosławski Concours international de violoncelle pour son interprétation de la Sonate pour violoncelle Chopin. Antonin a été invité par l’Institut Fryderyk Chopin à se produire au festival « Chopin et son Europe » 2018 à Varsovie.

Après un an de stage, Antonin joue actuellement comme tutti au Sinfonieorchester Basel. Il joue aussi régulièrement comme membre de l’Orchestre du Festival de Gstaad. Antonin Musset joue un violoncelle de Fabrice Girardin (Suisse, 2012), offert par la Fondation Boubo-Music Suisse.