Verbier Festival
Charlotte Bowden

Charlotte Bowden is a young London based soprano who is currently studying at the RCM as the Linda Beeley Scholar. She is a Help Musicians UK Ian Fleming Award holder and is grateful for the support of the Josephine Baker Trust. Most recent solo engagements have included Rossini Petite Messe Sollenelle with the RCM Chamber Choir conducted by Michael Rosewell, Fauré Requiem with the RCM Chorus conducted by Jac van Steen, Parry Ode to Music in a centenary celebration which was live broadcast from the RCM with Richard Farnes. She has also recently performed Mozart Exultate Jubilate and Requiem, Haydn The Creation, Bach B minor mass, St John Passion, Magnificat, and Cantata 51, Vivaldi Nulla in Mundo Pax, Handel Messiah and Ode for Saint Cecilia’s Day, and Mahler Symphony No. 4.

During her undergraduate Charlotte was a regular soloist in the prestigious Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation Bach Cantata Series. She sang in the final concert of the Oxford Lieder Festival’s Schubert Project with Sarah Walker and was awarded First Prize in both the Marjorie Thomas Art of Song Prize and the Michael Head Prize. She was recently awarded Second Prize and the Audience Prize in the 2018 Maureen Lehane Vocal Awards and is a Britten-Pears Young Artist having studied the title role in Handel Theodora with Sarah Connolly and Christian Curnyn in March.

Operatic roles include the title roles in Acis and Galatea, Semele, Theodora and Venus and Adonis, and Belinda Dido and Aeneas, Ariel The Tempest, and Cupid and She King Arthur. She has also performed the role of Bridesmaid in Der Freischütz with Sir Mark Elder and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment at the Royal Festival Hall. This season Charlotte has been understudying with ETO for their Baroque Triple Bill. With a keen interest in new music, she created the role of Variable 4 in Bofan Ma’s chamber opera This Is No Opera and recently gave the UK premiere of Stephen Goss’ Songs of Ophelia for soprano and guitar.

Charlotte has performed in public masterclasses with Dame Felicity Lott and Sophie Daneman for the London Song Festival, Dame Ann Murray at the RCM, in the Royal Academy of Music Sterndale Bennett Masterclass with Anne Howells, with Dame Emma Kirkby for the Incorporated Society of Musicians, and with Chen Reiss at the Austrian Cultural Forum.

Future engagements include Handel Messiah at Snape Maltings, Bach St Matthew Passion at Salisbury Cathedral, and Bach Magnificat and Haydn The Creation for the Leith Hill Music Festival as well as a series of Baroque recitals in December with Eboracum Baroque.

Verbier Festival
Charlotte Bowden

Charlotte Bowden est une jeune soprano basée à Londres qui étudie actuellement à la MRC à titre de boursière Linda Beeley. Elle est titulaire du prix Ian Fleming de Help Musicians UK et est reconnaissante de l’appui du Josephine Baker Trust. Parmi les engagements solos les plus récents, mentionnons Rossini Petite Messe Sollenelle avec le Chœur de chambre de la MRC dirigé par Michael Rosewell, Fauré Requiem avec le Chœur de la MRC dirigé par Jac van Steen, Parry Ode to Music dans une célébration en direct de la MRC avec Richard Farnes. Elle a récemment interprété Mozart Exultate Jubilate and Requiem, Haydn The Creation, Bach Messe en si mineur, Passion selon saint Jean, Magnificat et Cantate 51, Vivaldi Nulla dans Mundo Pax, Handel Messiah and Ode for Saint Cecilia’s Day et Mahler Symphony no 4.

Au cours de ses études de premier cycle, Charlotte a été régulièrement soliste dans la prestigieuse série de cantates Bach de la Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation. Elle a chanté dans le concert final du projet Schubert du Oxford Lieder Festival avec Sarah Walker et a reçu le premier prix du prix Marjorie Thomas Art of Song et le prix Michael Head. Elle a récemment reçu le deuxième prix et le prix du public aux Maureen Lehane Vocal Awards 2018 et est une jeune artiste de Britten-Pears ayant étudié le rôle titre dans Handel Theodora avec Sarah Connolly et Christian Curnyn en mars.

Les rôles lyriques comprennent les rôles-titres dans Acis et Galatée, Semele, Theodora et Vénus et Adonis, et Belinda Dido et Énée, Ariel La Tempête, et Cupidon et Elle, Roi Arthur. Elle a également interprété le rôle de demoiselle d’honneur dans Der Freischütz avec Sir Mark Elder et l’Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment à la Royal Festival Hall. Cette saison, Charlotte a été la doublure de l’ETO pour leur Triple Bill baroque. Avec un vif intérêt pour la musique nouvelle, elle a créé le rôle de Variable 4 dans l’opéra de chambre This Is No Opera de Bofan Ma et a récemment donné la première au Royaume-Uni des Songs of Ophelia de Stephen Goss pour soprano et guitare.

Charlotte a donné des masterclasses publiques avec Dame Felicity Lott et Sophie Daneman pour le London Song Festival, Dame Ann Murray au RCM, à la Royal Academy of Music Sterndale Bennett Masterclass avec Anne Howells, avec Dame Emma Kirkby pour la Incorporated Society of Musicians, et avec Chen Reiss au Austrian Cultural Forum.

Parmi ses engagements futurs, mentionnons Handel Messiah à Snape Maltings, Bach St Matthew Passion à la cathédrale de Salisbury et Bach Magnificat et Haydn The Creation pour le Leith Hill Music Festival ainsi qu’une série de récitals baroques en décembre avec Eboracum Baroque.