Verbier Festival
Daniel Kogan

Grandson of famous violinists Leonid Kogan and Elizaveta Gilels, Canadian violinist Daniel Kogan began studying at the age of six in the class of M.Kesselman. Later, he got accepted to the Central Music School of Moscow, and continued his education in Moscow conservatory in the class of legendary professor Maya Glezarova, and in Maastricht conservatory with Boris Belkin.

During his school education, he was a grant holder of Spivakov foundation, “New Names”, “Russian performing art” and others. In 2016-17 he became a laureate of the Torun and Yampolsky violin competitions. In 2018 he received the 6th prize at the Long-Thibaud-Crespin competition. His recent performances include tours in USA, Italy, Russia and Japan.

Daniel regularly performs in Russia and abroad, appearing on such venues, as the halls of Moscow conservatory, Tchaikovsky hall, House of music, Merkin hall (New York), Palazzo Chigi (Siena), Odessa Philarmonic hall , Salle Poirel (Nancy),Vilnius
Philharmonic hall, Estonia hall and others. He played with many famous orchestras, such as Estonian Symphony Orchestra, Moscow State Symphony Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic, Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra, Camerata Klaipeda, “New Russia”, and many others.

Daniel has collaborated with famous musicians: conductors Mark Gorenstein, Hobart Earle, Alexander Prior, cellists Henry Demarquette, Dmitry Yablonsky, violinists Alena Baeva, Dmitri Sitkovetsky, pianists Pavel Nersessian, Lukas Geniusas, Lucas Debargue and others.

He participated in such festivals, as Summit Music Festival and Barge Music Festival (USA), Niagara-on-the-lake music festival (Canada), SAYOWE (Thailand), Nancyphonies (France) , Suure-Jaani (Estonia) Accademia Chigiana (Italy), and others.

Some of the 2018 highlights include recordings for Moscow classical radio station “Orpheus”, Big concert tour in Russia, including 14 major cities, debut with the Eesti Symphonietta and the Moscow chamber orchestra, recitals in South Korea, USA, Canada, Italy, and Ukraine, preparation for major international competitions.

Daniel performs on a violin made by Pietro Guarneri of Venice, generously loaned to him by AVS group.

Verbier Festival
Daniel Kogan

Petit-fils des célèbres violonistes Leonid Kogan et Elizaveta Gilels, le violoniste canadien Daniel Kogan a commencé à étudier à l’âge de six ans dans la classe de M.Kesselman. Plus tard, il est admis à l’Ecole centrale de musique de Moscou et poursuit ses études au conservatoire de Moscou dans la classe du légendaire professeur Maya Glezarova, et au conservatoire de Maastricht avec Boris Belkin.

Pendant ses études, il a été boursier de la fondation Spivakov, « New Names », « Russian performing art » et autres. En 2016-17, il est lauréat des concours de violon Torun et Yampolsky. En 2018, il a reçu le 6ème prix au concours Long-Thibaud-Crespin. Il a récemment effectué des tournées aux États-Unis, en Italie, en Russie et au Japon.

Daniel se produit régulièrement en Russie et à l’étranger, notamment dans les salles du conservatoire de Moscou, la salle Tchaïkovski, la Maison de la musique, la salle Merkin (New York), le Palazzo Chigi (Sienne), la salle Philarmonique d’Odessa, la salle Poirel (Nancy), la salle Philarmonique de Vilnius, la salle Estonie et d’autres. Il a joué avec de nombreux orchestres célèbres, tels que l’Orchestre Symphonique d’Estonie, l’Orchestre Symphonique d’Etat de Moscou, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Sendai, l’Orchestre Philharmonique d’Odessa, Camerata Klaipeda, « Nouvelle Russie », et beaucoup d’autres.

Daniel a collaboré avec des musiciens célèbres : les chefs Mark Gorenstein, Hobart Earle, Alexander Prior, les violoncellistes Henry Demarquette, Dmitry Yablonsky, les violoncellistes Alena Baeva, Dmitri Sitkovetsky, les pianistes Pavel Nersessian, Lukas Geniusas, Lucas Debargue et autres.

Il a participé à des festivals tels que Summit Music Festival et Barge Music Festival (USA), Niagara-on-the-lake music festival (Canada), SAYOWE (Thaïlande), Nancyphonies (France), Suure-Jaani (Estonie), Accademia Chigiana (Italie) et autres.

Parmi les faits marquants de 2018, citons les enregistrements pour la station de radio classique moscovite « Orpheus », la grande tournée de concerts en Russie, dont 14 grandes villes, les débuts avec l’Eesti Symphonietta et l’orchestre de chambre de Moscou, les récitals en Corée du Sud, aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en Italie et en Ukraine, la préparation aux grands concours internationaux.

Daniel joue sur un violon de Pietro Guarneri de Venise, généreusement prêté par le groupe AVS.