Verbier Festival
Ellinor D’Melon

Ellinor D’Melon was born in December 2000 to Cuban parents in Jamaica and started to learn the violin at the age of two, giving her first recital when just three years of age. Still only eightteen, she has performed widely, including under the baton of respected maestros including, among others, Zubin Mehta, Vladimir Spivakov, Jaime Martin, Jan Latham – Koenig and Zakhar Bron. Concert engagements have taken her to many prestigious concert halls, such as the Berliner Philharmonie, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Palau de la Musica Catalana, Cologne Philharmonie, National Auditorium in Madrid, Tonhalle Zurich, Sala Verdi Milano and many others.

Ellinor has participated in the Verbier, Gstaad and Schlesswig-Holstein Music Festivals, as well as Musical Olympus, Interlarken Classics and Wieniawski Festivals among others.

Most recently she performed the Bach Double Concerto alongside Anne-Sophie Mutter, with the Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra under maestro Jan Latham – Koenig and returned to perfom Brahms’ Violin concerto with the Gavle Symphony Orchestra under maestro Jaime Martin.

Ellinor studies with Professor Zakhar Bron since the age of ten at the Reina Sofia School of Music, being the youngest ever student at the school, and joined the Zakhar Bron Academy in 2013.

Her recent competition successes have included taking 1st Prize in the ‘Debut Berlin’ international competition (2017, Berlin Philharmonie), 1st Prize and special award for Best Interpretation of Contemporary Russian Piece in the VIII Novosibirsk International Competition (2016, Russia), The “Virtuoso Award” at the 2nd Manhattan International Competition (2017, USA), and the 1st Prize in the International Wieniawski Competition for Young Violinists (2012, Poland).

Ellinor plays on a Giovanni Baptista Guadagnini Violin from 1743 on a kind loan from an anonymous donor from London.

Ellinor is managed worldwide by IMG Artists.

Verbier Festival
Ellinor D’Melon

Ellinor D’Melon est née en décembre 2000 de parents cubains en Jamaïque et a commencé à apprendre le violon à l’âge de deux ans, donnant son premier récital à seulement trois ans. Elle n’a encore que dix-huit ans, elle s’est produite à de nombreuses reprises, notamment sous la direction de maestros respectés tels que Zubin Mehta, Vladimir Spivakov, Jaime Martin, Jan Latham – Koenig et Zakhar Bron, parmi d’autres. Ses engagements l’ont conduite dans de nombreuses salles de concert prestigieuses, telles que la Berliner Philharmonie, le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, le Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall, le Royal Albert Hall, le Palau de la Musica Catalana, la Philharmonie de Cologne, l’Auditorium National de Madrid, la Tonhalle Zurich, Sala Verdi Milano et bien d’autres.

Ellinor a participé aux festivals de musique de Verbier, Gstaad et Schlesswig-Holstein, ainsi qu’aux festivals Musical Olympus, Interlarken Classics et Wieniawski.

Plus récemment, elle a interprété le Double Concerto de Bach aux côtés d’Anne-Sophie Mutter, avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Sofia sous la direction de Jan Latham – Koenig et est revenue au concerto pour violon de Brahms avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Gavle sous la direction de Jaime Martin.

Ellinor étudie avec le professeur Zakhar Bron depuis l’âge de dix ans à l’école de musique Reina Sofia, étant la plus jeune élève de l’école, et a rejoint l’Académie Zakhar Bron en 2013.

Elle a récemment remporté le 1er prix du concours international’Debut Berlin’ (2017, Philharmonie de Berlin), le 1er prix et le prix spécial pour la meilleure interprétation de la pièce russe contemporaine au VIIIe Concours international de Novossibirsk (2016, Russie), le’Virtuoso Award’ au 2e Concours international de Manhattan (2017, USA) et le 1er prix au Concours international Wieniawski pour jeunes altistes (2012, Pologne).

Ellinor joue sur un violon Giovanni Baptista Guadagnini de 1743, prêté par un donateur anonyme de Londres.

Ellinor est gérée dans le monde entier par IMG Artists.