Verbier Festival
Jolyon Loy
Erster Priester and Zweiter geharnischeter Mann

British baritone Jolyon Loy is a member of the Alexander Gibson Opera Studio at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland where he studies with Scott Johnson & Duncan Williams, supported by The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Trust, The Perry Family Foundation and The Elmley Foundation.

A Britten Pears Young Artist 2018/19, he began his operatic training at the Royal Academy of Music in London under Philip Doghan & Robert Dean. Previously, Jolyon read French & Italian at Magdalen College, Oxford University where he sang, recorded and toured internationally with Magdalen College Choir. He began his singing career as a chorister & choral scholar at Worcester Cathedral.

Future appearances at the RCS include the title role in Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro and Owen Hart in the UK staged premiere of Jake Heggie’s Dead Man Walking. Previous roles have included Sonora La Fanciulla del West for Wexford Festival Opera, Schaunard La Bohème for Clonter Opera, Christian Weiss in The Great Passion for the Dartington International Festival, Aeneas Dido & Aeneas, Osman/Huascar Les Indes Galantes, Marco Gianni Schicchi, Count Almaviva Le nozze di Figaro, Papageno The Magic Flute, Giove La Calisto, Thésée Hippolyte et Aricie, & Marquis d’Obigny La Traviata. Jolyon joined the Glyndebourne Festival chorus in 2016 in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, directed by David McVicar.

On the concert platform, Jolyon has appeared as a soloist at the Aldeburgh Festival, Wexford Festival Opera, the Dartington International Festival, Snape Maltings and numerous other festivals across the UK. His repertoire includes Valens in Handel’s Theodora under Christian Curnyn, Britten Rejoice in the Lamb, Finzi Lo, the Full Final Sacrifice, Handel Dixit Dominus, Jesus in J.S. Bach St Matthew Passion, Dvorak Te Deum, J.S. Bach St John Passion, Schubert Mass in G, Britten Cantata Misericordium, J.C. Bach Magnificat, Vaughan Williams Five Mystical Songs, Rossini Petite Messe Solennelle & Brahms Liebeslieder Waltzes. Upcoming appearances include Puccini’s Messa di Gloria & Rossini Petite Messe Solennelle with the Rosenethe Singers, J.S. Bach B Minor Mass with Bearsden Choir/Philharmonic at Glasgow’s City Halls, & Handel’s Messiah with the CBSO at Birmingham’s Symphony Hall.

Jolyon has been the grateful recipient of a number of awards and scholarships, including the Zenaida Nevsky Memorial Prize and generous sponsorship from Kate Sokoloff, Il Circolo Italian Cultural Association, Denne Gilkes Memorial Fund, The Mario Lanza Foundation, The Josephine Baker Trust, The Trevor Osborne Trust and The D’Oyly Carte Trust.

He has participated in masterclasses with Bryan Hymel, Dame Sarah Connolly, Dame Felicity Lott, Sarah Walker, Gianni Maffeo & Mark Stone.

Verbier Festival
Jolyon Loy
Erster Priester and Zweiter geharnischeter Mann

Le baryton britannique Jolyon Loy est membre du Alexander Gibson Opera Studio du Royal Conservatoire of Scotland où il étudie avec Scott Johnson & Duncan Williams, soutenu par le Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Trust, The Perry Family Foundation et The Elmley Foundation.

Jeune artiste de Britten Pears 2018/19, il a commencé sa formation d’opéra à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres avec Philip Doghan & Robert Dean. Auparavant, Jolyon a lu le français et l’italien au Magdalen College de l’Université d’Oxford où il a chanté, enregistré et fait des tournées internationales avec le Magdalen College Choir. Il a commencé sa carrière de chanteur en tant que choriste et professeur de chant choral à la cathédrale de Worcester.

Parmi ses futures apparitions au RCS, mentionnons son rôle-titre dans Le nozze di Figaro de Mozart et Owen Hart au Royaume-Uni, où il a interprété en première le film Dead Man Walking de Jake Heggie. Auparavant, il a joué Sonora La Fanciulla del West au Wexford Festival Opera, Schaunard La Bohème au Clonter Opera, Christian Weiss dans The Great Passion pour le Dartington International Festival, Aeneas Dido & Aeneas, Osman/Huascar Les Indes Galantes, Marco Gianni Schicchi, Count Almaviva Le nozze di Figaro, Papageno The Magic Flute, Giove La Calisto, Thésée Hippolyte et Aricie, & Marquis d’Obigny La Traviata. Jolyon a rejoint le chœur du Glyndebourne Festival en 2016 dans Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, dirigé par David McVicar.

Sur la plate-forme de concert, Jolyon s’est produit en soliste au Festival d’Aldeburgh, au Wexford Festival Opera, au Dartington International Festival, à Snape Maltings et dans de nombreux autres festivals au Royaume-Uni. Son répertoire comprend Valens dans Theodora de Haendel sous la direction de Christian Curnyn, Britten Rejoice in the Lamb, Finzi Lo, the Full Final Sacrifice, Handel Dixit Dominus, Jesus in J.S. Bach St Matthew Passion, Dvorak Te Deum, J.Passion selon saint Jean de S. Bach, Messe Schubert en sol, Cantate Misericordium de Britten, J.C. Bach Magnificat, Vaughan Williams Five Mystical Songs, Rossini Petite Messe Solennelle & Brahms Liebeslieder Waltzes. Parmi ses prochaines apparitions, mentionnons la Messa di Gloria & Rossini Petite Messe Solennelle de Puccini avec les Rosenethe Singers, la Messe en si mineur de J.S. Bach avec le Bearsden Choir/Philharmonic aux City Halls de Glasgow et le Messiah de Handel avec le CBSO au Symphony Hall à Birmingham.

Jolyon a reçu de nombreux prix et bourses d’études, dont le Prix commémoratif Zenaida Nevsky et le généreux parrainage de Kate Sokoloff, Il Circolo Italian Cultural Association, Denne Gilkes Memorial Fund, The Mario Lanza Foundation, The Josephine Baker Trust, The Trevor Osborne Trust et The D’Oyly Carte Trust.

Il a participé à des masterclasses avec Bryan Hymel, Dame Sarah Connolly, Dame Felicity Lott, Sarah Walker, Gianni Maffeo & Mark Stone.