Verbier Festival
Julien Quentin
Piano

French pianist Julien Quentin has established himself as a versatile and sensitive musician, exhibiting great maturity and poise. His remarkable depth of musicianship and distinct clarity of sound coupled with flawless technique, make him an artist in demand as both soloist and chamber musician.

He has made successful recital debuts in Paris (Salle Cortot), Geneva Conservatoire Hall and Bargemusic in New York. He has appeared as soloist with the Wroclaw, Qatar and Córdoba Philharmonic Orchestras under such conductors as Tommaso Placidi, Paul Biss, and Han-Na Chang. Regularly invited to numerous international Festivals, Quentin’s appearances in Europe include Verbier, Lucerne, Gstaad, Montreux, Zermatt, Dresden, Braunschweig, Schwetzingen, Ludwigsburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Beethovenfest Bonn, Radio France Montpellier and Saint Denis. A regular performer in North America, he has appeared at the Ravinia, La Jolla and Mostly Mozart Festivals in the United States. He has broadcast in Canada, United States, Japan and in countries across Europe.

Julien Quentin is a keen chamber musician and has collaborated with artists such as Nicolas Altstaedt, Emanuel Ax, Lisa Batiashvili, Gautier Capuçon, Corey Cerovsek, Martin Fröst, Sol Gabetta, David Garrett, Nelson Goerner, Ilya Gringolts, Gary Hoffman, Angelika Kirchschlager, Lawrence Power, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Sayaka Shoji, Kirill Troussov, and István Várdai.

Touring internationally in America, Australia, Japan, the Middle East and throughout Europe, he has appeared at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Wigmore Hall in London, the Louvre in Paris, the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus, the Berlin Philharmonie, the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, in Avery Fisher, Alice Tully and Carnegie Halls in New York. He has recorded for EMI, Channel Classics and Sony RCA.

He also performed on the harpsichord, appearing in concert with Sarah Chang and the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, as well as with Thomas Quasthoff and under the baton of Leonidas Kavakos.

Born in Paris, Julien Quentin started his studies at the Geneva Conservatory with Alexis Golovine. In 2002, he completed his Artist Diploma under the tutelage of Emile Naoumoff at Indiana University, where he held a one-year teaching position as Assistant Instructor and was a recipient of the Presser Award. In 2003, he received his Graduate Diploma from the Juilliard School, where he studied with György Sándor. He has also worked with Paul Badura-Skoda, Nikita Magaloff, György Sebök and Earl Wild.

Julien Quentin now lives in Berlin. With ‘Musica Litoralis’ at Piano Salon Christophori, he has managed to create an increasingly successful concert series reminiscent of the salons of the Roaring Twenties. With visual artists, he explores new artistic visions bringing various art forms together. He also pursues his interest in other genres of music through his collaboration with pianists Kelvin Sholar and Francesco Tristano, or producers Guti, dOP and Cesar Merveille in projects ranging from improvisation to producing electronic music.

Verbier Festival
Julien Quentin

Pianiste français, Julien Quentin est reconnu comme étant un musicien sensible aux multiples talents, faisant preuve d’une grande maturité. Sa remarquable profondeur musicale, sa sonorité à la fois claire et distincte ainsi qu’une technique sans faille, font de lui un artiste demandé en tant que soliste et chambriste.

Il a fait ses débuts avec succès à Paris (Salle Cortot), au Conservatoire de Genève et à Bargemusic à New York. Il s’est produit en soliste avec des orchestres tels que les orchestres philharmoniques de Wroclaw, de Córdoba et du Qatar sous la direction de chefs comme Tommaso Placidi, Paul Biss et Han-Na Chang. Invité de nombreux festivals internationaux, il se produit en europe à Verbier, Lucerne, Gstaad, Montreux, Zermatt, Dresde, Braunschweig, Schwetzingen, Ludwigsburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Beethovenfest Bonn, Radio France Montpellier et Saint Denis. Interprète régulier en Amérique du Nord, il est apparu aux Festivals de Ravinia, La Jolla et Mostly Mozart aux Etats-Unis. Il a aussi donné des concerts radio et télédiffusés au Canada, aux Etats-Unis, au Japon et dans de nombreux pays d’ Europe.

Julien Quentin participe volontiers à des concerts de musique de chambre. A ce titre, il collabore avec des artistes comme Nicolas Altstaedt, Emanuel Ax, Lisa Batiashvili, Gautier Capuçon, Corey Cerovsek, Martin Fröst, Sol Gabetta, David Garrett, Nelson Goerner, Ilya Gringolts, Gary Hoffman, Angelika Kirchschlager, Lawrence Power, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Sayaka Shoji, Kirill Troussov et István Várdai. Ses tournées internationales l’ont conduit aux Etats-Unis, en Australie, au Japon, au Moyen-Orient, à travers l’europe, et il est apparu au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall de Londres, au Louvre à Paris, au Festspielhaus de Baden-Baden, à la Philharmonie de Berlin, au Gewandhaus de Leipzig, au Konzerthaus de Vienne, à Avery Fisher, Alice Tully et Carnegie Hall à New York. Il a déjà enregistré pour EMI, Channel Classics et Sony RCA.

Il s’est également produit au clavecin, aux côtés de Sarah Chang et du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, ainsi que Thomas Quasthoff sous la direction de Leonidas Kavakos.

Né a Paris, Julien Quentin a débuté ses études au Conservatoire de Genève avec Alexis Golovine. En 2002, il obtint le diplôme d’artiste auprès d’Emile Naoumoff à Bloomington (USA). Il enseigna pendant une année à l’Université de l’Indiana en tant que professeur assistant et reçut le Presser Award. En 2003, il devint diplômé de la Juilliard School de New York, après avoir étudié avec György Sándor. Il a également travaillé avec Paul Badura- Skoda, Nikita Magaloff, György Sebök et Earl Wild.

Julien Quentin réside à Berlin. Avec ‘Musica Litoralis’ au Piano Salon Christophori, il a mis sur pied une série de concerts à succès dans l’esprit des salons des années folles. Avec des artistes peintres, il explore de nouveaux horizons artistiques par le rapprochement de formes artistiques diverses. Il poursuit également son intérêt pour d’autres genres musicaux au travers sa collaboration avec les pianistes Kelvin Sholar et Francesco Tristano, ou les producteurs Guti, dOP et Cesar Merveille dans des projets allant de l’improvisation à la production de musique électronique.