Verbier Festival
Lauren Zhang

In 2018, Lauren Zhang won the BBC Young Musician Competition in her hometown of Birmingham. Her performance of Prokofiev’s Second Piano Concerto with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra conducted by Mark Wigglesworth was broadcast live on BBC4 and BBC Radio 3 to widespread critical acclaim. Following her success in the competition, Lauren has been invited to perform at the BBC Proms with the BBC Concert Orchestra, Proms in the Park with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, and is in demand as soloist throughout the UK and further afield.

Future highlights include concerto performances with London Mozart Players, Orchestra of the Swan, the European Union Chamber Orchestra and Brno Philharmonic. She gives recitals at Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, the Herkulessaal in Munich, and as part of the Ryedale, Wooburn and Lichfield Festivals, among many others.

In 2016, Lauren won first prize at the 15th Ettlingen International Piano Competition in Germany. Among other achievements, she was a prize-winner at the Wales International Piano Festival (2016) and the Young Pianist of the North International Competition (2015), and was awarded first prize in the EPTA-UK (18 and under) competition (2015), and first prize in the Emanuel Piano Trophy competition (2015).

Lauren studies piano with Dr Robert Markham and violin with Samuel Mason in the Junior Department at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, to which she was accepted in 2010. She also receives guidance from Professor Christopher Elton. She began piano lessons with Madeline Ignazito in the USA at the age of four, and started to learn violin with Terry Coulton when she was six. Later she moved to Birmingham where she is a pupil at the King Edward VI High School for Girls. In 2018, she achieved the top category in all of her eleven GCSEs.

Lauren has participated in masterclasses with Fabio Bidini, Peter Donohoe, Kenneth Hamilton, Angela Hewitt, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Pascal Nemirovski, Marios Papadopoulos, Menahem Pressler, and John Thwaites. A keen chamber musician as a pianist and violinist, Lauren has participated in and organised numerous charity concerts.

During her spare time, Lauren also has broad interests in science and fencing. Lauren is grateful for the support of YCAT through their aftercare scheme for BBC Young Musician finalists.

Verbier Festival
Lauren Zhang

En 2018, Lauren Zhang a remporté le concours des jeunes musiciens de la BBC dans sa ville natale de Birmingham. Son interprétation du Deuxième Concerto pour piano de Prokofiev avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la ville de Birmingham sous la direction de Mark Wigglesworth a été diffusée en direct sur BBC4 et BBC Radio 3, avec un succès médiatisé. Suite à son succès au concours, Lauren a été invitée à se produire aux BBC Proms avec le BBC Concert Orchestra, aux Proms in the Park avec le BBC National Orchestra of Wales, et est aussi réclamée en solo au Royaume-Uni et ailleurs dans le monde.

Parmi les points forts à suivre, mentionnons des concerts avec les London Mozart Players, l’Orchestre du Cygne, l’Orchestre de chambre de l’Union européenne et le Brno Philharmonic. Elle donne des récitals au Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, à la Herkulessaal de Munich et dans le cadre des festivals de Ryedale, Wooburn et Lichfield, entre autres.

En 2016, Lauren a remporté le premier prix au 15e Concours international de piano d’Ettlingen en Allemagne. Entre autres réalisations, elle a été lauréate du Wales International Piano Festival (2016) et du Young Pianist of the North International Competition (2015), et a remporté le premier prix du concours EPTA-UK (18 ans et moins) (2015) et le premier prix du concours Emanuel Piano Trophy (2015).

Lauren étudie le piano avec le Dr Robert Markham et le violon avec Samuel Mason au département junior du Conservatoire Royal de Birmingham, où elle a été acceptée en 2010. Elle est également guidée par le professeur Christopher Elton. Elle a commencé des cours de piano avec Madeline Ignazito aux Etats-Unis à l’âge de quatre ans, et a commencé à apprendre le violon avec Terry Coulton à l’âge de six ans. Plus tard, elle a déménagé à Birmingham où elle est élève au King Edward VI High School for Girls. En 2018, elle a atteint la catégorie supérieure dans l’ensemble de ses onze GCSE.

Lauren a participé à des masterclasses avec Fabio Bidini, Peter Donohoe, Kenneth Hamilton, Angela Hewitt, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Pascal Nemirovski, Marios Papadopoulos, Menahem Pressler et John Thwaites. Passionnée de musique de chambre en tant que pianiste et violoniste, Lauren a participé et organisé de nombreux concerts de charité.

Pendant son temps libre, Lauren s’intéresse aussi beaucoup aux sciences et à l’escrime. Lauren est reconnaissante de l’appui de YCAT par le biais de leur programme de suivi pour les jeunes musiciens finalistes de la BBC.