Verbier Festival
Liav Kerbel

Liav Kerbel was born in 1995 in Brussels, Belgium. He started his cello studies at the age of seven with Prof. Claudine Steenackers. At of the age of nine, he participated on a regular basis in master classes with Prof. Vladimir Perlin. Liav has recently been studying under the guidance of Prof. Philippe Muller since 2014, which led him to pursue his Bachelors degree at Manhattan School of Music, where he is now a distinguished recipient of the International Advisory Board Scholarship.

Since the age of 11, Liav participated yearly in the “Musica Mundi” International Chamber Music Course and Festival and as of 2016, he is a Young Faculty member. Liav has taken master classes given by distinguished artists, such as Mischa Maisky, Maxim Vengerov, Ivry Gitlis, Heinrich Schiff, Steven Isserlis , Julian Rachlin, Renaud Capucon, Menahem Pressler and Talich String Quartet, to name a few.

Liav Kerbel is a “Grand Prix” winner of the “Music of Hope” International cello competition in Gomel-Belorussia and a 1st prize winner of the “6th International Competition for “Young Virtuosos” in Sofia, Bulgaria and of the Manhattan School of Music Eisenberg Fried Concerto Competition. Liav Kerbel made his debut as a soloist at the age of 15 with the Minsk Philharmonic Orchestra and since then he performed with symphonic and chamber orchestras in Belorussia, Bulgaria, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Belgium.

In June 2016 Liav made his Center of Fine Arts of Brussels debut performing the Johannes Brahms Double Concerto together with violinist Maxim Vengerov and the Belgian National Orchestra. He was then selected to be part of the “Maxim Vengerov Foundation” which helps promote outstanding young musicians. Liav plays on a Giovanni Battista Ceruti cello, made in Cremona in 1798, generously granted on an extended loan from the Bank DELEN in Belgium, and from a private donor.

Verbier Festival
Liav Kerbel

Liav Kerbel est né en 1995 à Bruxelles, en Belgique. Il a commencé ses études de violoncelle à l’âge de sept ans avec le professeur Claudine Steenackers. A l’âge de neuf ans, il participe régulièrement à des master classes avec le professeur Vladimir Perlin. Depuis 2014, Liav étudie sous la direction du professeur Philippe Muller, ce qui l’a amené à poursuivre son baccalauréat à la Manhattan School of Music, où il est maintenant un récipiendaire distingué de l’International Advisory Board Scholarship.

Depuis l’âge de 11 ans, Liav participe chaque année au Cours et Festival International de Musique de Chambre « Musica Mundi » et à partir de 2016, il est membre de la Jeune Faculté. Liav a suivi des cours de maître donnés par d’éminents artistes tels que Mischa Maisky, Maxim Vengerov, Ivry Gitlis, Heinrich Schiff, Steven Isserlis, Julian Rachlin, Renaud Capucon, Menahem Pressler et Talich String Quartet.

Liav Kerbel est lauréat du « Grand Prix » du concours international de violoncelle « Music of Hope » à Gomel-Belorussie et 1er prix du « International Competition for « Young Virtuososos » à Sofia, Bulgarie et du Manhattan School of Music Eisenberg Fried Concerto Competition. Liav Kerbel a fait ses débuts comme soliste à l’âge de 15 ans avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Minsk et depuis, il s’est produit avec des orchestres symphoniques et de chambre en Biélorussie, Bulgarie, Royaume-Uni, Pays-Bas et Belgique.

En juin 2016, Liav fait ses débuts au Centre des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles en interprétant le Double Concerto de Johannes Brahms avec le violoniste Maxim Vengerov et l’Orchestre National de Belgique. Il a ensuite été sélectionné pour faire partie de la « Fondation Maxim Vengerov » qui aide à promouvoir de jeunes musiciens exceptionnels. Liav joue sur un violoncelle Giovanni Battista Ceruti, fabriqué à Crémone en 1798, généreusement accordé sur un prêt de la Banque DELEN en Belgique et d’un donateur privé.