Verbier Festival
Martin Moriarty

Irish violist Martin Moriarty studied at the Young European Strings School of Music, with Ronald Masin and privately with Simon Aspell. He is currently in his final year of his Bachelor of Music Degree at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam studying with Nobuko Imai and Marjolein Dispa.

Martin is currently a member of the Arkovsky Sextet. Festival appearances include Pablo Casals, West Cork, Schiermonnikoog, Amsterdam Viola Festival, GAIA, Clandeboye, the NCH Chamber Music Gathering and Ortús Chamber Music Festivals amongst others. At these festivals he has had masterclasses and performed alongside world renowned musicians including Antoine Tamestit, Hartmut Rhode, Garth Knox, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Jean-Bernard Pommier, Barry Douglas, Jörg Widmann and the Borodin, Vanbrugh and Michelangelo Quartets to name a few. Orchestral work includes working with the European Union Youth Orchestra, Amsterdam Sinfonietta and Camerata Freden. With these ensembles he has traveled throughout Europe the USA and the UAE.

He is a prize-winner of multiple awards and bursaries, his more recent achievements included third prize at the National Viola Competition as part of the Amsterdam Viola Festival 2017. At the 2017 Carl Flesch Academy in Baden-Baden he received a special prize and performed Hindemith’s Der Schwanendreher with the Baden-Baden Philharmonic. At the 2017 Clandeboye Chamber Music Festival he was awarded the Flax Trust Award.

Martin plays an Amati-Mangenot 1931 viola and a Nester Audinot 1970 bow.

Verbier Festival
Martin Moriarty

L’altiste irlandais Martin Moriarty a étudié à la Young European Strings School of Music, avec Ronald Masin et en privé avec Simon Aspell. Il est actuellement en dernière année de son baccalauréat en musique au Conservatoire d’Amsterdam où il étudie avec Nobuko Imai et Marjolein Dispa.

Martin est actuellement membre du Sextuor Arkovsky. Parmi les apparitions au Festival, mentionnons Pablo Casals, West Cork, Schiermonnikoog, Amsterdam Viola Festival, GAIA, Clandeboye, le NCH Chamber Music Gathering et Ortús Chamber Music Festivals. Lors de ces festivals, il a donné des masterclasses et s’est produit aux côtés de musiciens de renommée mondiale tels que Antoine Tamestit, Hartmut Rhode, Garth Knox, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Jean-Bernard Pommier, Barry Douglas, Jörg Widmann et les quatuors Borodin, Vanbrugh et Michelangelo pour ne citer que quelques uns. Il a notamment travaillé avec l’Orchestre des jeunes de l’Union européenne, Amsterdam Sinfonietta et Camerata Freden. Avec ces ensembles, il a voyagé à travers l’Europe, les USA et les EAU.

Il est lauréat de nombreux prix et bourses, ses plus récentes réalisations incluent le troisième prix au Concours national d’alto dans le cadre du Festival d’alto d’Amsterdam 2017. En 2017, à l’Académie Carl Flesch de Baden-Baden, il a reçu un prix spécial et a joué Der Schwanendreher de Hindemith avec le Philharmonique de Baden-Baden. Au Festival de musique de chambre Clandeboye 2017, il a reçu le Flax Trust Award.

Martin joue un alto Amati-Mangenot 1931 et un archet Nester Audinot 1970.