Verbier Festival
Nicolas Ellis

Nicolas Ellis currently serves as Artistic Partner of the Orchestre Métropolitain and Yannick Nézet-Séguin, and was named Radio-Canada’s “Classical revelation of the year” for the 2018–2019 season.

Mr. Ellis has been a conducting fellow at the Accademia Chigiana and the Aspen Music Festival where he studied with conductors such as Robert Spano, Leonard Slatkin, Johannes Debus, Hugh Wolff and Louis Langrée. The 2018–2019 season marks his debuts with the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil and the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra. He will also return to perform as a guest conductor with Les Violons du Roy, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, and the Orchestre Métropolitain.

In 2013, he founded the Orchestre de l’Agora, an orchestra whose mission is to position the classical musician as an agent of social change within the community. The ensemble has built collaborations with the music program of the Share the Warmth Foundation and Les Porteurs de musique, giving workshops to kids coming from underprivileged neighbourhoods and to people who don’t have access to music such as psychiatric centres, prisons and shelters for battered women. Their recent production of Britten’s The Turn of the Screw in collaboration with the Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal was recorded by ICI Musique and CBC Music and has been broadcasted nationally.

Nicolas Ellis studied conducting with Maestro Alexis Hauser at the McGill Schulich School of Music in Montreal where he completed his Master’s Degree and is the recipient of the 2017 Bourse de carrière Fernand-Lindsay and the Heinz Unger Award 2015 delivered by the Ontario Arts Council.

Verbier Festival
Nicolas Ellis

Nicolas Ellis est actuellement partenaire artistique de l’Orchestre Métropolitain et de Yannick Nézet-Séguin, et a été nommé  » Révélation classique de l’année  » de Radio-Canada pour la saison 2018-2019.

M. Ellis a été boursier en direction d’orchestre à l’Accademia Chigiana et au Aspen Music Festival où il a étudié avec des chefs tels que Robert Spano, Leonard Slatkin, Johannes Debus, Hugh Wolff et Louis Langrée. La saison 2018-2019 marque ses débuts avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Kitchener-Waterloo, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, l’Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil et l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa. Il reviendra également comme chef invité avec Les Violons du Roy, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec et l’Orchestre Métropolitain.

En 2013, il fonde l’Orchestre de l’Agora, un orchestre dont la mission est de positionner le musicien classique comme un agent de changement social dans la communauté. L’ensemble a établi des collaborations avec le programme de musique de la Fondation Partageons l’espoir et Les Porteurs de musique, donnant des ateliers à des enfants provenant de milieux défavorisés et à des personnes qui n’ont pas accès à de la musique comme les centres psychiatriques, les prisons et les refuges pour femmes battues. Leur récente production de The Turn of the Screw de Britten en collaboration avec l’Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal a été enregistrée par ICI Musique et CBC Music et a été diffusée à l’échelle nationale.

Nicolas Ellis a étudié la direction d’orchestre avec le maestro Alexis Hauser à l’École de musique Schulich de McGill, à Montréal, où il a complété sa maîtrise et a reçu la Bourse de carrière Fernand-Lindsay 2017 et le Prix Heinz Unger 2015 du Conseil des Arts de l’Ontario.