Verbier Festival
Quatuor Ébène

What began in 1999 as a distraction in the university’s practice rooms for the four young French musicians has become a trademark of the Quatuor Ebène, and has generated lasting reverberations in the music scene. The four breathe new life into chamber music through their consistently direct, open-minded perspective on the works. Regardless of the genre, they approach the music with humility and respect. They change styles with gusto, and yet remain themselves: with all the passion that they experience for each piece, and which they bring to the stage and to their audiences directly and authentically.

There is no single word that describes their style: they’ve created their own. Their traditional repertoire does not suffer from their engagement with other genres; rather, their free association with diverse styles brings a productive excitement to their music. From the beginning, the complexity of their oeuvre has been greeted enthusiastically by audiences and critics.

After studies with the Quatuor Ysaÿe in Paris and with Gábor Takács, Eberhard Feltz and György Kurtág, the quartet had an unprecedented victory at the ARD Music Competition 2004. This marked the beginning of their rise, which has culminated in numerous prizes and awards.

The Quatuor Ebène’s concerts are marked by a special elan. With their charismatic playing, their fresh approach to tradition and their open engagement with new forms, the musicians have been successful in reaching a wide audience of young listeners; they communicate their knowledge in regular master classes at the Conservatoire Paris.

The quartet was one of the award winners of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust in 2007 and received support from the BBT between 2007 and 2017.

In 2005, the ensemble won the Belmont Prize of the Forberg-Schneider Foundation. Since then, the Foundation has worked closely with the musicians, who are performing on instruments chosen with and loaned by Gabriele Forberg-Schneider since 2009.

Pierre Colombet: Violin by Francesco Rugeri, Cremona (ca.1680) | Bow by Charles Tourte (Paris, 19th centery.)
Gabriel le Magadure: Violin with a Guarneri label (mid 18th century) | Bow by Dominique Pecatte (ca.1845)
Raphaël Merlin: Violoncello by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona (1666/1680)

The Quatuor Ebène’s CDs, featuring recordings of music by Haydn, Bartók, Debussy, Fauré, Mozart and the Mendelssohn siblings have won numerous awards, including the Gramophone Award, the ECHO Klassik, the BBC Music Magazine Award and the Midern Classic Award. Their 2010 album “Fiction” with jazz arrangements, has only solidified their unique position in the chamber music scene, as well as their 2014 crossover CD “Brazil,” a collaboration with Stacey Kent, and their recent recording with Michel Portal, “Eternal Stories” (Mai 2017). In fall 2014, Erato released “A 90th Birthday Celebration”, a live recording (on CD and DVD) of Menahem Presslers birthday celebration concert with the Quatour Ebène in Paris. In 2015/2016 the musicians focussed on the genre of the “Lied”. They collaborated with Philippe Jaroussky for the CD ” Green (Mélodies françaises)” which won the BBC Music Magazine Award 2016 and published a Schubert CD. On the one hand, it includes Lieder, recorded with Mathias Goerne (aranged for string quartett, baritone and bass by Raphël Merlin) and on the other hand, the string quintett, recorded with Gautier Capuçon.

The fundamental classical repertoire for string quartet will remain a cornerstone: this season, the Quatuor Ebène will focus on Ludwig van Beethoven’s String Quartets. The quartet will indeed present the complete Beethoven cycle in 2020 for their 20th birthday as well as for 250th birthday of the composer.

The 2017/2018 season will see the Quatuor Ebène perform at the Berliner Philharmonie, the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, the Philharmonie de Paris, the Wiener Konzerthaus, Stockholms Konserthus and Carnegie Hall New York (inter alia) as well as in festival venues such as the Musikfest Bremen and the Verbier Festival.

Verbier Festival
Quatuor Ébène

Ce qui débuta en 1999 tel un délassement des quatre jeunes Français après de longues heures de répétition dans les salles du conservatoire, devint la griffe des  » Ébène  » et eut un retentissement considérable sur la scène musicale. Le Quatuor Ébène offre un souffle nouveau à la musique de chambre et apporte un regard sans a priori à chaque interprétation. La passion qu’il manifeste se transmet instantanément au public et reste un des phénomènes les plus marquants à l’écoute de cet ensemble.

Aucun terme ne peut entièrement définir le style qu’ils ont véritablement créé : l’évolution libre entre les différents genres crée une tension qui anime chaque aspect de leur champ artistique. Cette multiplicité des facettes de leur art fut accueillie, dès le début, par l’enthousiasme du public et des critiques.

Après avoir étudié auprès de Gábor Takács, Eberhard Feltz, György Kurtág et du Quatuor Ysaÿe, leur victoire éclatante et sans précédent au Concours international de l’ARD 2004 à Munich fut le point de départ d’une ascension illustrée de multiples autres distinctions. L’élan du Quatuor Ébène, le jeu charismatique de ses musiciens, leur approche fraîche des traditions tout comme leur ouverture aux formes nouvelles ont su toucher un public large et jeune. Passionnés d’enseignement et de transmission, ils interviennent régulièrement au Conservatoire, et s’impliquent dans des festivals aux programmations originales.

Le quatuor fut distingué du Prix Belmont de la fondation Forberg-Schneider en 2005. Grâce à cette fondation qui est restée très liée aux musiciens, le Quatuor Ebène joue depuis 2009 sur des instruments anciens choisis avec Gabriele Forberg-Schneider et prêtés par elle.

Pierre Colombet: violon de Francesco Rugeri, Cremona (ca.1680) | archet de Charles Tourte (Paris, 19th centery.)
Gabriel le Magadure: violon étiquette Guarneri (mid 18th century) | archet de Dominique Pecatte (ca.1845)
Raphael Merlin: violoncelle d’Andrea Guarneri, Cremona (1666/1680)

Les disques du Quatuor Ébène avec des enregistrements de Haydn, Bartók, Brahms, Mozart, Debussy, Fauré, Félix et Fanny Mendelssohn, furent récompensés entre autres par l’award  » Recording of the Year  » du magazine Gramophone, Strad Selection, le BBC  » Recording of the Month « , le Midem Classic Award, le Choc de l’année Classica, le BBC Music Magazine Award. Le quatuor fut également nommé  » Ensemble de l’Année  » aux Victoires de la Musique 2009. L’album  » Fiction  » (2010) de leurs arrangements de standard jazz et de musique de film tout comme le CD crossover  » Brazil  » (2014) et leur récent enregistrement  » Eternal Stories  » avec Michel Portal illustrent la singularité de cet ensemble multi-facettes. En automne 2014, Erato fit paraître l’enregistrement live (CD et DVD) du concert du quatuor avec Menahem Pressler :  » A 90th Birthday celebration  » – concert organisé à l’occasion de l’anniversaire du pianiste, à Paris, en novembre 2013. En 2015/2016 les musiciens consacrent leurs CDs au genre du  » Lied  » avec  » Green (Mélodies françaises)  » enregistré avec Philippe Jaroussky (BBC Music Magazine Award 2016) et avec un disque Schubert réunissant des Lieder chantés par Mathias Goerne (arrangés par Raphaël Merlin pour quatuor à cordes, baryton, contrebasse) et le quintette à cordes enregistré avec Gautier Capuçon.

Les Oeuvres fondamentales du répertoire classique demeurent au premier plan de l’actualité des quatre musiciens : leur interprétation des quatuors de Ludwig van Beethoven sera un temps fort de cette saison. Le Quatuor Ebène présentera en 2020, à l’occasion de son 20e anniversaire d’existence et du 250e anniversaire de Beethoven, l’intégrale des quatuors à cordes du compositeur.

En 2017/2018, le Quatuor Ebène se produira, entre autres, à la Philharmonie de Berlin, au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, à la Philharmonie de Paris, la Wiener Konzerthaus, la Stockholms Konserthus et au Carnegie Hall New York, tout comme dans des festivals tels le Musikfest Bremen ou le Verbier Festival.