Verbier Festival
RIAS Kammerchor

Founded nearly 70 years ago, the RIAS Chamber Choir today sets standards in nearly all domains of musical culture – from celebrated historically informed interpretations of the Renaissance and the Baroque through works of Romanticism, which not infrequently lead listeners to a new conception of the 19th-century sound world, up the most demanding world premieres, in which the possibilities of contemporary vocal music are sounded out and newly defined. Together with the “Association of Sponsors and Friends of the RIAS Chamber
Choir”, it has developed new concert forms and approaches to intermedial music-making in the “Forumkonzert” series set in unusual locations in Berlin. For some time now, the Forumkonzert series is no longer an insider’s tip – it enjoys cult status.

A vanguard musical position has given rise to a sense of cultural and social responsibility which the RIAS Chamber Choir assumes passionately and intensively. “KlasseKlänge” workshops, school choir mentoring programmes, concert introductions done by students, assistance to students in the DIRIGENTENFORUM or the Academy for Advanced Vocal Study are only a few aspects of an extensive education and outreach programme. On concert tours through Europe and to important music centres worldwide, the RIAS Chamber
Choir serves as a cultural ambassador of Germany and, with its guest performances, continues the valuable legacy of german choral culture into the 21st century.

In brief: The RIAS Chamber Choir is one of the ten best choirs in the world (Gramophone, 2010)

Leading artistic personalities of the recent past and present have shaped and left their mark on the RIAS Chamber Choir during their chief conductorships. Uwe Gronostay (1972-1986) laid the foundations for historical performance practice and developed the chamber choir sound, in equal measure lean and vigorous, for which the choir is today exemplary. Marcus Creed (1987-2001) achieved the increasing internationalisation of the RIAS Chamber Choir, particularly through the coupling of early and contemporary music. Daniel Reuss (2003-2006) placed an emphasis on the classical modern and strengthened connections with cooperating partners at home and abroad. Hans-Christoph Rademann, who took over the post of chiefconductor in 2007 and held it up to summer of 2015, broadened the content and tonal range of expression, devoting particular attention to central german music history of the 17th to 19th century.

Numerous awards and prizes document the artistic journey and the high international reputation of the RIAS Chamber Choir: The German Record Critics’ Award, the Gramophone Award, the Choc de l’annee, the ECHO Klassik or the Prix Caecilia are only a few of many honours. In 2012 the RIAS Chamber Choir received the “Nachtigall” honorary prize from the Jury of the German Record Critics’ Award.

An enduring and fruitful collaboration binds the choir to René Jacobs, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and the Munich Chamber Orchestra under Alexander Liebreich. In addition, the RIAS Chamber Choir works together with conductors such as Sir Simon Rattle, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Andrea Marcon, Thomas Hengelbrock, Florian Helgath and Ottavio Dantone. Starting with the 2017-18 season, Justin Doyle will be Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the RIAS Kammerchor.

The RIAS Chamber Choir is an ensemble of the Rundfunk Orchester und Chöre GmbH (roc berlin). Other partners are Deutschlandradio, the Federal Republic of Germany, the State of Berlin and the Rundfunk BerlinBrandenburg broadcasting company.

Verbier Festival
RIAS Kammerchor

Fondé il y a plus de 70 ans, le RIAS Kammerchor est une référence dans presque tous les domaines de la culture musicale – des interprétations historiquement informées de la Renaissance et du Baroque aux créations modernes ambitieuses qui réinventent les possibilités de la musique vocale contemporaine, en passant par les nouvelles perspectives sonores dans l’interprétation du répertoire romantique du XIXème siècle. Avec le soutien de l’association des amis du RIAS Kammerchor, le chOeur développe de nouvelles formes de concerts et de concepts musicaux intermédias, avec la série des  » Forumkonzert  » organisés dans des lieux inhabituels de Berlin. Ces concerts ne sont plus depuis longtemps réservés aux seuls initiés – ils sont devenus cultes.

De cette avant-garde musicale découle une responsabilité culturelle et sociale à laquelle le RIAS Kammerchor se consacre avec intensité et passion, à travers un programme complet de formation et de transmission qui se traduit notamment par les  » KlasseKlänge  » (éveil musical en classe), des parrainages de chorales scolaires, des présentations de concerts par les élèves, des soutiens au DIRIGENTENFORUM et à l’Académie de perfectionnement des étudiants en chant. Lors de ses tournées de concerts en Europe et dans les plus importants centres musicaux du monde, le RIAS Kammerchor endosse le rôle d’ambassadeur culturel de l’Allemagne et fait entrer le précieux héritage de la culture chorale allemande dans le XXIème siècle.

Pour résumer, le RIAS Kammerchor est l’un des dix meilleurs chOeurs du monde (Gramophone, 2010).

Dans le présent et dans le passé récent, le RIAS Kammerchor a été marqué par l’emprunte des personnalités artistiques majeures qui en ont pris la direction. Uwe Gronostay (1972 – 1986) a posé les fondations de l’interprétation historique et a développé ce son à la fois fin et puissant qui est aujourd’hui la marque de fabrique du chOeur. Marcus Creed (1987 – 2001) a accompagné l’internationalisation croissante du RIASKammerchor, notamment en approfondissant les liens entre la musique ancienne et la musique contemporaine. Daniel Reuss (2001 – 2006) s’est concentré sur le classicisme moderne et a renforcé les partenariats en Allemagne et à l’étranger. Hans-Christian Rademann, qui a pris la tête du chOeur en 2007 et l’a quittée à l’été 2015, a élargi le spectre expressif de ses sonorités et ses contenus, et mis un accent particulier sur l’histoire de la musique allemande du XVIIème au XIXème siècle. A partir de la saison de concerts 2017/2018, Justin Doyle sera le directeur artistique et chef principal du RIAS-Kammerchor.

De nombreux prix et récompenses viennent prouver le parcours artistique et l’excellente réputation internationale du RIAS Kammerchor : le Prix de la Critique de Disque Allemande, le Gramophone Award, le Choc de l’Année, l’ECHO Klassik ou le Prix Caecilia, pour ne citer qu’eux. En 2012, le RIAS Kammerchor a reçu le prix d’honneur  » Nachtigall  » de la part du jury du Prix de la Critique de Disque Allemande.

Une collaboration aussi réussie que durable unit le chOeur à René Jacobs, l’Akademie für alte Musik Berlin, le Freiburger Barockorchester, ainsi que le Münchener Kammerorchester sous la direction d’Alexander Liebreich. Le RIAS Kammerchor travaille également avec des chefs tels que Sir Simon Rattle, Yannick NézetSéguin, Andrea Marcon, Thomas Hengelbrock, Florian Helgath et Ottavio Dantone.

Le RIAS Kammerchor est un ensemble des ChOeurs et Orchestre de la radio de Berlin (roc Berlin). Les actionnaires en sont Deutschlandradio, la République Fédérale d’Allemagne, le Land de Berlin et le RBB (Radio et télévision de Berlin et du Brandebourg).