Verbier Festival
Sergey Neller

Hailed as “enormously talented” by the Neue Zürcher Zeitung, the Russian-born German conductor Sergey Neller studied composition and piano at the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory, and conducting at the Universität der Künste Berlin. He came to the attention of the classical music world as the 2nd Prize Winner of the prestigious 2016 Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition hosted by the Bamberg Symphony. He has collaborated with such renowned ensembles as the Bamberg, Berlin and Brandenburg Symphony Orchestras, the Gstaad Festival Orchestra, the Orchestre Régional de Cannes, and the Brandenburg State Orchestra of Frankfurt among others, and counts among his mentors such luminary figures as John Carewe, Neeme Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Jorma Panula, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Sir Simon Rattle and David Zinman, with whom he worked in orchestral masterclasses with the Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich.

Recent highlights include debuts with the Philharmonie Zuidnederland, Szczecin Philharmonic Orchestra, Oulu Sinfonia, the Janacek Philharmonic Orchestra of Ostrava, and Nürnberger Symphoniker, where Neller directed Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 25 from the piano, and conducted works by Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich. He also conducted a studio recording session of Shostakovich’s 12th Symphony with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra for Bayerischer Rundfunk, and returned to the orchestra at the end of 2017 for a series of educational concerts. He recently made his US debut with the Jacksonville Symphony, where Neller once again directed from the piano, this time in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21, leading one review to describe him as “a remarkably talented artist”. He also participated as one of four selected conductors in masterclasses with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under the direction of Daniele Gatti, and assisted Vladimir Jurowski at Russia’s State Academic Symphony Orchestra “Evgeny Svetlanov”.

Upcoming highlights include the Ulster Orchestra, a new production of Rodion Shchedrin’s opera Lolita at the National Theatre Prague, and a concert of Sofia Gubaidulina’s works with ensemble unitedberlin in the Konzerthaus Berlin. As a gifted composer, from 2002 to 2006 Neller was the recipient of the renowned Mstislav Rostropovich Foundation Award, during which period he composed his first opera ‘Tintagiles’ which was premiered it at the Helikon Opera in Moscow. Composed to an original libretto based on Maurice Maeterlinck’s play ‘The Death of Tintagiles’, the work attracted the attention of the international press and resonated strongly with Russian audiences. In 2010, Neller completed his second opera, ‘Phaedra’, composed to a libretto by the contemporary Russian poet and playwright Alexey Parin. Neller has also enjoyed considerable success as a pianist, having won international competitions in Austria, Bulgaria, Italy and the United States, and given concerts throughout Europe, North America and Australia. He has also made several recordings of works by Chopin, Medtner, Oborin and Scriabin.

Verbier Festival
Sergey Neller

Salué comme « extrêmement talentueux » par la Neue Zürcher Zeitung, le chef d’orchestre allemand d’origine russe Sergey Neller a étudié la composition et le piano au Conservatoire Tchaïkovski de Moscou et la direction d’orchestre à l’Universität der Künste Berlin. Il a attiré l’attention du monde de la musique classique en remportant le 2e prix du prestigieux Concours de direction d’orchestre Gustav Mahler 2016 organisé par le Bamberg Symphony. Il a collaboré avec des ensembles renommés tels que les orchestres symphoniques de Bamberg, Berlin et Brandebourg, le Gstaad Festival Orchestra, l’Orchestre Régional de Cannes et l’Orchestre d’Etat de Brandebourg de Francfort, et compte parmi ses mentors des figures lumineuses comme John Carewe, Neeme Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Jorma Panula, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Sir Simon Rattle et David Zinman, avec qui il a travaillé dans des masterclasses orchestrales à la Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich.

Récemment, il a fait ses débuts avec la Philharmonie Zuidnederland, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Szczecin et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Szczecin. Oulu Sinfonia, l’Orchestre philharmonique Janacek d’Ostrava et Nuremberg. Symphoniker, où Neller a dirigé le Concerto pour piano no 25 de Mozart à partir du piano, et a dirigé des œuvres de Tchaïkovski et de Chostakovitch. Il a également dirigé une séance d’enregistrement en studio de la 12e Symphonie de Chostakovitch avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg pour Bayerischer Rundfunk, et est retourné à l’orchestre à la fin de 2017 pour une série de concerts éducatifs. Il a récemment fait ses débuts aux États-Unis avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Jacksonville, où Neller a une fois de plus mis en scène du piano, cette fois dans le Concerto pour piano no 21 de Mozart, ce qui a conduit une critique à le qualifier de « un artiste remarquablement talentueux ». Il a également été l’un des quatre chefs d’orchestre sélectionnés dans le cadre du programme masterclasses avec le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra sous la direction de Daniele Gatti, et a assisté Vladimir Jurowski à l’Orchestre symphonique académique d’Etat russe « Evgeny Svetlanov ».

Parmi les temps forts à venir figurent l’Ulster Orchestra, une nouvelle production de l’opéra Lolita de Rodion Shchedrin au Théâtre national de Prague et un concert des œuvres de Sofia Gubaidulina avec l’ensemble unitedberlin au Konzerthaus Berlin. En tant que compositeur talentueux, Neller a reçu de 2002 à 2006 le célèbre Prix de la Fondation Mstislav Rostropovich, au cours duquel il a composé son premier opéra,’Tintagiles’ et l’a créé à l’Opéra Helikon à Moscou. Composée sur un livret original inspiré de la pièce de Maurice Maeterlinck  » La mort de Tintagiles « , l’œuvre a attiré l’attention de la presse internationale et a suscité un vif intérêt auprès du public russe. En 2010, Neller a terminé son deuxième opéra,’Phaedra’, composé sur un livret du poète et dramaturge contemporain russe Alexey Parin. Neller a également connu un succès considérable en tant que pianiste, ayant remporté des concours internationaux en Autriche, en Bulgarie, en Italie et aux États-Unis, et donné des concerts en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et en Australie. Il a également enregistré plusieurs œuvres de Chopin, Medtner, Oborin et Scriabin.