Soloists & Chamber Music

2021 Details Coming Soon

The Academy searches the world for the most promising pianistsviolinistsviolistscellists and chamber ensembles of trios and quartets to become Fellows of its Soloist & Chamber Music Programme, Eight from each solo discipline and two ensembles are selected for three weeks of mentorship and coaching by a faculty that is second to none. A select number of promising young students-in-residence, aged 13 to 15, are also invited to soak up the Festival experience with the aim of inspiring them to apply for full Academy Fellowships in the future. The study and performance of chamber music is fundamental at Verbier. In addition to classes and coachings offered to two pre-formed trios or quartets, all soloists, including students-in-residence, are assigned to chamber music groups and take part in chamber music masterclasses in addition to those in their respective disciplines.


Applications are now closed. The deadline was 27 January 2020.


Candidates were informed of the Academy’s decision 9 March 2020. The names of successful candidates were posted on Wednesday 25 March.

with generous support of:

Aspect Foundation
Mia & Anders Bergendahl
Fondation Juchum
The Tabor Foundation

Mentors 2020


Sergei Babayan
Richard Goode
Stephen Kovacevich

András Schiff


Isabel Charisius
Veronika Hagen
Antoine Tamestit

21st Century Artist Training

Mary Javian
Gary Leboff
Pedja Muzijevic
Karen Zorn

Injury Prevention & Mechanics

Fit as a Fiddle with Pamela Frank and Howard Nelson

Life Coaching

Johannes Crol

Alumni Mentors

In its quest for excellence, the Academy has developed collaborations with some of the greatest mentors and coaches. Returning 2020 mentors are marked with an asterix.


Joaquín Achúcarro
Sergei Babayan*
Dmitri Bashkirov
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet
Michel Béroff
Bella Davidovich
Leon Fleisher
Claude Frank †
Richard Goode*
Gary Graffman
Klaus Hellwig
Joseph Kalichstein
Stephen Kovacevich*
Menahem Pressler
Ferenc Rados
András Schiff*


Kristóf Baráti
Zakhar Bron
Ana Chumachenco
Pamela Frank*
Ivry Gitlis
Ida Haendel
András Keller
Young-Uck Kim
Igor Oistrakh
György Pauk
Joseph Silverstein
Dmitry Sitkovetsky
Boris Kuschnir*
Dora Schwarzberg
Isaac Stern
Viktor Tretiakov
Donald Weilerstein
Eduard Wulfson
Pinchas Zukerman


Yuri Bashmet
Isabel Charisius*
Gerard Caussé
Roberto Diaz
Yuri Gandelsman
Nobuko Imai
Kim Kashkashian
Paul Neubauer
Lawrence Power
Antoine Tamestit*
Lars Anders Tomter
Tabea Zimmermann


Lynn Harrell
Frans Helmerson*
Gary Hoffman
Ralph Kirshbaum*
Laurence Lesser
Julian Lloyd Webber
Miklós Perényi*
Ferenc Rados
Torleif Thedéen
Jian Wang

Chamber Music

Alfred Brendel
Pamela Frank*
András Keller
Menahem Pressler
Ferenc Rados
András Schiff*
Alasdair Tait
Gábor Takács-Nagy*
Pinchas Zukerman
Klaus Hellwig