VF Chamber Orchestra

Global Ambassador
The Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO) is the resident chamber orchestra of the Verbier Festival.

The orchestra is made up of alumni of the Verbier Festival Orchestra (VFO) who have gone on to perform with an impressive roster of the world’s most distinguished conductors and soloists. Since completing their training at Verbier, many of these musicians have been engaged by the world’s leading orchestras, including those in Boston, Berlin, Chicago, London, New York, Paris, Philadelphia, Moscow, San Francisco and Vienna. The VFCO serves as the Verbier Festival’s ambassador wherever it performs around the globe.


gábor takács-nagy

Music Director

Hungarian conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy Gábor Takács-Nagy was appointed Music Director of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra in 2007. A founding member and principal violin (1975 to 1992) of the Takács Quartet, he performed with Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Isaac Stern, Mstislav Rostropovitch, András Schiff, Mikhail Pletnev, Joshua Bell and Gidon Kremer. He founded the Takács Piano Trio in 1996 and the Mikrokosmos Quartet in 1998 (Excellencia Prize for the complete cycle of Bartók’s quartets). Since 2002 he has devoted himself entirely to orchestral conducting, when he founded the Camerata Bellerive. In 2011, he was appointed Music Director of the Manchester Camerata and, in 2012, Principal Guest Conductor of the Budapest Festival Orchestra. Takács became Principal Artistic Partner of the Irish Chamber Orchestra in 2013. He coaches string quartets at the Haute Ecole de Musique, Geneva, and is an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music (2012) and Artistic Advisor for the Verbier Festival Academy ‘s Chamber Music Programme.


Festival 2021


Rimma Bergeron Langlois
Daniel Cho
Teodora Dimitrova

Jeff Dyrda
Filip Fenrych
Emma Gibout
Vivek Jayaraman
Yuri Katsumata
Ji Min Lee

Mariami Machaidze
Geneviève Martineau
Simon Riverin
Alexandros Sakarellos
Yoonshin Song
Cigdem Tuncelli


Karolina Errera
Natanael Ferreira
Joshua Newburger
Blythe Teh Engstroem
Elizaveta Zolotova 


Gustave Bourgeois
Nerina Mancini
Joel Marosi
Guilherme Monegatto
Julia Stuller
Mi Zhou

Double Bass

Brendan Kane
Joan Perarnau Garriga


Frederic Sanchez
Yua Souverbie


Vicente Castello Sansaloni
Remi Grouiller

Emmanuel Laville


Luis Camara Palomares
Kevin Spagnolo


Gabriel Bergeron-Langlois
Gordon Fantini
Pierre Gomes

Marceau Lefèvre


Lionel Pointet
David Sullivan


Celestin Guerin
Chris Scanlon


Ian Sullivan