Header image of page : VFCO / TAKÁCS-NAGY / FUJITA
symphonic concert


Mozart, Beethoven
Rising star Mao Fujita is already renowned for his sparkling interpretations of Mozart. Here he makes his debut with the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra and Music Director Gábor Takács-Nagy with the majestic Piano Concerto No. 20. A trademark VFCO Beethoven Eighth Symphony follows.

Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor K. 466

Symphony No. 8 in F major Op. 93

presented by

Mozart D minor Piano Concerto is one of only two among 27 he cast in a minor key, so its initial dramatic impact must have been immense. It opens quietly with tensely swirling, stabbing strings alone, making for maximum impact when the rest of the orchestra thunders in. The central Romance’s major-keyed serenity also contains a minor-tonality shock. Still, although the finale opens in D minor angst, major-key sunlight eventually triumphs. The shock of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 of 1814 was that, after the increasing lengths and rich textures of his previous symphonies, not only did it revert to a more Haydn-esque length and lightness, but even swapped back from the now-established scherzo to a menuet for its third movement. Yet other surprises were modern in their boldness, such as replacing the slow movement with a quirky Allegretto scherzando just four minutes long.

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor K. 466 | VFJO / Altinoglu – Goode (Salle des Combins, 2018)
BEETHOVEN Symphonie N° 8 en fa majeur op. 93 | VFCO / Minkowski (Salle des Combins, 2012)