Header image of page : VFCO / TAKÁCS-NAGY / BOUCHKOV
symphonic concert


Ysaÿe, Beethoven
Only its second-ever performance, Marc Bouchkov brings to life the re-creation of an unpublished concerto for violin by Eugène Ysaÿe, with the Verbier Festival Orchestra and its Music Director, Gábor Takács-Nagy.

Violin Concerto in E minor

Symphony No. 7 in A major Op. 92


While Belgian violin virtuoso, pedagogue and conductor Eugene Ysaÿe is best known as a composer for his Six Sonatas for Solo Violin of 1923, he also wrote a number of concertos in his earlier career. The Concerto in E minor is an unpublished single movement dating possibly from the 1880s, and this Verbier performance is with the support of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, whose musicologist Xavier Falques prepared the material from the manuscript in the Royal Library of Belgium. Cast as an Allegro Appassionato, its combination of virtuosity, elegance and lyricism points both to Ysaÿe’s own phenomenal technique, and to his teachers Vieuxtemps and Wieniawski. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 meanwhile needs little introduction, with its three brio-filled movements brilliantly offset by a magisterial second movement funeral march.

COVID-19 INFO — Your safety is our priority. Please read our comprehensive protocols.