Header image of page : DANIEL HOPE / LUCAS DEBARGUE
chamber Music


Daniel Hope pays tribute to Alfred Schnittke in an exhilarating concert dedicated to the works from the maverick genius.

Sonata for violin and piano No. 1
Suite In the Old Style for violin and piano

Selection of Préludes and Fugues for piano
À Paganini for solo violin
Polka for violin and piano

Tango in a Madhouse for violin and piano

Daniel Hope’s love affair with the music of Russian composer Alfred Schnittke began in his teens, and this programme presents numerous facets of his polystylistic writing. Suite in the Old Style showcases his talent for pastiche via five Baroque-style transcriptions from his film music: Pastorale, Ballet, Minuet, Fugue and Pantomime. Pantomime in particular also showcases his talent for irony—something you hear clearly in Polka, inspired by Gogol’s story ‘The Overcoat‘, and Tango in a Madhouse, used as an interlude in his anti-communist, satirical opera, Life with an Idiot. While those are all tonal pieces, his eerie homage to Paganini uses more dissonant language, as does the lyrical, concise, 12-tone Violin Sonata of 1963. The piano preludes and fugues meanwhile draw on nineteenth century pianistic heritage.

Pre-concertcast: Lucas Debargue in conversation with Charles Sigel (FR)

COVID-19 INFO — Your safety is our priority. Please read our comprehensive protocols.