Header image of page : MOZART / MAO FUJITA V
piano recital


Complete Piano Sonatas
Mao Fujita’s series of Mozart’s Piano Sonatas comes full circle with a grand, virtuosic performance of the 18th, and final, sonata.

Piano Sonata No. 9 in D major K. 311
Piano Sonata No. 17 in B-flat major K. 570
Piano Sonata No. 18 in D major K. 576

Mozart’s K. 311 sonata is the effervescent, shorter-length sibling to K. 310 in A minor and K. 309 in C major, the three having been published together in Paris in 1778. After a bubbling Allegro con spirito comes a dignified Andante Con Espressione, then a playfully skipping Rondeau. K. 570 dates from February 1789, and strangely was published in 1796 as a violin sonata, despite Mozart’s autograph catalogue listing it as being for solo piano. Its Adagio in particular stands out for opening with an invocation of solemn horns, and in general its music encourages orchestral imaginings. K. 576, also penned in 1789, was his last sonata. Nicknamed ‘The Hunt’ on account of its opening call, and combining highly virtuosic contrapuntal writing with lightness and elegance, it’s the most brilliant and technically demanding of all the sonatas.