Header image of page : KAVAKOS / CAPUÇON / WANG
chamber Music


A mighty trio comprising stars Gautier Capuçon, Yuja Wang and Leonidas Kavakos will captivate audiences with Shostakovich’s melancholy Trio for violin, cello and piano Op. 67 and Ravel’s bewitching Piano Trio for piano, violin, and cello.

Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor Op. 67 


MAURICE RAVEL (1875-1937)
Piano Trio in A minor 

An eerie solo cello, high in its harmonics, opens Shostakovich’s elegiac Piano Trio No 2 of 1944, remembering the wartime suffering of Russia’s Jewish population. Violin and piano then join to build a taut fugue, and traditional forms continue across the work: after an ironic scherzo comes a passacaglia lament, which tips without pause into a dark, mechanised klezmer-like finale, dying out on the passacaglia chords and more eerie harmonics. The third movement of Ravel’s Piano Trio of 1914, dedicated to his counterpoint teacher, is also a profound passacaglia, its bass line derived from the previous puckish Pantoum – whose own deftly constructed ABA architecture draws on the Malay verse form in which each quatrain’s second and fourth lines become the first and third of the next. Either side are a metrically fluid Modéré, and a triumphant Finale.