Verbier Festival
FestOff_LouisMatute

Feel the ALTernative ‘buzz en altitude’ with music that pushes boundaries of Verbier Festival’s programming into the worlds of contemporary, jazz, world and electronic music.

fest’off programme

Les Gondoliers de Verbier

Saturday 22 July
9:30 am to noon
Le Châble – Verbier – Ruinettes
Free with a transport ticket or the Verbier Infinite Playground Pass

Welcome into the tiniest concert hall in the world !  In one of the most breath-taking scenery, you’ll be attending short musical rendez-vous, during your cable-car lift.

En Terrasse

22 July to 6 August
2 pm to 2:45 pm

From Academy jams to Valaisan brass bands, these open-air performances are the perfect dessert for your midday meal. Discover regional musicians in addition to Verbier Festival Academy, Verbier Festival Orchestra and Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra musicians who dig deep into their bags of musical tricks to perform a mix of classical and non-classical tunes.

Place Blanche

Saturday 22 July
Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestras musicians
Restaurant Scalco

Sunday 23 July
Woodwind quintet (musicians of the VFO)
Chez Martin

Fanfaribole

Around the New World—an evening of music and wine—pianist Victoria Harmadjieva invites you to experience the “sweet intoxication of life”, a tasteful epilogue to her research on bitterness as taste and feeling with piano music by notable composers from North and South America.

Monday 24 July
Ebonit Saxophone Quartet (Verbier Festival Academy band)
En Altitude: La Marmotte

Tuesday 25 July
Sugar Swing
Place Blanche

Wednesday 26 July
Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestras musicians
Vinabagnes

Thursday 27 July
Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestras musicians
Restaurant Scalco

Friday 28 July
Gilgul
En Altitude: Chez Dany

Saturday 29 July
Brass Band Jeunesses Saint Cecilia
Jardin, Hôtel de la Poste

Sunday 30 July
Yolanda Almodovar Quintet
Chalet d’Adrien

Monday 31 July
Louis Matute Quartet
Place Centrale

Tuesday 1er August
Pedja Muzijevic, piano
Haydn Dialogues
Hors Terrasse: Farm Club

Wednesday 2 August
Verbier Festival Academy musicians (Neva Foundation students)
Place Blanche

Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra
En Altitude : La Chaux

Thursday 3 August
Opera Sing-a-Long
Chez Martin
Join the choir! Members of the public are invited to prepare for this opera singa-long on 2 August at Chalet Orny from 4:30 to 6:30 pm.

Friday 4 August
Musica Latina: Sylvain Rohner & friends
Vinabagnes

Saturday 5 August
Zorá String Quartet (Verbier Festival Academy band)
En altitude: Chalet d’Adrien

Zorá String Quartet

Sunday 6 August
Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestras musicians
Restaurant Scalco

ALT Concerts

Ouverture des portes: 21h30
Concerts: 22h

Friday 21 July: Swing Maniak jazz manouche
W Living Room (W Verbier)

Created by two passionate guitarists: Greg and Nicolas, the collective “Swing Maniak” pays tribute to gypsy jazz, style made famous by Django Reinhardt who was able to combine Gypsy music and jazz in the 1930s. Accompanied on double bass by Sam Pont, this collective has more than 300 concerts to their credit including Cully Jazz and a tour of Nepal.

Saturday 22 JulyBaiju Bhatt & Red Sun jazz-world
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

For his latest project, Indo-Swiss violinist Baiju Bhatt has surrounded himself with an explosive rhythm section and a fiery quintet to explore the links between the worlds of jazz, rock and world music. The group’s trademark power of expression, deep sensitivity, high energy and humour is reflected in its original compositions.

Sunday 23 July: Erkalium electro-jazz
Crock No Name

Erkalium is a trio of young musicians who create clean harmonies steeped in electronic influences, techno and jazz. This combination awakens sleepy and strange sensitive sound textures and dense rhythms that hypnotize through the veil of crystalline piano notes. Minimalism and poetry in motion.

Thursday 27 July: Victoria Harmandjieva : Autour du nouveau monde piano-dégustation
Farm Club

With Around the New World—an evening of music and wine—pianist Victoria Harmadjieva invites you to experience the “sweet intoxication of life”, a tasteful epilogue to her research on bitterness as taste and feeling with piano music by notable composers from North and South America.

Friday 28 July: Gilgul Balkan-Klezmer jazz
Crock No Name

Gilgul brings together a quintet of musical nomads from a variety of backgrounds: Balkan, Klezmer, Gypsy, etc. Performing both personal arrangements and original compositions the band is innovative yet rooted in tradition.

Saturday 29 July: Yolanda Almodovar Quintet flamenco, jazz et musique cubaine
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

Yolanda Almodovar has been sharing her intense and passionate flamenco ‘cante’ throughout Europe for more than 20 years. Joined by a trio of musicians and dancer Lucie Fernandez, the quintet intermingles flamenco with jazz and Cuban music.

Sunday 30 July: Kaan Bulak & Julien Quentin electro classique
Farm Club

Multifaceted, award-winning pianist Julien Quentin and composer Kaan Bulak premiere a fusion of their diverse talents with the aim of revealing common foundations of music. Imagine a mixture of concert hall and an underground electro-club and you will begin to understand this collaboration featuring special guest, Quatuor Ebène violist Adrien Boisseau. This evening of polyrhythmic beats brings together an electroacoustic interpretation of composed classical elements and improvised beats.

Monday 31 July: Louis Matute Quartet swing jazz
Crock No Name

Ring in ‘Fête Nationale’ with this quartet of ‘swinging’ Swiss musicians. Band leader and guitarist Louis Matute’s compositions are influenced by modern music while still respecting the origins of swing. With Yohan Jacquier on tenor saxophone, Noé Franklé on drums and Virgile Rosselet on double bass, the band has formed a strong friendship that is felt in the energy of its performances.

Tuesday 1 August: Philippe Quint & Friends: Noche de Tango
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

This evening of Nuevo Tango features Grammy-nominated violinist Philippe Quint, the music of Astor Piazzolla and and a spicy contingent of string players from the Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestra. Muy caliente!

Friday 4 August: SUPER-JAM! en partenariat avec Verbier Culturefest
Crock No Name

Improvisations led by The Swinging Ladies and featuring musicians of the Verbier Festival Academy and Orchestras.

Saturday 5 August: Florian Favre feat. Fred Heisler «Neo.magnet»
explosive jazz
Farm Club

Florian Favre (piano, fender rhodes, synths) and Frederik Heisler (percussion) deconstruct pop music to deliver highly-flammable mixture sounds. Jazz with a side of electromagnetic energy, propelled by two astonishing musicians.

Sunday 6 August: AFTER HOURS
Lost Heritage Live organique, techno-créatif
Étoile Rouge, 13h

With Lost Heritage, François Vasseur and Pierre Chataignon offer a live performance featuring keyboards and machines. As producers and performers, they create a rich and powerful aesthetic by connecting Detroit techno-scene influences with classical music. Inspired by Carl Craig, Steve Reich, Henrik Schwarz, and Jeff Mills’ ‘futurist statement’ the duo bring a unique and intense artistic vision to techno.

Verbier Festival Orchestra musicians collaborate in late night chamber music concerts.

Verbier Festival
FestOff_LouisMatute

Ressentez « le buzz en altitude » avec de la musique qui repousse les limites de la programmation du Verbier Festival en plongeant dans le monde du jazz, des musiques du monde et de la musique électronique. Les concerts prennent place dans l’atmosphère décontractée des bars et clubs locaux.

Programme fest’off

Les Gondoliers de Verbier

Samedi 22 juillet:
De 9h30 à 12h
Le Châble – Verbier – Ruinettes
Gratuit à l’achat d’un ticket de transport des remontées

Bienvenue dans les plus petites salles de concert au monde ! Au coeur du panorama époustoufflant des montagnes de Verbier, soyez les spectateurs privilégiés de rencontres musicales uniques et éphémères.

En Terrasse

Du samedi 22 juillet au dimanche 6 août:
De 14h à 14h45
Des improvisations de l’Academy aux brass bands valaisans, ces performances en plein air sont le dessert idéal à la suite de votre repas de midi. Découvrez les autres facettes des musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy, du Verbier Festival Orchestra et du Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra, rivalisant d’inventivité, pour un vrai mélange des genres. Les concerts En terrasse mettent aussi en lumière les artistes du canton du Valais et ses alentours.

Place Blanche

Samedi 22 juillet:
Musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy/des Orchestras
Restaurant Scalco

Dimanche 23 juillet:
Woodwind quintet (musiciens du VFO)
Chez Martin

Fanfaribole

Lundi 24 juillet:
Ebonit Saxophone Quartet (ensemble de la Verbier Festival Academy)
En Altitude: La Marmotte

Mardi 25 juillet:
Sugar Swing
Place Blanche

Mercredi 26 juillet:
Musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy et des Orchestras
Vinabagnes

Jeudi 27 juillet:
Musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy et des Orchestras
Restaurant Scalco

Vendredi 28 juillet:
Gilgul
En Altitude: Chez Dany

Samedi 29 juillet:
Brass Band Jeunesses Saint Cecilia
Jardin, Hôtel de la Poste

Dimanche 30 juillet:
Yolanda Almodovar Quintet
Chalet d’Adrien

Lundi 31 juillet:
Louis Matute Quartet
Place Centrale

Mardi 1er août:
Pedja Muzijevic, piano
Haydn Dialogues
Hors Terrasse: Farm Club

Mercredi 2 août:
Musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy (Étudiants de la Neva Foundation)
Place Blanche
Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra
En Altitude : La Chaux

Jeudi 3 août:
Opera Sing-a-Long
Chez Martin
Rejoignez le chœur! Les membres du public sont invités à participer à
une répétition pour un «opera sing-a-long» le 2 août au Chalet Orny de
16h30 à 18h30.

Vendredi 4 août:
Musica Latina: Sylvain Rohner & amis
Vinabagnes

Samedi 5 août:
Zorá String Quartet (ensemble de la Verbier Festival Academy)
En altitude: Chalet d’Adrien

Zorá String Quartet

Dimanche 6 août:
Musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy/des Orchestras
Restaurant Scalco

ALT Concerts

Ouverture des portes: 21h30
Concerts: 22h

Vendredi 21 juillet: Swing Maniak jazz manouche
W Living Room (W Verbier)

Créé par deux guitaristes passionnés: Greg Pittet et Nicolas Fardel, le collectif «Swing Maniak» rend hommage au jazz manouche. Ce style a été inventé par Django Reinhardt qui a su mélanger la musique tzigane et le jazz des années 30. Accompagné à la contrebasse par Sam Pont, ce collectif compte plus de 300 concerts à son actif avec notamment un passage au Cully Jazz et une tournée au Népal.

Samedi 22 juilletBaiju Bhatt & Red Sun jazz-world
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

Pour son dernier projet, le violoniste indo-suisse Baiju Bhatt s’est entouré d’une section rythmique explosive, avec pour résultat un quintet sur des charbons ardents, explorant les chemins de traverse qui relient le jazz, le rock et la musique du monde, à travers des compositions originales. Une forte puissance expressive, décuplée par la sensibilité complice et l’humour des musiciens du groupe.

Dimanche 23 juillet: Erkalium electro-jazz
Crock No Name

Erkalium est un trio de jeunes musiciens qui élabore des harmonies épurées, imprégnées d’influences électroniques, techno, jazz. Cet alliage réveille une sensibilité endormie à la texture étrange qui effleure une rythmique froide et dense sur laquelle se tissent des notes de piano limpides et hypnotiques, aux nappes envoûtantes. Un étonnant style minimaliste et poétique.

Jeudi 27 juillet: Victoria Harmandjieva : Autour du nouveau monde piano-dégustation
Farm Club

Avec son concept de concert – dégustation de vins «Autour du Nouveau Monde», la pianiste Victoria Harmandjieva invite le public à partager un moment de «douce ivresse de la vie», un épilogue gustatif à ses recherches sur l’amertume comme goût et comme sentiment à travers les œuvres de compositeurs remarquables d’Amérique du Nord et du Sud.

Vendredi 28 juillet: Gilgul Balkan-Klezmer jazz
Crock No Name

Nomades dans l’âme, les cinq musiciens de Gilgul jouent avec les différentes traditions musicales dont ils sont issus, tout en restant fidèles à leur esprit d’origine: musiques des  balkans, klezmer, musiques tziganes, etc.

Samedi 29 juillet: Yolanda Almodovar Quintet flamenco, jazz et musique cubaine
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

Yolanda Almodovar a partagé son «cante» de flamenco intense et passionné dans toute l’Europe depuis plus de 20 ans. Rejoint par un trio de musiciens et la danseuse Lucie Fernandez, le quintette entremêle le flamenco avec du jazz et de la musique cubaine.

Dimanche 30 juillet: Kaan Bulak & Julien Quentin electro classique
Farm Club

Le pianiste aux multiples talents Julien Quentin et le compositeur Kann Bulak dévoilent en primeur à Verbier un projet musical revenant aux bases de toute musique. Imaginer une fusion de musique de concert et de sons underground électroniques vous permettra de saisir l’approche de ces deux artistes. Cette soirée aux cadences multiples mêlera des interprétations acoustiques d’éléments de composition classique à des improvisations électroniques.

Lundi 31 juillet: Louis Matute Quartet swing jazz
Crock No Name

Célébrez la Fête nationale avec ce quatuor de musiciens suisses qui «swing». Mené par le guitariste Louis Matute, le Quartet présente une musique fraîche et diversifiée, puisant son inspiration autant dans le jazz que dans les musiques actuelles. Avec Yohan Jacquier au saxophone ténor, Noé Franklé à la batterie et Virgile Rosselet à la contrebasse, le groupe a lié au fil du temps une forte amitié qui se ressent puissamment dans l’énergie de leur musique.

Mardi 1er août: Philippe Quint & Friends: Noche de Tango
Le Farinet Après Ski Bar

Au cours de cette soirée de Nuevo Tango, le violoniste Philippe Quint, nominé plusieurs fois aux Grammy, interprète la musique d’Astor Piazzolla et sera accompagné par une sélection épicée de cordes de la Verbier Festival Academy et Orchestra.

Vendredi 4 août: SUPER-JAM! en partenariat avec Verbier Culturefest
Crock No Name

Improvisations dirigées par The Swinging Ladies et les musiciens de la Verbier Festival Academy et des Verbier Festival Orchestras.

Samedi 5 août: Florian Favre feat. Fred Heisler «Neo.magnet»
jazz explosif
Farm Club

Florian Favre (piano, fender rhodes, synthés) et Frederik Heisler (batterie) déconstruisent le répertoire de la pop music, et livrent une mixture sonore terriblement inflammable. Un jazz bourré d’énergie électromagnétique, propulsé par deux jazzmen sidérants.

Dimanche 6 août: AFTER HOURS
Lost Heritage Live organique, techno-créatif
Étoile Rouge, 01h (nuit du 6 au 7 août)

Composé de François Vasseur et Pierre Chataignon, Lost Heritage propose une performance live aux claviers et machines. En tant que producteurs et performers, ils créent des liens entre la techno de Detroit et la musique classique, dans une esthétique riche et puissante. Inspiré par Carl Craig, Steve Reich, Henrik Schwarz, et le «futurist statement» de Jeff Mills, Lost Heritage apporte une vision artistique singulière et intense de la techno.

Les musiciens du Verbier Festival Orchestra réunis en formations de musique de chambre pour des concerts à 23h.