Martin T:son Engstroem

verbier festival
Biography

Martin T:son Engstroem was born in Stockholm in 1953 where he received his schooling and a degree in Music History from the University of Stockholm. His father was the sculptor Torolf Engström and mother Inge Rosenfeld-Engström.

He began early his career as organizer of concerts by creating his own series of Sunday afternoon concerts for young Swedish musicians at the National Museum in Stockholm. This series became the leading window for young Swedish talent through the 1970s. Still a teenager he also arranged major concerts in Stockholm for Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Antal Dorati and Staffan Scheja.

1972-1973 he worked for one year at the Foreign Division of Ibbs & Tillett artists’ management in London mainly dealing with British artists performing abroad. Here he worked a.o. with John Ogdon, Shura Cherkassky and many UK orchestras.

In 1975, Engstroem moved to Paris to become partner in the artists management company ‘Opéra et Concert’. During the 12 years with the agency, he worked intimately with many major artists such as Karl Böhm, Birgit Nilsson, Jessye Norman, Lucia Popp, Renato Bruson and Leonard Bernstein. His prime interest was to develop new talent and many of the young musicians he represented went on to major careers such as Barbara Hendricks, Neil Shicoff, Han-Na Chang and Giuseppe Sinopoli.

During many years he enjoyed a close collaboration with Herbert von Karajan.

After having moved to Switzerland in 1987 with his wife, soprano Barbara Hendricks and their two children, he worked for a period of time as consultant to EMI France, the Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele and the Paris Opera (co-organizer of the opening of l’Opéra de Paris / Bastille in 1992 with Leonard Bernstein, Michael Tilson Thomas and Robert Wilson). Engstroem was instrumental in the choice of Myung-Whun Chung as Artistic Director of l’Opéra de Bastille.

In 1991 he started to put together what in 1994 became the Verbier Festival & Academy for which he remains the artistic and executive head as Founder & Director. The Verbier Festival has over the years developed into one of the most innovative performing arts communities in Europe. In 2000, Engstroem, together with the Swiss bank UBS developed what became one of the most attractive training orchestras in the world, the UBS Verbier Festival Orchestra, with James Levine as its Music Director. Charles Dutoit followed as Music Director in 2009 and Valery Gergiev, the present Music Director of the Verbier Festival Orchestra started in 2018.

2005 saw the beginning of the UBS Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra which immediately enjoyed a close association with Maxim Vengerov through major tours and a highly successful EMI recording of Mozart Violin Concertos. In 2008 Gabór Takács-Nagy was named Music Director of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra.

Between 1999 and 2003, Engstroem was Vice President of Artists & Repertoire of Deutsche Grammophon (and between 2003 and 2005, Senior Executive Producer & Artists Development). He was directly responsible for the recording projects of many major artists such as Anne-Sophie Mutter, Pierre Boulez, Claudio Abbado and Maurizio Pollini to name but a few. Among the new artists he signed to DG were Anna Netrebko, Lang Lang, Yundi Li, Hélène Grimaud, Ilya Gringolts, Hilary Hahn and Esa-Pekka Salonen.

He has been a jury member of numerous competitions: in 2005 at the 50th anniversary of the Paganini Competition in Genoa, in 2006 he was invited by Galina Vishnewskaja to be on the jury of her first vocal competition in Moscow. In 2009 Thomas Quasthoff invited him to Berlin as a jury member for the ‘Das Lied’ Competition. In 2009, 2011, 2013 (the last two years he was the President of the Jury) he was a member of the Clara Haskil Competition, and in 2010 member of the jury for the Geneva Competition (voice). In 2014 he was a member of the Rubinstein Competition in Tel Aviv. Engstroem has had a long-term relationship with the Tchaikovsky Competition; in 2011 he was a member of the violin jury and in 2015 he was a member of the piano jury; in 2019 he chaired the violin jury.

In June 2011, The Nobel Foundation in Lindau induced Martin T:son Engstroem and Bill Gates to their Honorary Senate. The Foundation thereby recognized “their sustained personal commitment to supporting and encouraging young talents by opening the door to future opportunities.”

From 2013 to 2016 he was a Member of the Board of the Béjart Ballet Lausanne and of the Board of Governors of the Glion Institute of Higher Studies. From 2014 to 2017 he was also a Board member of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Geneva.

In April 2015, Engstroem received the Dmitri Shostakovich Prize at a ceremony held at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, in Moscow. Awarded by the Yuri Bashmet Foundation, the recognition is considered to be one of the most prestigious prizes in the field of Russian art. He is the first laureate of the Dmitri Shostakovich Prize who is not a musician.

Engstroem has also worked as Global Advisor on Artistic Planning for IMG Artists and as consultant for Rolex in developing artistic projects in China and India.

Since 2016 he has been a Board Member of the Macao Festival and, in 2018, became Artistic Director both of the Tsinandali Festival in Georgia and of the Riga Jurmala Festival in Latvia.

Engstroem now lives on the shores of Lac Leman in Switzerland with his second wife Blythe Teh-Engstroem and their two daughters.


Streaming
22 December 2020 Virtual Festival Exclusive
Concerts
Season's Greetings / Engstroem, Fujita
19 July 2020 RTS INFO: Feature
Snapshots
Le festival de Verbier, qui sera virtuel cette année
09 June 2020 Virtual Verbier Festival Launch
Ideas
Martin Engstroem speaks with Julian Sykes
09 June 2020 Virtual Verbier Festival Launch
Ideas
Martin Engstroem speaks with Charlotte Gardner

Martin T:son Engstroem

verbier festival

Biographie

Fils du sculpteur Torolf Engstroem et d’Inge Rosenfeld-Engstroem, Martin T:son Engstroem est né à Stockholm en 1953 où il a suivi ses études et reçu un diplôme en histoire de la musique de l’Université de Stockholm.

Très tôt, il débute sa carrière d’organisateur de concerts en créant sa propre série de concerts du dimanche après-midi au Nationalmuseum de Stockholm pour les jeunes musiciens suédois. Cette série devient alors dans les années -70 la principale vitrine pour les jeunes talents suédois. Encore adolescent à cette époque, il organise en parallèle de grands concerts à Stockholm pour Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Antal Dorati et Staffan Scheja.

Entre 1972 et 1973, il travaille  à la division étrangère de l’agence d’artistes Ibbs & Tillett à Londres, s’occupant principalement des artistes britanniques se produisant à l’étranger. Il y travaille entre autres avec John Ogdon, Shura Cherkassky et de nombreux orchestres britanniques.

En 1975, Martin Engstroem s’installe à Paris et s’associe à la société de gestion d’artistes Opéra et Concert. Pendant les douze années qu’il passe au sein de cette agence, il travaille avec de nombreux artistes de premier plan tels que Karl Böhm, Birgit Nilsson, Jessye Norman, Lucia Popp, Renato Bruson et Leonard Bernstein. Intéressé principalement par le développement de nouveaux talents, il représente les jeunes étoiles montantes de l’époque comme Barbara Hendricks, Neil Shicoff, Han-Na Chang et Giuseppe Sinopoli, qui poursuivront tous de grandes carrières par la suite.

Pendant de nombreuses années, il travaille en étroite collaboration avec Herbert von Karajan.

Après s’être installé en Suisse en 1987 avec son épouse, la soprano Barbara Hendricks et leurs deux enfants, il est consultant pour EMI France, le Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele et l’Opéra de Paris (co-organisateur de l’ouverture de l’Opéra de Paris / Bastille en 1992 avec Leonard Bernstein, Michael Tilson Thomas et Robert Wilson). Martin Engstroem contribue à la nomination de Myung-Whun Chung au poste de Directeur artistique de l’Opéra Bastille.

En 1991, il commence à mettre sur pied ce qui deviendra en 1994 le Verbier Festival & Academy, dont il reste le Directeur artistique et exécutif en qualité de Fondateur et Directeur. Le Verbier Festival se développe au fil des ans pour devenir l’une des communautés artistiques les plus innovantes d’Europe. L’année 2000 marque la création, en collaboration avec la banque suisse UBS, de l’un des orchestres de formation les plus recherchés au monde : l’UBS Verbier Festival Orchestra, avec James Levine comme Directeur musical. Charles Dutoit lui succède en 2009 suivi de Valery Gergiev qui reprend le poste dès 2018.

L’UBS Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra est inauguré en 2005 par une série de tournées avec Maxim Vengerov ponctuée d’un enregistrement EMI salué des concertos pour violon de Mozart. En 2008, Gabór Takács-Nagy est nommé Directeur musical du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra.

Entre 1999 et 2003, Martin Engstroem est vice-président de Artists & Repertoire chez Deutsche Grammophon (ainsi que producteur exécutif senior et développement des artistes entre 2003 et 2005). Il est entre autres directement responsable des projets d’enregistrement de nombreux et illustres artistes comme Anne-Sophie Mutter, Pierre Boulez, Claudio Abbado et Maurizio Pollini, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Parmi les nouveaux artistes qu’il a signés à la DG, citons Anna Netrebko, Lang Lang, Yundi Li, Hélène Grimaud, Ilya Gringolts, Hilary Hahn et Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Il est en outre régulièrement membre du jury de nombreux concours : en 2005, à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire du concours Paganini à Gênes, en 2006, il est invité par Galina Vishnewskaja à faire partie du jury de son premier concours vocal à Moscou. En 2009, Thomas Quasthoff l’invite à Berlin en tant que membre du jury du concours « Das Lied ». En 2009, 2011, 2013 (les deux dernières années, il est président du jury), il est membre du Concours Clara Haskil, et en 2010 membre du jury du Concours de Genève (voix). En 2014, il est membre du Concours Rubinstein à Tel-Aviv. Il a également un long passif avec le Concours Tchaïkovski ; en 2011, il est membre du jury de violon et celui du jury de piano en 2015 ; en 2019, il préside le jury pour le concours de violon.

En juin 2011, la Fondation Nobel de Lindau intronise Martin T:son Engstroem et Bill Gates dans son Sénat d’honneur. La Fondation reconnait ainsi « leur engagement personnel profond pour soutenir et encourager les jeunes talents en leur ouvrant la porte à de futures opportunités ».

De 2013 à 2016, il est membre du conseil d’administration du Béjart Ballet Lausanne et du conseil des gouverneurs de l’Institut des hautes études de Glion. De 2014 à 2017, il figure parmi les membres du conseil d’administration de l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande à Genève.

En avril 2015, Martin Engstroem reçoit le Prix Dmitri Chostakovitch lors d’une cérémonie qui se déroule au Musée d’État des beaux-arts Pouchkine, à Moscou. Décerné par la Fondation Yuri Bashmet, cette reconnaissance est considérée comme l’un des prix les plus prestigieux dans le domaine de l’art russe. Il est le premier lauréat non-musicien de ce prix.

Martin Engstroem a également travaillé en tant que conseiller global en planification artistique pour les artistes IMG et en tant que consultant pour Rolex dans le développement de projets artistiques en Chine et en Inde.

Depuis 2016, il est membre du Conseil d’administration du Festival de Macao et, en 2018, il devient Directeur artistique du Festival Tsinandali en Géorgie et du Festival de Riga Jurmala en Lettonie.

Martin Engstroem vit désormais sur les rives du lac Léman en Suisse avec sa seconde épouse, l’altiste Blythe Teh-Engstroem et leurs deux filles.

Streaming

22 décembre 2020 Exclusivité du Virtual Festival
Concerts
Martin Engstroem, Mao Fujita
Joyeuses fêtes / Engstroem, Fujita
19 juillet 2020 RTS INFO : Reportage
Snapshots
Çiğdem Tunçelli, Câline Yamakawa, Martin Engstroem
Le festival de Verbier, qui sera virtuel cette année
09 juin 2020 Lancement du Virtual Verbier Festival
Ideas
Martin Engstroem, Julian Sykes
Martin Engstroem en conversation avec Julian Sykes
09 juin 2020 Lancement du Virtual Verbier Festival
Ideas
Martin Engstroem, Charlotte Gardner
Martin Engstroem en conversation avec Charlotte Gardner