Brandon Jovanovich

tenor
Biography

In the 2018/19 season, Brandon Jovanovich sings the roles of Enée in Sir David McVicar’s new production of Les Troyens, Florestan in Fidelio, and the Prince in Rusalka at the Wiener Staatsoper. He will also sing Dick Johnson in Andreas Dresen’s new production of La Fanciulla del West at the Bayerische Staatsoper, and will make his role debut in the title role of Parsifal at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. He concludes the season as the Prince in Rusalka at San Francisco Opera.

In this current season, Brandon Jovanovich sang the title role of Lohengrin at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Siegmund in David Pountney’s new production of Die Walküre at the Lyric Opera of Chicago, and Don José in Carmen at Los Angeles Opera. He made his role debut as Dick Johnson in La Fanciulla del West at the Opernhaus Zürich, Sergei in Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk in his debut at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden debut, and both Froh and Siegmund in The Ring Cycle with San Francisco Opera. Closing out the 2017/18 season Jovanovich will sing Hermann in Pique Dame at the Salzburger Festspiele under the baton of Mariss Jansons.

Mr. Jovanovich opened the 2014/15 season at San Francisco Opera as Sam in Carlisle Floyd’s Susannah in a new production by Michael Cavanagh, followed by his return to the Metropolitan Opera as Sergei in Shostakovich’s Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk under the baton of James Conlon. Other operatic highlights of Mr. Jovanovich’s season included Walter in Lyric Opera of Chicago’s highly-anticipated production of Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s The Passenger and a reprise of his acclaimed Florestan in Beethoven’s Fidelio at Opernhaus Zürich under the baton of Fabio Luisi. Orchestral engagements included Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and San Francisco Symphony, both under the baton of Michael Tilson Thomas, and in his Vienna debut performing Janacek’s Glagolitic Mass with the Czech Philarmonic Orchestra. Additionally he appear in concert performances of Fidelio with Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony and made his New York Philharmonic debut in Verdi’s Requiem under the baton of Alan Gilbert.

Additional highlights of Mr. Jovanovich’s other recent seasons include the Prince in Sir David McVicar’s new production of Rusalka at Lyric Opera of Chicago; Don José in Carmen at LA Opera conducted by Plácido Domingo, The Dallas Opera conducted by Emmanuel Villaume, Opernhaus Zürich conducted by Vasily Petrenko, and in a new production at Houston Grand Opera; the title role of Lohengrin at San Francisco Opera conducted by Nicola Luisotti; Florestan in a new production of Fidelio by Andreas Homoki at Opernhaus Zürich, conducted by Fabio Luisi, and at the Verbier Festival under the baton of Marc Minkowski; Pinkerton in Madama Butterfly at LA Opera; the Chevalier des Grieux in Manon Lescaut at La Monnaie in Brussels; and Sergei in a new production of Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk with Opernhaus Zürich.

Recent concert work includes appearances with the Gürzenich-Orchester Köln under the baton of Markus Stenz, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Lyric Opera of Chicago’s Millennium Park series, and the title role in a concert production of Lohengrin at Festival International de Lanaudière conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Mr. Jovanovich made role debuts in Wagner’s Der Ring des Nibelungen as Froh (Rheingold) and Siegmund (Die Walküre) with the San Francisco Opera in 2011 in the highly acclaimed production by Francesca Zambello, under the baton of Donald Runnicles, and his U.K. debut at the Glyndebourne Festival as Don José in David McVicar’s production of Carmen, conducted by Stéphane Denève. He later returned to Glyndebourne to sing the Prince in Dvořák’s Rusalka which was released as a live recording on Glyndebourne’s independent label.

A native of Billings, MT, Brandon Jovanovich received his training at Northern Arizona University and Manhattan School of Music. He was the recipient of the 2007 Richard Tucker Award and was twice a New York City district winner in the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions. He was a founding member of the Seattle Young Artists program and was a member of the Santa Fe Opera Apprentice program, where he was given the Anna Case Mackay award Award. He won the Crawley Award from the Young Patronesses of the Opera/Florida Grand Opera Voice Competition and in 2004 he was given the prestigious ARIA Award.

source : https://brandonjovanovich.com/


Programme
20 July 2021 18:00
Opera Concert
PUCCINI / LA FANCIULLA DEL WEST

BRANDON JOVANOVICH

Ténor

Biographie

Au cours de la saison 2018/19, Brandon Jovanovich chante les rôles d’Enée dans la nouvelle production de Sir David McVicar des Troyens, de Florestan dans Fidelio et du Prince dans Rusalka au Wiener Staatsoper. Il chantera également Dick Johnson dans la nouvelle production de La Fanciulla del West d’Andreas Dresen au Bayerische Staatsoper, et fera ses débuts dans le rôle titre de Parsifal au Deutsche Oper Berlin. Il termine la saison dans le rôle du Prince dans Rusalka à l’Opéra de San Francisco.

Cette saison, Brandon Jovanovich a chanté le rôle titre de Lohengrin au Deutsche Oper Berlin, Siegmund dans la nouvelle production de Die Walküre de David Pountney au Lyric Opera of Chicago, et Don José dans Carmen au Los Angeles Opera. Il a fait ses débuts dans le rôle de Dick Johnson dans La Fanciulla del West à l’Opernhaus de Zürich, de Sergei dans Lady Macbeth de Mtsensk à ses débuts au Royal Opera House, de Covent Garden, et de Froh et Siegmund dans The Ring Cycle avec le San Francisco Opera. En clôture de la saison 2017/18, Jovanovich chantera Hermann dans Pique Dame au Salzburger Festspiele sous la direction de Mariss Jansons.

M. Jovanovich a ouvert la saison 2014/15 au San Francisco Opera dans le rôle de Sam dans Susannah de Carlisle Floyd dans une nouvelle production de Michael Cavanagh, suivi de son retour au Metropolitan Opera dans le rôle de Sergei dans Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk de Chostakovitch sous la baguette de James Conlon. Parmi les autres temps forts de la saison de M. Jovanovich, citons Walter dans la très attendue production du Lyric Opera of Chicago de The Passenger de Mieczyslaw Weinberg et une reprise de son célèbre Florestan dans Fidelio de Beethoven à l’Opernhaus de Zurich sous la direction de Fabio Luisi. Parmi ses engagements orchestraux, on peut citer la Missa Solemnis de Beethoven avec le Los Angeles Philharmonic et le San Francisco Symphony, tous deux sous la direction de Michael Tilson Thomas, ainsi que ses débuts à Vienne dans la Messe glagolitique de Janacek avec l’Orchestre philharmonique tchèque. Il a également participé à des concerts de Fidelio avec Michael Tilson Thomas et l’Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco, et a fait ses débuts à la Philharmonie de New York dans le Requiem de Verdi sous la direction d’Alan Gilbert.

D’autres moments forts de M. Jovanovich a également joué le Prince dans la nouvelle production de Rusalka de Sir David McVicar au Lyric Opera of Chicago, Don José dans Carmen au LA Opera sous la direction de Plácido Domingo, The Dallas Opera sous la direction d’Emmanuel Villaume, Opernhaus Zürich sous la direction de Vasily Petrenko, et dans une nouvelle production au Houston Grand Opera, le rôle titre de Lohengrin au San Francisco Opera sous la direction de Nicola Luisotti ; Florestan dans une nouvelle production de Fidelio d’Andreas Homoki à l’Opernhaus Zürich, sous la direction de Fabio Luisi, et au Festival de Verbier sous la direction de Marc Minkowski ; Pinkerton dans Madama Butterfly à l’Opéra de Los Angeles ; le Chevalier des Grieux dans Manon Lescaut à la Monnaie de Bruxelles ; et Sergei dans une nouvelle production de Lady Macbeth de Mtsensk à l’Opernhaus Zürich.

Parmi ses récents concerts, on peut citer des apparitions avec le Gürzenich-Orchester Köln sous la direction de Markus Stenz, l’Orchestre symphonique de Baltimore, la série Millennium Park du Lyric Opera of Chicago, et le rôle titre dans une production de concert de Lohengrin au Festival international de Lanaudière sous la direction de Yannick Nézet-Séguin. M. Jovanovich a fait ses débuts dans le rôle de Froh (Rheingold) et Siegmund (Die Walküre) dans Der Ring des Nibelungen de Wagner avec l’Opéra de San Francisco en 2011 dans la très acclamée production de Francesca Zambello, sous la direction de Donald Runnicles, et ses débuts au Royaume-Uni au Festival de Glyndebourne dans le rôle de Don José dans la production de Carmen de David McVicar, sous la direction de Stéphane Denève. Il est ensuite revenu à Glyndebourne pour chanter le Prince dans Rusalka de Dvořák, qui a été enregistré en direct sur le label indépendant de Glyndebourne.

Originaire de Billings, MT, Brandon Jovanovich a reçu sa formation à la Northern Arizona University et à la Manhattan School of Music. Il a reçu le prix Richard Tucker 2007 et a été deux fois lauréat du district de New York lors des auditions du Conseil national du Metropolitan Opera. Il a été membre fondateur du programme des jeunes artistes de Seattle et a été membre du programme d’apprentissage de l’opéra de Santa Fe, où il a reçu le prix Anna Case Mackay. Il a remporté le prix Crawley du concours de voix des jeunes patrons de l’Opéra/Floride Grand Opera et en 2004, il a reçu le prestigieux prix ARIA.

source : https://brandonjovanovich.com/

Programme

01 août 2020 20:00
Espace 2
Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, Marc Minkowski, Ingela Brimberg, Brandon Jovanovich, Evgeny Nikitin, Robert Gleadow, Sylvia Schwartz, Bernard Richter, Charles Dekeyser, MASTERVOICES
Journée XVII : Espace 2 / RTSCulture - BEETHOVEN / Fidelio - REPLAY
ESPACE 2 AUDIO GRATUIT