Nicolas Namoradze

piano
Biography

Pianist and composer Nicolas Namoradze came to international attention in 2018 upon winning the triennial Honens International Piano Competition in Calgary, Canada—among the largest prizes in classical music. His recitals around the globe have been met with universal critical praise, and recent album releases have received extraordinary accolades, including the Choc de Classica, Record of the Month in Limelight, Instrumental Disc of the Month in BBC Music Magazine, Editor’s Choice in Gramophone, Editor’s Choice in Presto Classical and Critics’ Choice in International Piano.

His current activities include residencies at the Konzerthaus Dortmund, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra and Toronto Summer Music; recitals at concert halls including New York’s Carnegie Hall, London’s Wigmore Hall, Konzerthaus Berlin and the Tokyo Bunka Kaikan; festival appearances at Tanglewood, Banff, Gstaad, Santa Fe and more; and performances with orchestras including the London Philharmonic, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Sinfonieorchester Basel and the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, with conductors such as Iván Fischer, Karina Canellakis, Hans Graf, John Axelrod, Ken-David Masur, Finnegan Downie-Dear and Daniele Rustioni.

After completing his undergraduate in Budapest, Vienna and Florence, Namoradze moved to New York for his master’s at The Juilliard School and his doctorate at the CUNY Graduate Center. His teachers and mentors have included Emanuel Ax, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Zoltán Kocsis, Matti Raekallio, András Schiff and Eliso Virsaladze in piano, and John Corigliano in composition. He also holds a postgraduate degree in neuropsychology from the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience at King’s College, London, where his research interests included the effects of mental practice and mindfulness on musical performance. Namoradze is the author of the book “Ligeti’s Macroharmonies”, published by Springer in the Computational Music Science series, and his compositions are published by Muse Press.

After serving on the faculty of Queens College, where he taught chamber music, composition and music history, Nicolas Namoradze now teaches piano and chamber music on the faculty of the CUNY Graduate Center and The Juilliard School.


Programme
21 July 2024 14:30
bla bla
UNLOCKING THE MIND'S POTENTIAL
22 July 2024 14:30
masterclass
NAMORADZE / MASTERCLASS PIANO
23 July 2024 14:30
CONCERTS
NICOLAS NAMORADZE
28 July 2024 14:30
bla bla
HEALING THE BRAIN THROUGH MUSIC

Nicolas Namoradze

piano
Biographie

Le pianiste et compositeur Nicolas Namoradze a attiré l’attention internationale en 2018 en remportant le Honens International Piano Competition à Calgary, au Canada – l’un des plus grands prix de la musique classique. Ses récitals dans le monde entier ont été salués par la critique et ses récents albums ont reçu des accolades extraordinaires, notamment le Choc de Classica, le Disque du mois dans Limelight, le Disque instrumental du mois dans BBC Music Magazine, le Choix de la rédaction dans Gramophone, le Choix de la rédaction dans Presto Classical et le Choix de la critique dans International Piano.

Ses activités actuelles comprennent des résidences au Konzerthaus de Dortmund, à l’Orchestre symphonique d’Anvers et au Toronto Summer Music ; des récitals dans des salles de concert telles que le Carnegie Hall de New York, le Wigmore Hall de Londres, le Konzerthaus de Berlin et le Tokyo Bunka Kaikan ; des participations à des festivals à Tanglewood, Banff, Gstaad, Santa Fe et bien d’autres encore ; et des représentations avec des orchestres tels que le London Philharmonic, le Budapest Festival Orchestra, le Sinfonieorchester Basel et l’Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, sous la direction de chefs d’orchestre tels que Iván Fischer, Karina Canellakis, Hans Graf, John Axelrod, Ken-David Masur, Finnegan Downie-Dear et Daniele Rustioni.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle à Budapest, Vienne et Florence, Namoradze s’est installé à New York pour passer sa maîtrise à la Juilliard School et son doctorat au CUNY Graduate Center. Il a eu pour professeurs et mentors Emanuel Ax, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Zoltán Kocsis, Matti Raekallio, András Schiff et Eliso Virsaladze pour le piano, et John Corigliano pour la composition. Il est également titulaire d’un diplôme de troisième cycle en neuropsychologie de l’Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience du King’s College de Londres, où ses recherches ont notamment porté sur les effets de la pratique mentale et de la pleine conscience sur les performances musicales. Namoradze est l’auteur du livre « Ligeti’s Macroharmonies », publié par Springer dans la série Computational Music Science, et ses compositions sont publiées par Muse Press.

Après avoir enseigné la musique de chambre, la composition et l’histoire de la musique au Queens College, Nicolas Namoradze enseigne aujourd’hui le piano et la musique de chambre au CUNY Graduate Center et à la Juilliard School.


Programme
21 juillet 2024 14:30
bla bla
UNLOCKING THE MIND'S POTENTIAL
22 juillet 2024 14:30
masterclass
NAMORADZE / MASTERCLASS PIANO
23 juillet 2024 14:30
CONCERTS
NICOLAS NAMORADZE
28 juillet 2024 14:30
bla bla
HEALING THE BRAIN THROUGH MUSIC