fbpx

David Sakvarelidze

director
Biography

Georgian theatre and opera director, arts manager and composer, David Sakvarelidze is internationally recognised for his innovative productions and for transforming the cultural life of Georgia.

After graduating from the Tbilisi Theatrical University, Sakvarelidze studied with Giorgio Strehler and Luca Ronconi in Milan; Peter Brook at the Royal National Theatre Studio in London; at the Tisch School of the Arts in New York and with Jennifer Tipton at Yale University.

Emerging on the international opera and theatre scene after Georgia’s independence, Sakvarelidze became the predominant figure in Georgian theatre during this period. Quickly establishing a reputation for championing contemporary writing, he founded the Caucasian Theatre/Lab to develop new writers. Sakvarelidze is credited with the emergence of a distinctive new creative language in Georgian theatre that became identified with the generation emerging in the newly independent Georgia.

One of Georgia’s most influential newspapers, Tbilisi, wrote of Sakvarelidze at this time “Dear readers, the future of Georgian theatre has been found.” This attention led to further invitations to direct across Georgia resulting in such acclaimed productions as Goldoni’s Marriage by Contest for Georgian Youth Theatre; Hanoch Levin’s Mouth Open for the Rustaveli State Theatre which won two Union of Theatre Worker’s Awards for Best Director and Best Performance of the year and Lysistrata which won three of Georgia’s most important theatrical awards the Duruji’s.

Opera has always been central to Sakvarelidze’s career and he was the first person to bring early music to Georgia with his Euridice by Peri and Rinuccini. Productions of Mascagni’s Cavalleria Rusticana and numerous productions for the Georgian State Conservatoire followed.

During this period Sakvarelidze always composed, primarily for theatre productions, and through the popularity of these compositions he became a popular figure across Georgia.

His work in Georgia attracted international attention with the Times of London anointing him “At 28…already the godfather of an emerging generation of artists.” Such attention led to invitations to work at English National Opera in London; at the New York Theatre Workshop, where he directed Pinkowski’s Mint Juleps as part of his residency, and at Milan’s Piccolo Teatro Di Milano.

While in Milan he wrote a thesis on the future of theatre and opera in Georgia and the need to implement new working methods that would banish the old Soviet style of management and training. His advocating that only by adopting such contemporary practices could culture be improved in Georgia was sent by the Italian Ambassador in Georgia to members of the Georgian government who enthusiastically endorsed his proposals and appointed him general director of Tbilisi State Opera and Ballet Theatre. Productions of great operas such as La Traviata, Rigoletto and Tosca were mixed with productions of lesser known works such as Mozart’s Mitridate Re di Ponto and Verdi’s Attila.

Big scale public productions have included directing galas for Plácido Domingo, 60th birthday concert of Georgian opera star Paata Burchuladze in the Palace of Sports for 12,000 spectators and President George H. Bush’s visit to Tbilisi’s Freedom Square.

In 2017, Sakvarelidze founded the Tsinandali Festival that instantly became one of the world’s leading music festivals. In his role as general director he was instrumental in founding the Pan Caucasian Youth Orchestra that brings young musicians from across the Caucasian region together. Such work developing the talents of young musicians and actors from challenging places is also exemplified by his work as artistic director of the Sokhumi State Drama Theatre which consists of refugees.

Sakvarelidze is president of the Georgian National Center of the UNSECO International Theatre Institute. His awards include the Georgian Presidential Order of Excellence.


Programme
16 July 2022 18:00
Opera Concert
VFCO / MOZART/ DON GIOVANNI
25 July 2022 19:00
Opera Concert
VERDI / UN BALLO IN MASCHERA

fbpx

David Sakvarelidze

mise en scène
Biographie

Metteur en scène de théâtre et d’opéra, directeur artistique et compositeur géorgien, David Sakvarelidze est internationalement reconnu pour ses productions innovantes et pour avoir transformé la vie culturelle de la Géorgie.

Après avoir été diplômé de l’université théâtrale de Tbilissi, M. Sakvarelidze a étudié avec Giorgio Strehler et Luca Ronconi à Milan, avec Peter Brook au Royal National Theatre Studio de Londres, avec la Tisch School of the Arts de New York et avec Jennifer Tipton à l’université de Yale.

Apparu sur la scène internationale de l’opéra et du théâtre après l’indépendance de la Géorgie, Sakvarelidze est devenu la figure prédominante du théâtre géorgien durant cette période. Se faisant rapidement une réputation de défenseur de l’écriture contemporaine, il a fondé le Caucasian Theatre/Lab pour former de nouveaux auteurs. On attribue à Sakvarelidze l’émergence d’un nouveau langage créatif distinctif dans le théâtre géorgien, qui s’identifie à la génération qui émerge dans la Géorgie nouvellement indépendante.

L’un des journaux les plus influents de Géorgie, Tbilissi, a écrit à propos de Sakvarelidze à cette époque : « Chers lecteurs, l’avenir du théâtre géorgien a été trouvé. » Cette attention a conduit à d’autres invitations à mettre en scène à travers la Géorgie, ce qui a donné lieu à des productions acclamées telles que Mariage par concours de Goldoni pour le Georgian Youth Theatre, Bouche ouverte de Hanoch Levin pour le Rustaveli State Theatre, qui a remporté deux prix de l’Union of Theatre Worker’s pour le meilleur metteur en scène et la meilleure performance de l’année, et Lysistrata, qui a remporté trois des plus importants prix théâtraux de Géorgie, les Duruji.

L’opéra a toujours été au cœur de la carrière de Sakvarelidze et il a été le premier à faire connaître la musique ancienne en Géorgie avec son Euridice de Peri et Rinuccini. Des productions de Cavalleria Rusticana de Mascagni et de nombreuses productions pour le Conservatoire d’État géorgien ont suivi.

Pendant cette période, Sakvarelidze a toujours composé, principalement pour des productions théâtrales, et grâce à la popularité de ces compositions, il est devenu une figure populaire dans toute la Géorgie.

Son travail en Géorgie attire l’attention internationale, le Times de Londres le consacrant « A 28 ans… déjà le parrain d’une génération émergente d’artistes ». Cette attention lui vaut d’être invité à travailler à l’English National Opera de Londres, au New York Theatre Workshop, où il met en scène Mint Juleps de Pinkowski dans le cadre de sa résidence, et au Piccolo Teatro Di Milano de Milan.

Pendant son séjour à Milan, il a rédigé une thèse sur l’avenir du théâtre et de l’opéra en Géorgie et sur la nécessité de mettre en œuvre de nouvelles méthodes de travail qui banniraient l’ancien style soviétique de gestion et de formation. Son plaidoyer selon lequel seule l’adoption de telles pratiques contemporaines pourrait améliorer la culture en Géorgie est envoyé par l’ambassadeur italien en Géorgie aux membres du gouvernement géorgien qui approuvent avec enthousiasme ses propositions et le nomment directeur général du Théâtre d’Opéra et de Ballet d’État de Tbilissi. Des productions de grands opéras tels que La Traviata, Rigoletto et Tosca ont été mélangées à des productions d’œuvres moins connues telles que Mitridate Re di Ponto de Mozart et Attila de Verdi.

Parmi les productions publiques de grande envergure, citons la mise en scène de galas pour Plácido Domingo, le concert du 60e anniversaire de la star de l’opéra géorgien Paata Burchuladze au Palais des sports devant 12 000 spectateurs et la visite du président George H. Bush sur la place de la Liberté à Tbilissi.

En 2017, Sakvarelidze a fondé le festival Tsinandali qui est devenu instantanément l’un des principaux festivals de musique au monde. En tant que directeur général, il a contribué à la création de l’Orchestre pan-caucasien des jeunes qui réunit de jeunes musiciens de toute la région caucasienne. Son travail de développement des talents des jeunes musiciens et acteurs issus de milieux difficiles est également illustré par son travail de directeur artistique du théâtre dramatique d’État de Sokhumi, composé de réfugiés.

Sakvarelidze est président du Centre national géorgien de l’Institut international du théâtre de l’UNSECO. Il a notamment reçu l’Ordre présidentiel d’excellence de Géorgie.


Programme
16 juillet 2022 18:00
Opéra en concert
MOZART / DON GIOVANNI
25 juillet 2022 19:00
Opéra en concert
VERDI / UN BALLO IN MASCHERA