fbpx
Header image of page : café croissant
illuminate / talks

café croissant

the eighth: mahler and the world in 1910 (en)
With Mahler’s First Symphony on the Verbier Festival’s mainstage this evening, UNLTD takes the opportunity to discover Stephen Johnson’s recent book, ‘The Eighth: Mahler and the World in 1910’. Charlotte Gardner leads this conversation with Johnson, who the composer’s final symphony—a celebration of artistic and sexual creativity.

The world première of Mahler’s Eighth Symphony in Munich in the summer of 1910 was the artistic breakthrough for which the composer had yearned all his adult life, filling Munich’s huge Neue Musik-Festhalle on two successive evenings, to tumultuous applause. Stephen Johnson recounts its far-reaching effect on composers, conductors and writers of the time – Berg and Schoenberg and the teenage Korngold, Bruno Walter and Klemperer, and the writers Stefan Zweig and Thomas Mann (the character of Gustav von Aschenbach in Mann’s Death in Venice was partly based on the impression Mahler made on him in 1910). Placing Mahler within his world—in particular the German-speaking world—Johnson re-assesses Mahler’s thoughts in the context of the prevailing thought of his age, not only in relation to the artistic and intellectual movements of the time, but through consideration of political climate and historical background, and on into science, medicine, technology, mass entertainment, and even the development of modern PR. Throughout we are made aware that in that same tumultuous summer Mahler worked desperately on his Tenth Symphony, was betrayed by his wife, and consulted Sigmund Freud. It is a story like no other.

ABOUT CAFÉ CROISSANT

Start your day off right with this series of interviews with some of today’s biggest names in classical music led by music journalist Charlotte Gardner (en) and ‘Radio Guy’ Charles Sigel (fr).  Breakfast is, after all, the most important meal of the day!  Coffee and croissant is included in your ticket price.

fbpx
Header image of page : café croissant
illuminate / talks

café croissant

the eighth: mahler and the world in 1910 (en)
Avec la Première Symphonie de Mahler sur la scène principale du Festival de Verbier ce soir, l'UNLTD profite de l'occasion pour découvrir le récent livre de Stephen Johnson, "The Eighth : Mahler and the World in 1910'. Charlotte Gardner mène cette conversation avec Johnson, qui la dernière symphonie du compositeur - une célébration de la créativité artistique et sexuelle.

La première mondiale de la Huitième Symphonie de Mahler à Munich au cours de l’été 1910 a été la percée artistique à laquelle le compositeur avait aspiré toute sa vie d’adulte, remplissant l’immense Neue Musik-Festhalle de Munich deux soirs de suite, sous des applaudissements tumultueux. Stephen Johnson raconte l’effet considérable qu’elle a eu sur les compositeurs, les chefs d’orchestre et les écrivains de l’époque – Berg et Schoenberg et les adolescents Korngold, Bruno Walter et Klemperer, ainsi que les écrivains Stefan Zweig et Thomas Mann (le personnage de Gustav von Aschenbach dans Mort à Venise de Mann est en partie basé sur l’impression que Mahler lui a faite en 1910). En plaçant Mahler dans son monde – en particulier dans le monde germanophone – Johnson réévalue les pensées de Mahler dans le contexte de la pensée dominante de son époque, non seulement par rapport aux mouvements artistiques et intellectuels de l’époque, mais aussi en tenant compte du climat politique et du contexte historique, ainsi que de la science, de la médecine, de la technologie, du divertissement de masse et même du développement de la RP moderne. Tout au long de l’ouvrage, nous sommes conscients du fait qu’au cours de ce même été tumultueux, Mahler a travaillé désespérément sur sa dixième symphonie, a été trahi par sa femme et a consulté Sigmund Freud. C’est une histoire qui ne ressemble à aucune autre.

À PROPOS DE CAFÉ CROISSANT

Démarrez la journée avec un Café Croissant, notre série de d’interviews matinales qui invitent les grands noms de la musique classique à la table du petit déjeuner de nos journalistes Charlotte Gardner et Charles Sigel. Et bien sûr, servez-vous au buffet ! Le café et le croissant sont inclus dans le prix du billet.