VF Kids Classroom

Storytellers: Raconte-moi une histoire
vf kids
With the VF Kids Storytellers project, the Verbier Festival is shows yet another long-term commitment to arts education for children.

The Festival is driven by the conviction that access to culture from an early age is one of the keys to personal development, self-confidence and respect for others. With this in mind, Storytellers offers a series of artistic workshops and performances in schools.

 

with the generous support of

The Heineman Foundation
Fondation Vareille
Le Canton du Valais
Loterie Romande
Direction des écoles Martigny

 


 

1,000 Young Spectators from 53 classrooms

The Festival’s education team consists of an actor, an illustrator-animator and alumni musicians of the Verbier Festival Academy. They spend almost a month visiting 53 classes in the cantons of Valais, Vaud and Neuchâtel for workshops and performances. The children discover the story of The Three Little Pigs with a twist… it is set to Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. Developed in consultation with primary school teachers, Storytellers offers a full pedagogical experience, including artistic workshops in the classroom and via the Internet, followed by a series of performances.

 

Team

STORYTELLERS QUARTET
Anaïs Soucaille 
violin
Çigdem Tunçelli 
violin
Masha Kropotkina 
viola
Gabriel Esteban 
cello

René-Claude Emery storyteller, actor

Marc Philippin illustrator

Anne Sieber-Zeller project coordinator

A Three-Part Programme

Before arriving in the classroom, the Festival team provides teachers with a preparatory material. This includes a teaching guide to assist with how to approach the story, its links with the music, the instruments of the quartet and the composer of the musical work. Children discover Beethoven, whose 250th birthday we are celebrating in 2020. At the same time, children, teachers and parents can explore Ludwig’s World: an online interactive platform specially created for the project, where they can meet Beethoven and his music in a playful way.

The second part of the programme includes a total of 49 artistic workshops presented in the classroom to prepare children for live performances. A storyteller and the Festival’s project leader present history, music and musical instruments to the students. They also work with the kids to create original illustrations to be used during the performances.

In a third and final component, Verbier Festival Academy alumni musicians give 26 in-school performances, during which children discover how music, literature and visual art mix and interact. Their drawings are used by the animator to create a live animated film that accompanies the storyteller and the musicians.

The artistic team works in 53 classrooms the schools of Bagnes-Vollèges, Martigny, Aigle, and Neuchâtel. In total, more than 1,000 children from the 2 to 6H sections  attend and participate in the project. In spring 2021, the project will also be deployed in public libraries.

 


 

teaching guide

VF Kids à l'école

Storytellers : Raconte-moi une histoire
vf kids
Avec le projet VF Kids Storytellers, le Verbier Festival s’engage sur le long terme pour l’éducation artistique auprès des enfants.

Le Verbier Festival est animé par la conviction que l’accès à la culture, dès le plus jeune âge, est une des clés du développement individuel, de la confiance en soi et du respect des autres. Le projet Storytellers s’inscrit dans cette démarche, en offrant une série d’ateliers artistiques et de représentations au sein des écoles. Un projet participatif, innovant et pluridisciplinaire.

 

avec le généreux soutien de

The Heineman Foundation
Fondation Vareille
Le Canton du Valais
Loterie Romande
Direction des écoles Martigny


 

Une compagnie éphèmère, et mille petits spectateurs

L’équipe artistique de Storytellers 2020/21 est constituée d’un conteur, d’un illustrateur et d’un quatuor à cordes issu de la Verbier Festival Academy. Les artistes se rendent pendant près d’un mois dans 53 classes en Valais, Vaud et Neuchâtel. L’histoire des « Trois petits cochons » est racontée aux enfants, sur des extraits de la 5e symphonie de Beethoven. Pendant ce temps, l’illustrateur déroule un film d’animation incluant les dessins des enfants. Tout pour aiguiser notre curiosité !

 

Équipe

QUATUOR STORYTELLERS
Anaïs Soucaille 
violon
Çigdem Tunçelli 
violon
Masha Kropotkina 
alto
Gabriel Esteban 
violoncelle

René-Claude Emery conteur, comédien

Marc Philippin illustrateur

Anne Sieber-Zeller coordinatrice du projet, médiatrice culturelle

 

Un projet complet en trois volets

Avant leur intervention en classe, l’équipe du Festival fournit aux professeurs un matériel éducatif riche. Cela comprend un dossier pédagogique pour aborder le conte, ses liens avec la musique, les instruments du quatuor et le compositeur de l’œuvre musicale. Les enfants y découvrent Beethoven, dont nous célébrons cette année les 250 ans. En parallèle, les enfants, les professeurs et les parents peuvent explorer Le Monde de Ludwig : un musée interactif sur internet créé par spécialement pour le projet, pour rencontrer Beethoven et sa musique de façon ludique.

Le deuxième volet comprend au total 49 ateliers artistiques donnés en classe, pour bien préparer les enfants aux spectacles. Le conteur et la médiatrice culturelle y abordent l’histoire, la musique et les instruments. Ils réalisent aussi des illustrations qui seront utilisées ensuite pendant le spectacle.

Dans un troisième et dernier volet, les artistes donnent 26 représentations dans les écoles, et les enfants découvrent comment musique, littérature et art visuel se mélangent et interagissent. Leurs dessins sont utilisés par l’animateur pour créer, en direct, un film d’animation qui accompagne le conteur et les musiciens.

L’équipe artistique intervient dans 53 classes, dans les centres scolaires de Bagnes-Vollèges, Martigny, Aigle, et Neuchâtel. Au total, ce sont plus de 1000 enfants des sections 2H à 6H qui assisteront et participeront au projet. Au printemps 2021, le projet sera également déployé dans des bibliothèques publiques qui accueilleront le spectacle.


 

dossier pédagogique