Verbier Festival
379A046324
2847_gprokofiev_by_hljones-0140
quentin electro jazz (93 of 115)

VF Unlimited After Dark

Verbier buzzes late into night with performances that appeal to the musically-curious and transcend the boundaries of classical music and musical expectations.


The Lab


GABRIEL PROKOFIEV
Friday 20 July, 10:30 pm
Étoile Rouge
Gabriel Prokofiev is a composer, producer, DJ and founder of Nonclassicalrecord label & club night. Composing music that embraces and challenges Western classical traditions, Prokofiev emerged at the forefront of a new approach to classical music in the UK at the beginning of the this century. His Concerto for Turntables was presented at the BBC Proms in August 2011 and was critically acclaimed. Since then, it has been performed by the Seattle Symphony and Copenhagen Philharmonic.

CHF 15
BUY



QUENTIN + BULAK
Friday 27 July, 10:30 pm
Étoile Rouge
Their appearance at the 2017 Verbier Festival was the start of a series of inspiring and innovative concerts by award-winning, multi-faceted pianist Julien Quentin and boundary-pushing composer Kaan Bulak. Imagine a mix of concert hall and club-electro and you will begin to comprehend this unique sonic experience. Their 2018 appearance includes the world premiere of a new work for piano duo that combines both virtuosity and electronic beats.

CHF 15
BUY


CABARET CONTEMPORAIN
Sunday 29 July, 10:30 pm
Étoile Rouge
A tour de force of hypnotic sounds from the world of electro, Cabaret Contemporain performs on prepared acoustic instruments (guitar, drums, piano, two double bass) and brings the energy of dance music to the Verbier Festival after dark. The band has a reputation as a ‘giant rhythm box’ and derives inspiration from John Cage, Kraftwerk, Jeff Mills, Four Tet, and James Holden.

CHF 15
BUY


LOST HERITAGE
Sunday 5 August
Late Night (1 am, morning of 6 August)
With Lost Heritage, François Vasseur and Pierre Chataignon offer a live performance featuring keyboards and machines. As producers and performers, they create a rich and powerful aesthetic by connecting Detroit techno-scene influences with classical music. Inspired by Carl Craig, Steve Reich, Henrik Schwarz, and Jeff Mills‘ ‘futurist statement’ the duo bring a unique and intense artistic vision to techno.

GRATUIT


Secret Concerts

Secret Concerts are a Festival birthday gift to those seeking unforgettable, intimate concert experiences. The identity of each distinguished Festival artist and each concert venue is kept secret until the last minute—although sleuths will surely solve the mystery from a series of clues communicated pre-concert.


CONCERT 1
Friday 20 July, 10:30 pm
Available Seats : 50

CHF 25
BUY

CLUES:

  1. You could have him confused with an old city
  2. You might think he shares Beethoven’s barber



CONCERT 2
Tuesday 24 July, 10:30 pm
Available Seats : 50

CHF 25
BUY

CLUES:

  1. Shares a first name with the ‘Man in Black’
  2. He received a Grammy on the Silk Road



CONCERT 3
Thursday 26 July, 10:30 pm
Available Seats : 400

CHF 25
BUY

CLUES:

  1. Nothing ‘bad’ about this concert
  2. The Other Marlboro Man



CONCERT 4
Saturday 28 July, 10:30 pm
Available Seats : 80

CHF 25
BUY

CLUES:

  1. Can you tell me how to get toSesame Street?
  2. Lager, Bridge, Dodgers


Unscripted

Music is often best when it’s unscripted. Festival musicians and Festivaliers let loose during late-night karaoke and jam sessions.

KARAOKE LYRIQUE
Monday 23 July, 10:30 pm
Venue to be announced
An opera star walks into a karaoke bar … It may take some dutch courage, but La Dona Mobile may easily evolve into Bohemian Rhapsody as Festival singers take the stage for the first hour of this open-mic karaoke.

FREE

JAMS

Wednesday 25 July, 10:30 pm
Le Farinet Après Ski

Wednesday 1 August, 10:30 pm
Venue to be announced

Jam-nights at the Verbier Festival are epic. String quartet Brooklyn Rider hosts a special Festival 25th anniversary jam on 25 July.

FREE

Windows on the Orchestra


A window on the musicians of the Verbier Festival Orchestras in casual late-night small ensemble and chamber music performances.

21, 22, 23, 24, 30, 31 July
2, 3, 4 August
11 pm
Église de Verbier

FREE

Verbier Festival
379A046324
2847_gprokofiev_by_hljones-0140
quentin electro jazz (93 of 115)

VF Unlimited After Dark

Au delà des frontières esthétiques et des codes habituels du concert classique, les évènements After Dark sont des expériences hors normes à vivre dans les bars et clubs de Verbier…et d’autres lieux encore tenus secrets.


The Lab


GABRIEL PROKOFIEV
Vendredi 20 juillet, 22h30
Étoile Verbier
Gabriel Prokofiev est compositeur, producteur, DJ et fondateur de Nonclassical record label & club night. Créateur d’une musique qui embrasse et défie les traditions classiques occidentales, Prokofiev a émergé à l’avant-garde d’une nouvelle approche de la musique classique au Royaume-Uni au début de ce siècle. Son Concerto pour platines vinyles a été présenté aux BBC Proms en août 2011 et a été acclamé par la critique. Depuis lors, il a été interprété par l’Orchestre symphonique de Seattle et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Copenhague.

CHF 15
ACHETER



QUENTIN + BULAK
Vendredi 27 juillet, 22h30
Étoile Verbier
Leur participation au Verbier Festival 2017 a marqué le début d’une série de concerts inspirants et novateurs pour le pianiste Julien Quentin et le compositeur Kaan Bulak. Au croisement entre une salle de concert et un club-electro l’Étoile accueillera une expérience artistique unique et audacieuse dans le cadre de notre série The Lab.Leur concert en 2018 inclut la première mondiale d’une nouvelle œuvre pour piano en duo qui combine à la fois virtuosité et rythmes électroniques.

CHF 15
ACHETER


CABARET CONTEMPORAIN
Dimanche 29 juillet, 22h30
Étoile Verbier
Transposer la force, la variété et l’hypnose d’un live électro avec un groupe de cinq musiciens acoustiques, c’est l’expérience que mèneCabaret Contemporaindepuis quatre ans. Le groupe se produit sur des instruments acoustiques préparés (guitare, batterie, piano, deux contrebasses) et apporte l’énergie de la musique de danse au Verbier Festival après la tombée de la nuit. Réputé être une « boîte à rythmes géante », Cabaret Contemporain s’inspire de John Cage, Kraftwerk, Jeff Mills, Four Tet et James Holden.

CHF 15
ACHETER


LOST HERITAGE
Dimanche 5 août
Étoile Verbier
Late Night (1h, le matin du 6 août)
Composé de François Vasseur et Pierre Chataignon, Lost Heritage propose une performance live aux claviers et machines. En tant que producteurs et performers, ils créent des liens entre la techno de Detroit et la musique classique, dans une esthétique riche et puissante. Inspiré par Carl Craig, Steve Reich, Henrik Schwarz, et le « futurist statement » de Jeff Mills, Lost Heritage apporte une vision artistique singulière et intense de la techno.

GRATUIT


Secret Concerts

Les Secret Concerts sont un cadeau d’anniversaire du Festival à tous les amoureux d’expériences musicales hors normes. Intimes et inoubliables, les Secret Concerts vous feront vivre des rencontres étonnantes avec les plus grands artistes du Festival, dont l’identité et le lieu de concert sont tenus secrets jusqu’à la dernière minute. Révélez votre âme de détective, et résolvezle mystère à partir d’une série d’indices communiqués avant le concert.


CONCERT 1
Samedi 21 juillet,22h30
Places disponsibles : 50

CHF 25
ACHETER

INDICES:

  1. Vous pourriez le confondre avec une vieille ville
  2. Il est de mèche avec Beethoven



CONCERT 2
Mardi 24 juillet,22h30
Places disponsibles : 50

CHF 25
ACHETER

INDICES:

  1. Partage un prénom avec M. Hallyday
  2. Il a reçu un Grammy sur la route de la soie



CONCERT 3
Jeudi 26 juillet,22h30
Places disponsibles : 400

CHF 25
ACHETER

INDICES:

  1. Rien de mal à propos de ce concert
  2. L’autre Marlboro Man



CONCERT 4
Samedi 28 juillet,22h30
Places disponsibles : 80

CHF 25
ACHETER

INDICES:

  1. Pouvez-vous dire comment se rendre à Sesame Street ?
  2. Lager, Bridge, Dodgers


Unscripted

La musique est souvent meilleure lorsqu’elle n’est pas écrite. Les musiciens du Festival et les festivaliers se déchaînent pendant les séances de karaoké de fin de soirée et les jam sessions.

KARAOKE LYRIQUE
Lundi 23 juillet,22h30
Le lieu sera annoncé prochainement
Une vedette d’opéra entre dans un bar karaoké…. Il faut peut-être un peu de courage hollandais, mais La Dona Mobile peut facilement devenir Bohemian Rhapsody alors que les chanteurs du Festival montent sur scène pour la première heure de ce karaoké à micro ouvert.

GRATUIT

JAMS

Mercredi 25 juillet, 22h30
Le Farinet Après Ski

Mercredi 1 août, 22h30
Le lieu sera annoncé prochainement

Les soirées jam au Verbier Festival sont épiques. Le quatuor àcordes Brooklyn Rider organise un jam spécial 25e anniversaire du Festival le 25 juillet.

GRATUIT

Fenêtres sur orchestre


Une fenêtre sur les musiciens des Verbier Festival Orchestras dans des concerts de fin de soirée et de musique de chambre en fin de soirée.

21, 22, 23, 24, 30, 31 juillet
2, 3, 4 août
23h
Église de Verbier

GRATUIT