Kirill Gerstein

piano
Biography

From Bach to Adès, pianist Kirill Gerstein’s playing is distinguished by a ferocious technique and discerning intelligence, matched with an energetic, imaginative musical presence that places him at the top of the international profession, with solo and concerto engagements taking him from Europe to the United States, East Asia and Australia. Born in the former Soviet Union, Gerstein is an American citizen based in Berlin whose heritage combines the traditions of Russian, American and Central European music-making with an insatiable curiosity. These qualities and the relationships that he has developed with orchestras, conductors, instrumentalists, singers and composers, have led him to explore a huge spectrum of repertoire both new and old.

In the coming season, Gerstein will feature as a Spotlight Artist with the London Symphony Orchestra, performing four concerti across the season at the orchestra’s Barbican Centre home and on tour, including Adès with Antonio Pappano, Rachmaninov and Ravel with Susanna Mälkki, and Gershwin with Simon Rattle. Gerstein’s flair for curation recently also found expression as Artist-in-Residence with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, in presenting a three-part concert series entitled ‘Busoni and His World’ at London’s Wigmore Hall, and as resident artist at the Festival Aix-en-Provence.

Elsewhere during 2023-24 season, Gerstein will return to orchestras such as the Leipzig Gewandhaus with Nelsons, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Chamber Orchestra of Europe with Ticciati, Orchestre national de France with Măcelaru, Rotterdam Philharmonic with Shani, Boston Symphony and Los Angeles Philharmonic with Adès, Munich Philharmonic with Popelka, Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala with Harding, Orchestre national de Lyon with Szeps-Znaider, Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecila with Kavakos and with Hrůša, Tonhalle Orchester Zürich with Payare, Minnesota Orchestra with Søndergård, and the radio orchestras of Stuttgart, Hamburg, and Cologne, among others. In recital, Gerstein will reprise with Christian Tetzlaff Suite from The Tempest for violin and piano, which was written for them by Thomas Adès, for premières in New York, Washington, and Boston. Gerstein will also appear in solo recital at Carnegie Hall New York, Chamber Music Napa Valley, the Vienna Konzerthaus, and the Abu Dhabi Festival among others.


Programme
22 July 2024 11:00
lyric
MAGDALENA KOŽENÁ / KIRILL GERSTEIN
23 July 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
24 July 2024 19:30
chamber music
RENCONTRES INÉDITES IV
25 July 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
26 July 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
27 July 2024 11:00
recital piano
KIRILL GERSTEIN
28 July 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO

Kirill Gerstein

piano
Biographie

De Bach à Adès, le jeu du pianiste Kirill Gerstein se distingue par une technique féroce et une intelligence perspicace, associées à une présence musicale énergique et imaginative qui le place au sommet de la profession internationale. En tant que citoyen américain basé à Berlin, né dans l’ancienne Union soviétique, Gerstein allie les traditions de la musique russe, américaine et centre-européenne avec une curiosité insatiable. Ces qualités et les relations qu’il a développées avec des orchestres, des chefs d’orchestre, des instrumentistes, des chanteurs et des compositeurs l’ont amené à explorer un vaste éventail de répertoires, aussi bien anciens que nouveaux.

Au cours de la saison à venir, Gerstein sera l’artiste vedette du London Symphony Orchestra, interprétant quatre concertos tout au long de la saison au Barbican Centre de l’orchestre et en tournée, notamment Adès avec Antonio Pappano, Rachmaninov et Ravel avec Susanna Mälkki, et Gershwin avec Simon Rattle. Le talent de Gerstein pour la programmation s’est récemment exprimé en tant qu’artiste en résidence auprès de l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio bavaroise, présentant une série de trois concerts intitulée « Busoni and His World » au Wigmore Hall de Londres, ainsi qu’en tant qu’artiste résident au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence.

Par ailleurs, au cours de la saison 2023-24, Gerstein retrouvera des orchestres tels que le Gewandhaus de Leipzig avec Nelsons, le Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin et le Chamber Orchestra of Europe avec Ticciati, l’Orchestre national de France avec Măcelaru, le Rotterdam Philharmonic avec Shani, le Boston Symphony et le Los Angeles Philharmonic avec Adès, le Munich Philharmonic avec Popelka, l’Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala avec Harding, l’Orchestre national de Lyon avec Szeps-Znaider, l’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecila avec Kavakos et avec Hrůša, le Tonhalle Orchester Zürich avec Payare, le Minnesota Orchestra avec Søndergård, et les orchestres radiophoniques de Stuttgart, Hambourg et Cologne, entre autres. En récital, Gerstein reprendra avec Christian Tetzlaff la Suite de La Tempête pour violon et piano, écrite pour eux par Thomas Adès, pour des premières à New York, Washington et Boston. Gerstein apparaîtra également en récital solo au Carnegie Hall de New York, au Chamber Music Napa Valley, au Konzerthaus de Vienne et au Festival d’Abou Dhabi, entre autres.


Programme
22 juillet 2024 11:00
lyrique
MAGDALENA KOŽENÁ / KIRILL GERSTEIN
23 juillet 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
24 juillet 2024 19:30
musique de chambre
RENCONTRES INÉDITES IV
25 juillet 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
26 juillet 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO
27 juillet 2024 11:00
récital piano
KIRILL GERSTEIN
28 juillet 2024 09:30
masterclass
GERSTEIN / MASTERCLASS PIANO