fbpx

Conducting

Summer 2022
The Academy’s Conducting Programme offers a stepping stone to emerging conductors who are on the verge of leading orchestras at the highest level.

Conducting Fellows are mentored by and network with a who’s who from the world of classical music, including, notably, Verbier Festival Orchestra Music Director, Valery Gergiev and Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra Music Director, Gábor Takács-Nagy.

Four young conductors are accepted to the Academy’s Conducting Programme. They take part in section training led by 12 established musicians from New York’s Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, as well as tutti rehearsals led by Derrick Inouye, the Verbier Festival Orchestra’s (VFO) Assistant Conductor. They will, where possible, collaborate with Maestro Inouye as he prepares the VFO for its Festival performances. Throughout the Festival, students may perform assistant conductor duties for Valery Gergiev and other visiting conductors of the VFO and Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO) Music Director Gábor Takács-Nagy and other visiting VFCO conductors.

Other activities include: 

  • A collective meeting with Maestro Gergiev 
  • A mentorship meeting with Festival Founder & Director Martin T:son Engstroem 
  • A roundtable discussion with Gabór Takács-Nagy, VFCO Music Director 
  • Public performances of small ensemble works when possible 

This is a largely self-directed programme, and participants with flexibility, openness and personal-initiative will benefit the most from the many opportunities that are presented. Students are urged to attend and take part in as many activities as possible during their time at the Festival.



programme dates

7 July – 1 August 2022

includes arrival and departure dates

eligibility

Age & Nationality

Musicians of all nationalities between the ages of 25 to 35 on 1 July 2022


costs for successful candidates

The Verbier Festival will cover the cost of return travel from each musician’s place of residence to Verbier. Musicians who travel from or return to a location other than their place of residence—and who subsequently face an increased travel cost—are responsible to the pay the difference in fare.

The Verbier Festival will also cover tuition fees and provide lodging, lunches and dinners, plus a stipend for daily breakfast.

apply

Applications open: 20 October 2021
Deadline: 19 December 2021

Application Fee: USD 85

guidelines / apply now

covid-19 vaccination

Musicians who choose to take part in Verbier Festival Academy programmes do so voluntarily and are therefore obliged to accept and follow rules set out by the Fondation du Verbier Festival in order to make its programmes viable and compliant with local law.  In the interest of public safety, the Verbier Festival Academy requires all students to be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 for the duration of the programmes in which they take part. All students accepted to Academy programmes will also be obliged to be regularly tested as part of the Festival’s repetitive testing scheme. The Festival reserves the right to make changes to its Covid-19 protection plan as required.


valery gergiev

Music Director, VFO

Arguably the most distinguished conductor in the world, Valery Gergiev is a champion of discovering and nurturing new musical talent. He is a vivid representative of the St Petersburg conducting school and a former pupil of the legendary Professor Ilya Musin. In 1988 Maestro Gergiev was appointed Music Director of the Mariinsky Theatre, and in 1996 became its Artistic and General Director. Under his direction, the Mariinsky Theatre has become a major theatre and concert complex, without par anywhere in the world. Despite a schedule that would daunt even the busiest politician, Maestro Gergiev has been a regular visitor to the Verbier Festival and, in 2018, was appointed Music Director of the Verbier Festival Orchestra.

gábor takács-nagy

Music Director, VFCO

Hungarian conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy Gábor Takács-Nagy was appointed Music Director of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra in 2007. A founding member and principal violin (1975 to 1992) of the Takács Quartet, he performed with Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Isaac Stern, Mstislav Rostropovitch, András Schiff, Mikhail Pletnev, Joshua Bell and Gidon Kremer. He founded the Takács Piano Trio in 1996 and the Mikrokosmos Quartet in 1998 (Excellencia Prize for the complete cycle of Bartók’s quartets). Since 2002 he has devoted himself entirely to orchestral conducting, when he founded the Camerata Bellerive. In 2011, he was appointed Music Director of the Manchester Camerata and, in 2012, Principal Guest Conductor of the Budapest Festival Orchestra. Takács became Principal Artistic Partner of the Irish Chamber Orchestra in 2013. He coaches string quartets at the Haute Ecole de Musique, Geneva and is an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music (2012).


mentors 2022

Charles Dutoit conductor emeritus, vfo
Valery Gergiev
music director, vfo
Gianandrea Noseda
Gabór Takács-Nagy music director, vfco
Michael Tilson Thomas
Claudio Vandelli

repertoire highlights 2022

DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH
First, Fourth and Fifteenth Symphonies

GIUSEPPE VERDI
Un Ballo in Maschera

IGOR STRAVINSY
Le Sacre du printemps


coaches 2022

In preparation for work with the VFO’s distinguished conductors, Academy Conductors receive coaching from musicians of New York’s Metropolitan Opera. The list of coaches for 2022 will be listed here soon. In the meantime, the list of 2021 coaches follows:

Derrick Inouye conductor
Caterina Szepes violin
Nancy Wu violin
Désirée Elsevier viola
Dorothea Figueroa cello
Leigh Mesh double bass
Chelsea Knox flute

Nathan Hughes oboe
Jessica Phillips clarinet
William Short bassoon
Joseph Anderer horn
David Langlitz brass
Timur Martynov trumpet
Greg Zuber percussion

fbpx

Conducting

Été 2022
academy

Le Conducting Programme de la Verbier Festival Academy offre un tremplin aux chefs d’orchestre émergents qui seront bientôt à la tête des formations orchestrales les plus réputées.

Les chefs d’orchestre du programme sont encadrés par des personnalités du monde de la musique classique et travaillent en réseau avec elles, notamment Valery Gergiev, directeur musical du Verbier Festival Orchestra (VFO), et Gábor Takács-Nagy, directeur musical du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO).

Quatre jeunes chefs d’orchestre sont acceptés au Conducting Programme de l’Academy. Ils participent à la formation de chaque pupitre, épaulés par 12 musiciens établis du Metropolitan Opera Orchestra de New York, et prennent part aux répétitions de tutti dirigées par Derrick Inouye, l’assistant chef d’orchestre du VFO. Ils collaboreront, dans la mesure du possible, avec le Maestro Inouye qui prépare le VFO pour les concerts du Festival. Tout au long du Festival, les étudiants peuvent exercer des fonctions de chef d’orchestre adjoint pour Valery Gergiev et d’autres chefs invités du VFO et du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO).

D’autres activités comprennent :

  • Une rencontre collective avec le Maestro Gergiev
  • Une rencontre de mentorat avec Martin T:son Engstroem, Fondateur & Directeur du Festival
  • Table ronde avec Gabór Takács-Nagy, Directeur musical du VFCO
  • Représentations publiques d’œuvres pour petit ensemble lorsque c’est possible

Il s’agit d’un programme largement autogéré, et les participants qui font preuve de souplesse, d’ouverture et d’initiative personnelle profiteront au maximum des nombreuses possibilités qui s’offrent à eux. Les étudiants sont invités à assister et à participer à autant d’activités que possible pendant leur séjour au Festival.



dates du programme

7 juillet – 1 août 2022

incluent les dates d’arrivée et de départ

conditions d’admission

Âge et nationalité

Les musiciens de toutes nationalités âgés de 25 à 35 ans au 1er juillet 2022 peuvent déposer leur candidature.


coûts pour les candidats retenus

Le Verbier Festival prend en charge les frais de voyage aller-retour entre le lieu de résidence de chaque musicien et Verbier. Les musiciens qui partent ou reviennent d’un lieu autre que leur lieu de résidence – et qui doivent donc faire face à une augmentation des frais de voyage – doivent prendre eux-mêmes en charge la différence de prix.

Le Verbier Festival couvre également les frais de scolarité et fourni le logement, les déjeuners et dîners, ainsi qu’une allocation pour le petit-déjeuner quotidien.

postuler

Ouverture des candidatures : 20 octobre 2021
Date limite : 19 décembre 2021

Frais d’inscriptions : USD 85

directives / postuler

vaccination contre la covid-19

Les musiciens qui choisissent de participer aux programmes de la Verbier Festival Academy le font volontairement et sont donc tenus d’accepter et de suivre les règles établies par la Fondation du Verbier Festival afin de rendre ses programmes viables et conformes à la législation locale. Dans l’intérêt de la sécurité publique, la Verbier Festival Academy exige que tous les élèves soient entièrement vaccinés contre le Covid-19 pour la durée des programmes auxquels ils participent. Tous les étudiants acceptés dans les programmes de l’Academy seront également tenus de se soumettre à des tests réguliers. Tous les étudiants acceptés dans les programmes de l’Academy seront également tenus de se soumettre à des tests réguliers dans le cadre du programme de dépistage du Festival. Le Festival se réserve le droit d’apporter des modifications à son plan de protection Covid-19 en fonction des besoins.


valery gergiev

Directeur musical du VFO

Valery Gergiev, maître dans la découverte et l’épanouissement de nouveaux talents musicaux, est sans doute un des chefs d’orchestre les plus reconnus au monde. Il est un représentant actif de l’école de direction de Saint-Pétersbourg et un ancien élève du légendaire professeur Ilya Musin. En 1988, il est nommé Directeur musical du Théâtre Mariinsky et, en 1996, en devient le Directeur artistique et Directeur général. Sous la direction du maestro Gergiev, le Théâtre Mariinsky devient un grand complexe de théâtre et de concert, sans équivalent dans le monde. Malgré un emploi du temps surchargé, Valery Gergiev est un habitué du Verbier Festival. En 2018, il est nommé Directeur musical du Verbier Festival Orchestra.

gábor takács-nagy

Directeur musical du VFO

Le chef hongrois Gábor Takács-Nagy fut nommé directeur musical du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra en 2007. Membre fondateur et 1er violon (1975 à 1992) du Quatuor Takács, il joue avec Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Isaac Stern, Mstislav Rostropovitch, András Schiff, Mikhail Pletnev, Joshua Bell ou Gidon Kremer. Il fonde en 1996 le Takács Piano Trio et en 1998 le Quatuor Mikrokosmos (Prix Excellencia pour l’intégrale des quatuors de Bartók). Depuis 2002, il se consacre entièrement à la direction d’orchestre et crée la Camerata Bellerive. En 2011, il est nommé Directeur musical de la Manchester Camerata, en 2012, principal chef invité du Budapest Festival Orchestra et, en 2013, collaborateur artistique principal de l’Irish Chamber Orchestra. Il enseigne le quatuor à cordes à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève et est membre honoraire de la Royal Academy of Music (2012).


mentorats 2022

Charles Dutoit chef émérite du vfo
Valery Gergiev directeur musical du vfo

Gianandrea Noseda
Gabór Takács-Nagy directeur musical du vfco
Michael Tilson Thomas
Claudio Vandelli

répértoire 2022 : temps forts

DMITRI CHOSTAKOVITCH
Première, Quatrième et Quinzième Symphonies

GIUSEPPE VERDI
Un Ballo in Maschera

IGOR STRAVINSY
Le Sacre du printemps


coachs 2022

Afin de se préparer à travailler avec les éminents chefs d’orchestre du VFO et du VFCO, les jeunes chefs de l’Academy sont encadrés par des musiciens du Metropolitan Opera de New York. La liste des coaches pour 2022 sera bientôt disponible ici. En attendant, celle de 2021 se trouve ci-dessous :

Derrick Inouye chef d’orchestre
Caterina Szepes violon
Nancy Wu violon
Désirée Elsevier alto
Dorothea Figueroa violoncelle
Leigh Mesh contrebasse
Chelsea Knox flûte

Nathan Hughes hautbois
Jessica Phillips clarinette
William Short basson
Joseph Anderer cor
David Langlitz cuivres
Timur Martynov trompette
Greg Zuber percussion