fbpx

verbierfestival

Conducting
The Conducting Programme offers a stepping stone to emerging conductors who are on the verge of leading orchestras at the highest level. Conducting Fellows are mentored by and network with a who’s who from the world of classical music.

Up to five young conductors are accepted to the Conducting Programme. They take part in section training led by the coaches of the Verbier Festival Orchestra (VFO), as well as tutti rehearsals led by Derrick Inouye, the VFO Assistant Conductor. They will, where possible, collaborate with Maestro Inouye as he prepares the VFO for its Festival performances. Throughout the Festival, Conducting Fellows may perform assistant conductor duties for guest conductors of the VFO and Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO) Music Director Gábor Takács-Nagy and other visiting VFCO conductors.

Other activities include: 

  • A mentorship meeting with Festival Founder & Director Martin T:son Engstroem 
  • A roundtable discussion with Gabór Takács-Nagy, VFCO Music Director 
  • Personal meetings with guest conductors
  • Public performances of small ensemble works when possible 

This is a largely self-directed programme, and participants with flexibility, openness and personal-initiative will benefit the most from the many opportunities that are presented. Students are urged to attend and take part in as many activities as possible during their time at the Festival.



programme dates

5 – 31 July 2023

includes arrival and departure dates

eligibility

Age & Nationality

Musicians of all nationalities between the ages of 25 to 35 on 1 July 2023


costs for successful candidates

The Verbier Festival will cover the cost of return travel from each musician’s place of residence to Verbier. Musicians who travel from or return to a location other than their place of residence—and who subsequently face an increased travel cost—are responsible to the pay the difference in fare.

The Verbier Festival will also cover tuition fees and provide lodging, lunches and dinners, plus a stipend for daily breakfast.

apply

Applications open 11 October 2022
Deadline: 5 January 2023 / Applications closed
Application fee: USD 70

Please note: Applicants of Romanian, Russian or Ukrainian nationality are eligible for an application fee waiver thanks to the generosity of donors to the Festival. To obtain a fee waiver, please email a scan of your passport proving your nationality to orchestras@verbierfestival.com.

guidelines

repertoire highlights 2023

HECTOR BERLIOZ
Symphonie fantastique

PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY
Symphony No. 5 in E minor Op. 64

RICHARD STRAUSS
An Alpine Symphony Op. 64

fbpx

Conducting

Candidatures désormais ouvertes
Le Conducting Programme offre un tremplin aux chefs d’orchestre émergents qui seront bientôt à la tête des formations orchestrales les plus réputées. Les chefs d’orchestre du programme sont encadrés par des personnalités du monde de la musique classique et travaillent en réseau avec elles.

Jusqu’à cinq jeunes chefs d’orchestre sont acceptés au Conducting Programme. Ils participent à la formation de chaque pupitre, épaulés par les coachs du Verbier Festival Orchestra (VFO), et prennent part aux répétitions de tutti dirigées par Derrick Inouye, l’assistant chef d’orchestre du VFO. Ils collaboreront, dans la mesure du possible, avec le Maestro Inouye qui prépare le VFO pour les concerts du Festival. Tout au long du Festival, les Fellows peuvent exercer des fonctions de chef d’orchestre adjoint les chefs invités du VFO et du Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra (VFCO).

D’autres activités comprennent :

  • Une rencontre de mentorat avec Martin T:son Engstroem, Fondateur & Directeur du Festival
  • Table ronde avec Gabór Takács-Nagy, Directeur musical du VFCO
  • Les rencontres avec les chefs invités
  • Représentations publiques d’œuvres pour petit ensemble lorsque c’est possible

Il s’agit d’un programme largement autogéré, et les participants qui font preuve de souplesse, d’ouverture et d’initiative personnelle profiteront au maximum des nombreuses possibilités qui s’offrent à eux. Les étudiants sont invités à assister et à participer à autant d’activités que possible pendant leur séjour au Festival.



dates du programme

5 – 31  juillet 2023

incluent les dates d’arrivée et de départ

conditions d’admission

Âge et nationalité

Les musiciens de toutes nationalités âgés de 25 à 35 ans au 1er juillet 2023 peuvent déposer leur candidature.


coûts pour les candidats retenus

Le Verbier Festival prend en charge les frais de voyage aller-retour entre le lieu de résidence de chaque musicien et Verbier. Les musiciens qui partent ou reviennent d’un lieu autre que leur lieu de résidence – et qui doivent donc faire face à une augmentation des frais de voyage – doivent prendre eux-mêmes en charge la différence de prix.

Le Verbier Festival couvre également les frais de scolarité et fourni le logement, les déjeuners et dîners, ainsi qu’une allocation pour le petit-déjeuner quotidien.

postuler

Date d’ouverture des candidatures : 11 octobre 2022
Date limite : 5 janvier 2023
Frais d’inscription : USD 70

N.B. : Les candidats de nationalité roumaine, russe et ukrainienne peuvent bénéficier d’une dispense de frais de candidature grâce à la générosité des donateurs du Festival. Pour obtenir votre cette dispense, veuillez envoyer un scan de votre passeport prouvant votre nationalité à orchestras@verbierfestival.com.

directives postuler

répértoire 2023 : temps forts

HECTOR BERLIOZ
Symphonie fantastique

PIOTR ILITCH TCHAÏKOVSKI
Symphonie No 5 en mi mineur, op. 64

RICHARD STRAUSS
Symphonie alpestre, op. 64