fbpx

VF Junior Orchestra

Applications now open
The Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra (VFJO) is an international orchestral training programme for young musicians aged 15 to 18. Nearly 60 students are coached by a roster of established players from about the world, many of whom are Verbier Festival Orchestra alumni and who now perform in prominent orchestras including London Symphony Orchestra, Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Orchestre de Paris and Frankfurter Opern-und Museumsorchester. Over three weeks, these young musicians perform two symphonic concerts and one opera.

with generous support from

Loterie Romande
Anonymous
Fondation Juchum



programme dates

9 – 31 July 2023

includes arrival and departure dates

eligibility

Age & Nationality

Musicians of all nationalities between the ages of 15 and 18 as of 1 July 2023 may apply. 


costs for successful applicants

Students accepted to the VFJO are invited to take part tuition- and room and board-free. They are responsible only for travel, visa and insurance costs and their own pocket money.

apply

Applications open 11 October 2022
Live audition deadline: 15 December 2022
Video audition deadline: 19 January 2023
Fee: USD 50

Please note: Applicants of Romanian, Russian or Ukrainian nationality are eligible for an application fee waiver thanks to the generosity of donors to the Festival. To obtain a fee waiver, please email a scan of your passport proving your nationality to orchestras@verbierfestival.com.

guidelines apply

repertoire highlights 2023

NIKOLAI RIMSKY-KORSAKOV
Scheherazade Op. 35

WINTON MARSALIS
Violin Concerto

IGOR STRAVINSKY
The Rake’s Progress

audition repertoire

Applicants are required to perform one or two solo works (depending on instrument) as well as orchestral excerpts.

repertoire excerpts

james gaffigan

Music Director

James Gaffigan is the second Music Director of the VFJO, after the founding Music Director Daniel Harding, who served from 2013 to 2016. Gaffigan’s history with the VFJO goes right back to its beginnings, having conducted the orchestra in its inaugural summer when it was known as the Verbier Festival Music Camp. He has since watched it evolve into a permanent and important fixture of the Verbier Festival Academy programmes. During the 2023 Festival he will conduct all three of the VFJO’s concerts, including two symphonic concerts and one opera.


coaches

Coachings, sectional rehearsals and private lessons are led by a roster of established orchestra members from around the world, many of whom are former musicians of the Verbier Festival Orchestra. 2023 coaches will be announced soon. The 2022 Coaches were:

David Ballesteros violin 
London Symphony Orchestra

Caroline Simon violin
Trondheim Symfoniorkester & Opera

German Clavijo viola 
London Symphony Orchestra

Nicolas Hartmann cello
National Orchestra of Lyon

Mary Javian double bass 
Philadelphia Curtis Institute of Music

Rute Fernandes flute
Zurich Opera House Orchestra

Simon Sommerhalder oboe
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande

Aleksandar Tasic clarinet 
Novi Sad Academy of Arts

Simon Van Holen bassoon
Concertgebouw Orchestra

Jorge Monte de Fez horn
Teatro alla Scala Milano

Philipp Hutter trumpet 
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Jonathan Reith trombone
Orchestre de Paris

Samuli Viitanen percussion
Finish Opera Orchestra

Simon Rivard, conductor
Toronto Symphony Orchestra


supervision

The VFJO works closely with Altitude, a Verbier-based summer and winter camp known internationally for its quality of service and professional staff. Altitude boasts many years’ experience in caring for and working with children and young adults of all ages and nationalities. Its mission is to provide a positive environment for young people to learn, laugh, and build confidence.

Altitude provides several highly qualified, experienced councillors who lead groups of no more than 15 VFJO students each. Most activities—musical and otherwise—are undertaken together with all VFJO students. These smaller groups live in the same chalets, eat their breakfasts and dinners and travel together.

English is the primary language spoken for all VFJO activities, but the staff of both the VFJO and Altitude come from many different countries and speak a variety of languages.

fbpx

VF Junior Orchestra

Candidatures désormais ouvertes
Le Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra (VFJO) est un programme international de formation d’orchestre destiné aux musiciens âgés de 15 à 18 ans. Près de 60 étudiants bénéficient de l’enseignement d’un panel de musiciens confirmés venus du monde entier, dont beaucoup sont d’anciens élèves du Verbier Festival Orchestra et jouent dans des orchestres prestigieux, notamment le London Symphony Orchestra, le Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, l’Orchestre de Paris et le Frankfurter Opernen-und Museumsorchester. Pendant trois semaines, ces jeunes musiciens se produisent à trois reprises : deux concerts symphoniques et un opéra.

avec le généreux soutien de

Loterie Romande
Un donateur anonyme
Fondation Juchum



dates du programme

9 – 31 juillet 2023

incluent les dates d’arrivée et de départ

conditions d’admission

Âge et nationalité

Les musiciens de toutes nationalités âgés de 15 à 18 ans au 1er juillet 2023 peuvent déposer leur candidature.


coûts pour les candidats retenus

Les étudiants acceptés au VFJO sont invités à participer sans frais de scolarité, de logement et de pension. Ils ne sont responsables que des frais de voyage, de visa et d’assurance et de leur propre argent de poche.

postuler

Date d’ouverture des candidatures : 11 octobre 2022
Date limite audition live : 15 decembre 2023
Date limite audition vidéo : 19 janvier 2023
Frais d’inscription : USD 50

N.B. : Les candidats de nationalité roumaine, russe et ukrainienne peuvent bénéficier d’une dispense de frais de candidature grâce à la générosité des donateurs du Festival. Pour obtenir votre cette dispense, veuillez envoyer un scan de votre passeport prouvant votre nationalité à orchestras@verbierfestival.com.

directives postuler

 

répertoire 2023 : temps forts

NIKOLAÏ RIMSKI-KORSAKOV
Shéhérazade op. 35

WINTON MARSALIS
Violin Concerto

IGOR STRAVINSKY
The Rake’s Progress

répertoire d’audition

Les candidats doivent interpréter une ou deux œuvres solistes (selon l’instrument) ainsi que des extraits d’orchestre.

extraits de répertoire

 

james gaffigan

Directeur musical

James Gaffigan succède ainsi à Daniel Harding, qui a officié en tant que directeur musical jusqu’en 2016, également fondateur de l’orchestre en 2013. L’histoire de James Gaffigan avec le VFJO remonte à ses débuts – ayant dirigé l’orchestre lors de son été inaugural – lorsque l’orchestre portait encore le nom de Verbier Festival Music Camp. En 2023, il dirigé les trois concerts du VFJO, dont deux représentations symphonique et un opéra.


coachs

Des coachs, des répétitions par pupitre et des leçons privées sont dirigés par un groupe d’anciens musiciens du Verbier Festival Orchestra, qui viennent du monde entier pour la plupart. Les coachs de 2023 seront annoncés ultérieurement. Les coachs de 2022 étaient :

David Ballesteros violon 
London Symphony Orchestra

Caroline Simon violon
Trondheim Symfoniorkester & Opera

German Clavijo alto 
London Symphony Orchestra

Nicolas Hartmann violoncelle
National Orchestra of Lyon

Mary Javian contrebasse
Philadelphia Curtis Institute of Music

Rute Fernandes flûte
Zurich Opera House Orchestra

Simon Sommerhalder hautbois
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande

Aleksandar Tasic clarinette 
Novi Sad Academy of Arts

Simon Van Holen basson
Concertgebouw Orchestra

Jorge Monte de Fez cor
Teatro alla Scala Milano

Philipp Hutter trompette
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Jonathan Reith trombone
Orchestre de Paris

Samuli Viitanen percussion
Finish Opera Orchestra

Simon Rivard chef orchestre
Toronto Symphony Orchestra


supervision

Le VFJO s’est associé à Altitude, un camp d’été et d’hiver basé à Verbier. Ce camp a une réputation internationale pour la qualité de ses services et le professionnalisme de ses collaborateurs. Altitude jouit d’une expérience de plusieurs d’années dans l’accueil et l’animation de camps pour les enfants de toutes nationalités.

Altitude met à disposition des animateurs en charge de petits groupes de 15 personnes. Durant le VFJO, alors que la plupart des activités (musicales ou autres) ont lieu avec l’ensemble du groupe, ces petits groupes de 15 jeunes vivent dans un seul et même chalet et prennent leurs repas ensemble.

L’anglais est la langue principale parlée au VFJO. Cependant, du fait de la diversité des nationalités des participants, notre équipe maitrise d’autres langues que l’anglais.