fbpx

Le Quotidien is exclusively written in French while only some chapters are translated

Sandra Albukrek

An animated fantasy for Saint-Saëns: Creating daydreams

In the midst of the Verbier Festival’s 30th anniversary gala, the public was treated to an animated film setting the Carnaval des animaux valaisans (Carnival of the Valaisian Animals) to the music of Saint-Saëns. A magical world dreamed up by visual artist and set designer Sandra Albukrek. Portrait.

Saturday, 22 July, 10.15 p.m. The audience has deserted the Salle des Combins. Sandra Albukrek is at the console in the control room, checking the sequencing of the 14-part animated film that will accompany Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals at the 30th anniversary gala. A Carnival revisited in Valaisian style, at Martin Engstroem’s request. Out with the exotic animals of Saint-Saëns’ score! The donkeys, swans and fossils remain, as do the elephants, at Sandra’s insistence :

 

 

We really had to keep the elephants! Hannibal crossed the Alps with them!” On the other hand, goodbye to the majestic lion, who had to make way for the Swiss alpine cow; out with the kangaroo, replaced by a goat; farewell to the tortoise, ousted by a wolf. Ousted? Well, not quite! Sandra Albukrek plays a mischievous game of musical chairs between the animals of Saint-Saëns and the wildlife of the Valais. Through magical metamorphoses and clever allusions, for the space of a whimsical dream the illustrator surreptitiously conjures up in her images the animals she had thrown out. For instance, the marvellous parade of turtles which, although they shouldn’t have been there, follows the story of the wolf: a turtle begotten of the moon, then a French can-can turtle carrying on its back nothing less than the Moulin Rouge and even the Art Nouveau curves of the Guimard entrance to a nearby metro station.

“Saint-Saëns’ score features an incredibly slow and stretched out French can-can tune. I had fun with that.”

Sandra’s film is a feast for the imagination, as much for its colours as for the fantastic hybridity of the figures that parade through it: like the fish in Saint-Saëns’ aquarium (in this case a mountain lake) transformed into musical instrument fish: clarinet fish or fish with violin heads.

(Continue reading below)

Highlight

Sandra Albukrek

An animated fantasy for Saint-Saëns: Creating daydreams


tels les poissons de l’aquarium (ici un lac) de Saint-Saëns devenus poissons instruments de musique, poissons clarinette ou poissons à tête de violon.

Born in Istanbul and a former student of the École des Arts Déco in Paris, Sandra Albukrek now lives in Geneva. Having grown up in a musical family, always surrounded by professional musicians, she cannot imagine her work without music. From a young age, she was fascinated by the music scene and ballet, and was responsible for the set design of Pina Bausch’s Nefés, inspired by Istanbul. “Working with Pina was an unforgettable experience, a school of creation and discipline.”

“Whether building huge sets for the stage, illustrating books, or making animated films in an effort to give life to my drawings, what I am doing is trying to create daydreams,” continues Sandra Albukrek. “It took me a full seven months to complete the 205 paintings, 14 storyboards, and animation instructions for the Carnaval des animaux valaisans. The key to a successful animated film lies in the complicity forged in the teamwork between the director and the animator, and for this latest film, I am particularly grateful to my excellent animator, Leandro Basso.”


Sandra Albukrek let her imagination flow from the music. A prolific imagination, nourished by hours of research of all kinds: representations of the cow through time and space – Antiquity, Egypt, India -, aboriginal art, cabinets of curiosities. Not to mention the Alpine herbarium for the flowers she chose “not only for their beauty, but also their virtues: arnica, dandelion, St. John’s wort. Because it all has to make sense, right?”

Alongside the dreamlike swan sequence, which conjures up Andersen’s Ugly Duckling to take us gliding across a lake amid vaporous mists, the aquarium sequence is one of the most enchanting: a bird – a kingfisher – dives beneath the surface to catch a starfish, amid fish and seaweed and a gazebo. As soon as the bird emerges, the starfish becomes a star in the sky, soon to be joined by a constellation of stars. “This is my tribute to Martin Engstroem,” says Sandra. “That, after all, is what he does: he seeks out talented young musicians who go on to become stars and fill our skies. He gave me absolute carte blanche for this work, and I am infinitely grateful to him. To have such freedom and trust is the most precious experience for an artist.”
The film closes with a shower of flowers, a colourful metaphor for the applause it accompanies like a flurry of silent petals.

Laetitia Brancovan

Ricola

Alexandre Barrelet

RTS and the Verbier Festival: thirty years of loyalty

“I remember the first edition of the Verbier Festival, when I was a young journalist. There weren’t many media outlets at the time, but RTS believed in Martin Engstroem and his project from the outset. RTS and, in particular, its radio channel Espace 2. Since then, we have been going up to Verbier every year with our teams of sound engineers, music producers and journalists to cover the event and record concerts.

Sometimes we broadcast them live, sometimes later in the season, and they are available for replay on our website. “We also belong to the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), a network of some sixty radio stations which, every spring, organizes a major news exchange. This enables radio stations with fewer resources, or those located in countries where there is less music on offer, to air concerts from European countries that are better off in that respect. For the Verbier Festival, we are a gateway to all European radio stations, in particular France Musique, Musiq’3 (RTBF) and the BBC, to mention but a few.

“For the Festival’s thirtieth edition we pulled out all the stops, devoting a special TV show to the Verbier Festival on the eve of the opening night. As for radio, we are recording 20 concerts this summer, to be presented, often live from the Combins or the Église, by our journalist Julian Sykes, who is based in Verbier for the duration of the Festival. His reports enable us to provide a day-by-day account of musical life in Verbier.

“I see the partnership between the Verbier Festival and RTS as a fruitful collaboration between a rich musical and educational project and a genuine public radio service. Our goal is to bring the richness and diversity of the Verbier Festival to the entire population of French-speaking Switzerland.”

Alexandre Barrelet
Head of RTS-Espace 2, Culture Unit

To listen to the concerts again

Link on RTS Podcast

Richard Goode

First and foremost, the score

“It takes more than either great technique or musical ability to make a great musician”, according to Richard Goode. A score, like a text, must be understood in terms of its intrinsic ideas, so that it can be communicated as effectively as possible to the audience for which a particular interpretation is intended.

On Leonard Bernstein’s advice, the New York pianist embarked on an international career, which included a Grammy award for his recording of Brahms’ Sonatas for Clarinet and Piano with Richard Stoltzman. However, stage fright and shyness prevented him from giving any solo recitals in public until he was in his 40s when, after more than two decades devoted to chamber music, he performed the complete Beethoven Sonatas in New York, a cycle which he subsequently recorded at the beginning of the ‘90s. The Bonn composer, whose music he describes as “immensely powerful and positive”, is an inspiration for him, as are the Hamburg composer Brahms and other Germans such as Bach. The three Bs, who dominated German music for more than a century, form the common thread running through his two concerts this week in Verbier, one featuring some of Beethoven’s Bagatelles and his 33 Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli, the other with cellist Steven Isserlis.

For nothing in the world would he listen to his own interpretations, for fear of disagreeing in retrospect with his instrumental ventures. As far as method is concerned, it is fidelity to the score that motivates Richard Goode, in terms of both tempo and expression. He goes so far as to say that a performance can hardly match the inherent boldness and richness of the composition. Remaining true to the score is somehow liberating: each work presents itself as a new beginning, without any predefined dogmas. “All music is one”.

“Music is music”, he sometimes says. He is particularly moved by pianists who find “the centre of the music, the centre of the musical feeling”, around which “all the other things then seem to form…, making the proportions of the work.”
He cannot imagine his profession without teaching, the key to his musical understanding, be it in the form of lectures, individual classes or masterclasses. In his role as mentor at the Verbier Festival Academy, he sees the talents of tomorrow follow one another in succession, brimming with ideas and helping to perpetuate a certain tradition of “enlightened pianistic restoration”, faithful to the letter and open to all possibilities.

Mari Samuelsen

Curiosity without bounds

After a dazzling Four Seasons revisited by Max Richter in the heart of the Alpine pastures of La Chaux last Saturday, on Wednesday Norwegian violinist Mari Samuelsen will be performing, in the basement of the Taratata (a somewhat more intimate setting), a signature program representing the confluence of periods.

You last came to the Verbier Festival some twenty years ago…
I was a student at the Academy at the time, and to have all these amazing artists gathered in such a small place seemed almost unreal. I attended a lot of masterclasses and concerts, and that has remained with me ever since.

This time, you are back as part of the UNLTD series for a carte blanche performance…
Yes, since I am used to putting together programs, the series is a perfect fit for me. This evening’s event is an invitation to venture into my own world: I am very much into minimalism and appreciate the links it has with the Baroque repertoire, which I adore. I will be playing Max Richter, whose music is part of my DNA, so to speak, as well as pieces by composers ranging from Hildegard von Bingen to Caroline Shaw, a young American composer, not to mention Philip Glass, Hildur Guðnadóttir (known to the public for her music to the films Joker and Sicario), Meredi, from the minimalist movement, and Lera Auerbach.

In addition to the solo pieces, and because I like working with other string players, I will be joined by two different quintets made up of musicians from the Academy, and by pianist Pedja Mužijević, whose overall artistic approach – not only musical – I find deeply inspiring.

You seem very keen to move classical music out of traditional concert halls…
This has to be done if we want to continue to attract audiences, especially after Covid, because however wonderful the broadcasts may be, I don’t think music can survive without live performances. I love playing in places like Taratata, where the atmosphere is relaxed and people are there to have a good time. I adore the proximity it affords.

The Verbier Festival is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. Any special wishes?
Thirty more years of inspiration and fulfilment! It has already come a long way, notably with the UNLTD series, which is so inspiring for musicians like me. I wish the Festival continued success as the centre of the midsummer musical world, where the legends and the talents of tomorrow come together.

Interview by Anne Payot-Le Nabour

fbpx

Sandra Albukrek

Une fantaisie animée pour Saint-Saëns

Au cœur du Gala du 30e anniversaire du Verbier Festival, le public a pu découvrir le film d’animation qui offrait au Carnaval des animaux valaisans, un décor d’images en mouvement. Un monde enchanté, conçu par la plasticienne et scénographe Sandra Albukrek. Portrait.

Samedi 22 juillet, 22h15 : la salle des Combins s’est vidée de son public. Sandra Albukrek est à la console de la régie pour vérifier les enchaînements des quatorze séquences du film d’animation qui accompagnera, lors du Gala du 30e anniversaire, les quatorze parties du Carnaval des animaux de Saint-Saëns. Un Carnaval revisité : valaisan, comme l’a souhaité Martin Engstroem. Dehors les animaux exotiques de la partition de Saint-Saëns ! L’âne, le cygne ou les fossiles demeurent, tout comme les éléphants, à la demande insistante de Sandra:

 

 

« Il fallait vraiment garder les éléphants ! Hannibal est passé par les Alpes avec eux ! » En revanche, adieu le lion majestueux, qui doit laisser la place à la vache des alpages suisses, dehors le kangourou, remplacé par la chèvre, ouste la tortue, éliminée au profit du loup. Eliminée ? Pas tout à fait ! Sandra Albukrek a joué avec malice au jeu des chaises musicales entre les animaux de Saint-Saëns et la faune du Valais. Par d’ensorcelantes métamorphoses ou d’amusants clins d’œil, la dessinatrice fait ressurgir subrepticement dans ses images les animaux supprimés. Ainsi le merveilleux défilé de tortues, le temps d’un rêve plein de fantaisie : tortue engendrée de la lune, puis tortue-french-cancan véhiculant sur son dos rien moins que le Moulin Rouge et même les courbes Art Nouveau de l’entrée Guimard d’une station de métro voisine. « La partition de Saint-Saëns reprend, dans un tempo lent, incroyablement étiré, un air de french cancan. Je me suis amusée avec cette référence. »

L’imagination est au pouvoir dans le film de Sandra et l’on se régale, autant des couleurs que de l’hybridité fantastique des figures qui passent :

(suite en bas de page)

Highlights

Sandra Albukrek

Créer de la rêverie


tels les poissons de l’aquarium (ici un lac) de Saint-Saëns devenus poissons instruments de musique, poissons clarinette ou poissons à tête de violon.

Née à Istanbul, ancienne élève des Arts Décos de Paris, Sandra Albukrek vit aujourd’hui à Genève. Ayant grandi dans une famille mélomane, où toujours passaient des musiciens professionnels, elle ne conçoit pas son travail sans la musique. Passionnée dès sa jeunesse par la scène musicale et le ballet, elle a signé notamment la conception scénographique du spectacle Nefés de Pina Bausch. « Travailler avec Pina a été une expérience inoubliable, une école de création et de rigueur ». « Je cherche à créer de la rêverie » poursuit Sandra Albukrek, « que ce soit dans la construction d’énormes décors pour la scène, l’illustration de livres, ou les films d’animation qui répondent à mon désir de donner vie à mes dessins. Il m’a fallu sept mois pour les 205 peintures, les quatorze storyboards et la direction d’animation du Carnaval des animaux valaisans. Le secret de la réussite d’un film d’animation est la complicité créé dans le travail d’équipe entre le réalisateur et l’animateur, et pour ce film, ma dernière réalisation, je remercie mon excellent animateur Leandro Basso. »


Sandra Albukrek a laissé aller son imaginaire à partir de la musique. Un imaginaire prolifique, nourri par des heures de recherche en tous genres : représentations de la vache à travers le temps et l’espace (Antiquité, Egypte, Inde), art aborigène, cabinets de curiosité. Sans oublier l’herbier des Alpes pour les fleurs que Sandra a choisies « non seulement pour leur beauté mais aussi leurs vertus : arnica, pissenlit, millepertuis. Car il faut que tout fasse sens, n’est-ce pas ? ».

Avec l’onirique séquence consacrée au cygne, qui se rappelle Andersen et son Vilain petit canard pour nous faire glisser sur un lac au milieu de brumes vaporeuses, la séquence de l’aquarium est l’une des plus enchanteresses : un oiseau — Martin-pêcheur — plonge sous la surface pour y attraper, au milieu des poissons, des algues et d’un kiosque à musique, une étoile de mer. Laquelle, sitôt l’oiseau ressorti, devient étoile dans le ciel, bientôt rejointe par une constellation d’astres.

« C’est mon hommage à Martin Engstroem, précise Sandra. Est-ce que lui aussi ne va pas chercher de jeunes talents qui deviennent des stars et remplissent notre ciel ? Il m’a laissé absolument carte blanche pour ce travail, et je lui en suis d’une infinie gratitude. Disposer d’une telle liberté et d’une telle confiance est la plus belle des expériences pour un artiste. » Le film se referme sur une pluie de fleurs, métaphore colorée des applaudissements qu’elle accompagne comme d’autant de pétales silencieux.

Laetitia Brancovan

Ricola

Alexandre Barrelet

La RTS et le Verbier Festival : déjà trente ans de fidélité

« Je me souviens de la première édition du Verbier Festival, j’étais alors jeune journaliste. Il y avait encore peu de médias, mais la RTS et plus particulièrement sa radio Espace 2, avaient d’emblée fait confiance à Martin Engstroem et à son projet. Depuis, nous montons chaque année avec nos équipes de preneurs de son, nos producteurs musicaux et nos journalistes pour couvrir l’événement et enregistrer des concerts.

Nous les diffusons en direct ou plus tard dans la saison. Ils peuvent être réécoutés en replay sur notre site. Nous appartenons par ailleurs à l’Union Européenne de Radiodiffusion (UER), un réseau d’une soixantaine de radios qui, chaque printemps, organise une grande bourse d’échanges. Cet organisme généreux permet aux radios qui disposent de moins de moyens, ou qui se trouvent dans des pays où l’offre musicale est moindre, de diffuser les concerts de pays européens plus riches en la matière. Pour le Verbier Festival, nous sommes ainsi une porte d’entrée sur toutes les radios européennes, en particulier France Musique, Musiq3 (RTBF), ou la BBC, mais beaucoup d’autres aussi.

À l’occasion de la trentième édition du Festival, nous avons mis les petits plats dans les grands en consacrant un magazine télévisé au Verbier Festival la veille de la soirée d’ouverture. Pour la radio, nous captons cet été vingt concerts qui sont présentés, souvent en direct depuis les Combins ou depuis l’Église, par notre journaliste Julian Sykes. Ce dernier réside à Verbier pendant toute la durée du Festival. À travers les chroniques qu’il nous envoie, nous rendons compte au jour le jour de la vie musicale à Verbier. À mes yeux, le partenariat entre le Verbier Festival et la RTS est la conjonction fructueuse d’un projet musical et éducatif riche avec un vrai service public de radio. Notre souhait est de pouvoir faire profiter de la richesse et de la diversité du Verbier Festival à toute la population de Suisse Romande. »

Alexandre Barrelet
Chef d’antenne RTS-Espace 2, Unité Culture

Pour réécouter les concerts :

Lien sur RTS Podcast

Richard Goode

La lettre, et cætera

« Il faut plus qu’une grande technique ou des capacités musicales pour être un grand musicien » selon Richard Goode. Une partition, à l’instar d’un texte, doit en effet être comprise à travers ses idées intrinsèques afin de trouver la meilleure transmission possible aux destinataires d’une interprétation.

Sur les conseils de Leonard Bernstein, le pianiste new-yorkais suit dès lors une carrière internationale, notamment ponctuée par un Grammy Award pour son enregistrement des Sonates pour clarinette et piano de Brahms avec Richard Stoltzman. Son trac et sa timidité retardent pourtant l’échéance de ses récitals solos publics jusqu’à la quarantaine (après plus de deux décennies chambristes), à l’occasion d’une intégrale des Sonates de Beethoven à New York, corpus qu’il enregistre au début des années 90. Le compositeur de Bonn, à la musique « immensément puissante et positive » et le Hambourgeois Brahms stimulent le musicien, aux côtés d’autres Allemands tels que Bach. Ces trois B germaniques sur plus d’un siècle constituent le fil rouge de ses deux concerts cette semaine à Verbier, l’un consacré à quelques Bagatelles et aux 33 Variations sur une valse de Diabelli de Beethoven, l’autre avec le violoncelliste Steven Isserlis.

Pour rien au monde il n’écouterait ses propres lectures, de peur de ne pas être d’accord a posteriori avec ses explorations instrumentales. Du côté de la méthode, c’est l’exactitude de la portée qui stimule Richard Goode, dans le tempo comme dans les articulations. Il juge même qu’une exécution peut difficilement atteindre le degré initial d’audace et de richesse de l’écriture. La vérité le rend en quelque sorte plus libre : chaque oeuvre se présente à la manière d’un nouveau commencement, sans dogme prédéfini.

« N’importe quelle pièce musicale est un tout. La musique est musique » dit-il parfois. Il est d’ailleurs particulièrement touché par les pianistes qui trouvent « le centre de la musique et du sentiment musical », autour duquel « tout le reste semble ensuite se former, pour ainsi dimensionner l’oeuvre ».

Il ne conçoit par ailleurs pas son métier sans l’enseignement, moteur dans sa compréhension musicale, aussi bien sous la forme de cours magistraux ou individuels que de masterclasses. Avec son rôle de mentor à la Verbier Festival Academy, il voit se succéder les talents de demain pour faire émerger les idées et ainsi perpétuer une certaine tradition de la « restauration pianistique éclairée », fidèle à la lettre et ouverte à tous les possibles.

Mari Samuelsen

La curiosité sans limites

Après d’ébouriffantes Quatre Saisons revisitées par Max Richter au coeur des alpages de La Chaux samedi dernier, la violoniste norvégienne Mari Samuelsen investit mercredi le sous-sol intime du Taratata, pour un programme signature à la croisées des époques.

VVotre dernière venue au Verbier Festival remonte à une vingtaine d’années…
J’étais alors étudiante à l’Academy et avoir tous ces artistes merveilleux rassemblés dans un si petit endroit me semblait presque irréel. J’y ai bénéficié de nombreuses masterclasses et assisté à quantité de concerts, ce qui m’a ensuite accompagnée toute ma vie.

Vous revenez cette fois dans le cadre de la série Unltd pour une carte blanche…
Oui, pour moi qui ai l’habitude de concevoir des programmes, la série me correspond tout à fait. Cette soirée est une invitation à rentrer dans mon univers : je suis beaucoup dans le minimalisme et apprécie les liens qu’il entretient avec le répertoire baroque que j’adore. J’y jouerai du Max Richter, dont la musique fait un peu partie de mon ADN, ainsi que des pièces allant de Hildegard von Bingen à Caroline Shaw, jeune compositrice américaine, en passant par Philip Glass, Hildur Guðnadóttir que le public connaît par ses musiques des films Joker ou Sicario, Meredi, de l’univers minimaliste, et Lera Auerbach.

Au-delà de pièces solos et comme j’aime travailler avec d’autres instrumentistes à cordes, j’aurai à mes côtés deux quintettes différents composés de musiciens de l’Academy, mais aussi Pedja Mužijević, au piano, dont l’approche artistique globale, pas seulement musicale, m’enthousiasme profondément.

Vous êtes très attachée à déplacer la musique classique hors des salles de concert traditionnelles…
Cela est nécessaire si l’on veut assurer le public de demain, d’autant après le Covid, car malgré les plus belles retransmissions, je ne crois pas que la musique puisse survivre sans live. J’aime jouer dans des lieux comme le Taratata où l’atmosphère est détendue et les gens présents en vue de passer un bon moment. J’adore la proximité qu’il offre avec les artistes.

Le Verbier Festival célèbre cette année son 30e anniversaire. Que pouvez-vous lui souhaiter ?
Trente années supplémentaires d’inspiration et d’épanouissement ! Il a déjà su tant se développer, notamment avec cette série UNLTD si inspirante pour des musiciens comme moi. Je lui souhaite de continuer à être le centre de la planète musicale du coeur de l’été, où se rassemblent à la fois les légendes et les talents de demain.

Propos recueillis par Anne Payot-Le Nabour