James Levine

Published on 17 Mar 2021
1943 – 2021
The Verbier Festival remembers its Conductor Laureate James Levine, who has passed away after a long illness.

James Levine first conducted at the Verbier Festival in 1999 when the Festival’s orchestra-in-residence was the Curtis Symphony Orchestra (Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia). Shortly thereafter, in 2000, the UBS Verbier Festival Orchestra was formed with Levine as its first Music Director. Under his direction, the training orchestra attained international acclaim; hundreds of the orchestra’s members have gone on to prominent positions in leading symphonic orchestras all over the world.

“I remember it like it was yesterday. Here was this incredible musician, at the height of his career, willing to take a chance on a crazy dream of creating a top-level orchestra high up in the mountains,” recounts Verbier Festival Founder & Director, Martin Engstroem. “This was typical of Jimmy’s generous spirit and love of music. His vast knowledge of the orchestral repertoire made his rehearsals more than simply working sessions, but true orchestral masterclasses.”

Levine was also a fine pianist and often appeared with guest singers and soloists on the Verbier Festival’s Mainstage and with orchestra musicians in performances of chamber music. He performed in eight consecutive editions of the Verbier Festival starting in 1999 and made final appearance at the Festival in 2006 in an all-Beethoven evening highlighted by the glorious Ninth Symphony.

The conductor began a long relationship between the Verbier Festival and the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, of which he was Music Director for more than 40 years. To this day, the Verbier Festival Orchestra welcomes the MET’s principal chairs to coach its musicians each summer.

In 2017, the Verbier Festival communicated its disappointment and sadness after learning of allegations of Levine’s sexual misconduct.

James Levine

Publié le 17 Mar 2021
1943 – 2021
Le Verbier Festival a une pensée pour son Conductor Laureate James Levine, qui a succombé à une longue maladie.

James Levine a fait ses débuts au Verbier Festival en qualité de chef d’orchestre en 1999 à la tête de l’ensemble en résidence de l’époque, le Curtis Symphony Orchestra (issu du Curtis Institute of Music de Philadelphie). L’année suivante, l’UBS Verbier Festival Youth Orchestra voyait le jour et James Levine en était le tout premier Directeur musical. Sous sa direction, l’orchestre de formation s’est hissé à un niveau international unanimement reconnu ; des centaines de ses membres ont depuis obtenu des postes dans des orchestres de premier plan dans le monde entier.

« Je m’en souviens comme c’était hier. Voici ce musicien incroyable, dont la carrière est à la hauteur de la carrure, voulant donner sa chance à un rêve insensé de créer un orchestre de haut niveau niché au sommet des montagnes », se remémore le Fondateur et Directeur du Verbier Festival, Martin Engstroem. « Cela est typique de l’esprit audacieux de Jimmy et de sa passion pour la musique. Sa grande connaissance du répertoire orchestral a fait des répétitions non pas de simples sessions de travail, mais de véritables masterclasses ».

James Levine était également un pianiste accompli qui s’est régulièrement produit aux côtés de chanteurs et solistes invités sur la scène Mainstage du Festival ainsi qu’avec des musiciens d’orchestre pour des concerts autour des répertoires de musique de chambre. Après avoir participé à huit éditions consécutives depuis 1999, le maestro a signé sa dernière apparition au Festival en 2006 par une soirée entièrement dédiée à Beethoven, et notamment sa magistrale 9e Symphonie.

James Levine a été à l’initiative de la riche collaboration entre le Verbier Festival et le Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, dont il a été le Directeur musical pendant plus de 40 ans. Depuis, le Verbier Festival Orchestra accueille chaque été les principaux membres du MET en qualité de coachs pour ses musiciens.

En 2017, le Verbier Festival déclarait sa tristesse et sa déception suite à la révélation des accusations d’agression sexuelle tenues à l’encontre de James Levine.