Tarmo Peltokoski

conductor
Biography

Finnish conductor Tarmo Peltokoski was awarded the title of “Principal Guest Conductor” in January 2022 by The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, the first conductor to hold this position in the orchestra’s 42-year history.

In May 2022, Peltokoski was named Music and Artistic Director of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra. He starts his term in the 22/23 season. He was subsequently named Principal Guest Conductor of the Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest. In August 2022 at the age of 22, he completed his first Wagner Ring cycle at the Eurajoki Bel Canto Festival. In December 2022, Peltokoski was announced as Music Director of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse.

Last season he made highly successful debuts with the hr- Sinfonieorchester, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and the Rotterdam Philharmonic.

In the summer of 2022 he appeared at Rheingau Musik Festival, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn and Musikfest Bremen.

In the 22/23 season Tarmo Peltokoski has conducted the Hong Kong Philharmonic, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, RSB Berlin, the Hallé, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, Göteborgs Symfoniker, San Diego Symphony and the Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse and the Los Angeles Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl. He returned to Eurajoki Bel Canto Festival to conduct Tristan und Isolde.

In summer 2023 he will work with Latvian National Symphony in Riga for Siegfried.

In the 23/24 season Tarmo Peltokoski will conduct Don Giovanni at the Finnish National Opera. In the Fall he will be returning to Rotterdam Philharmonic and make his debut with The National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, DC both with Yuja Wang as soloist. Early 2024 sees him presenting both Mahler’s Fourth Symphony and a complete Prokofiev Piano Concerto Cycle with Jan Lisiecki, both with the The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. In July 2024, Peltokoski is set to conduct Bruckner’s Symphony No. 9 in Toulouse and Wagner’s Götterdämmerung in Riga.

He will debut with Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, at Pfingstfestspiele Baden-Baden and with The Oslo Philharmonic.

He has and will work with soloists such as Yuja Wang, Asmik Grigorian, Matthias Goerne, Jan Lisiecki, Julia Fischer, Golda Schultz, Martin Fröst, Janine Jansen, Leonidas Kavakos, Chen Reiss and Sol Gabetta.

Tarmo Peltokoski began his studies with professor emeritus Jorma Panula at the age of 14 and studied with Sakari Oramo at the Sibelius Academy. He has also been taught by Hannu Lintu, Jukka-Pekka Saraste and Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Also an acclaimed pianist, he studied piano at the Sibelius Academy with Antti Hotti. His piano playing has been awarded at many competitions and he has appeared as a soloist with all major Finnish orchestras.

In 2022 he received the Lotto Prize at Rheingau Musik Festival and in 2023 he received the OPUS Klassik for his recording with The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

In addition Tarmo Peltokoski has also studied composing and arranging, and especially enjoys music comedy and improvisation.


Programme
25 July 2024 18:30
symphonic
VFCO / PELTOKOSKI / DEBARGUE

fbpx

Tarmo Peltokoski

direction
Biographie

Le chef d’orchestre finlandais Tarmo Peltokoski s’est vu décerner le titre de « premier chef invité » en janvier 2022 par la Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. Il est le premier chef à occuper ce poste en 42 ans d’histoire de l’orchestre.

En mai 2022, M. Peltokoski a été nommé directeur musical et artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique national de Lettonie. Il entame son mandat lors de la saison 22/23. Il est ensuite nommé premier chef invité du Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest. En août 2022, à l’âge de 22 ans, il achève son premier cycle du Ring de Wagner au festival Bel Canto d’Eurajoki. En décembre 2022, Peltokoski a été nommé directeur musical de l’Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse.

La saison dernière, il a fait des débuts très réussis avec le hr- Sinfonieorchester, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France et l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Rotterdam.

Au cours de l’été 2022, il s’est produit au Rheingau Musik Festival, au Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, au Beethovenfest Bonn et au Musikfest Bremen.

Au cours de la saison 22/23, Tarmo Peltokoski a dirigé l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hong Kong, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, le RSB Berlin, le Hallé, le Konzerthausorchester Berlin, le Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, le Göteborgs Symfoniker, le San Diego Symphony et l’Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse, ainsi que le Los Angeles Philharmonic au Hollywood Bowl. Il est retourné au festival Bel Canto d’Eurajoki pour diriger Tristan und Isolde.

À l’été 2023, il travaillera avec l’Orchestre symphonique national de Lettonie à Riga pour Siegfried.

Au cours de la saison 23/24, Tarmo Peltokoski dirigera Don Giovanni à l’Opéra national de Finlande. À l’automne, il retournera à l’Orchestre philharmonique de Rotterdam et fera ses débuts avec le National Symphony Orchestra à Washington, DC, tous deux avec Yuja Wang en tant que soliste. Début 2024, il présentera la quatrième symphonie de Mahler et un cycle complet de concertos pour piano de Prokofiev avec Jan Lisiecki, tous deux avec la Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. En juillet 2024, M. Peltokoski dirigera la Symphonie n° 9 de Bruckner à Toulouse et Götterdämmerung de Wagner à Riga.

Il fera ses débuts avec l’Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, au Pfingstfestspiele Baden-Baden et avec l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Oslo.

Il a travaillé et travaillera avec des solistes tels que Yuja Wang, Asmik Grigorian, Matthias Goerne, Jan Lisiecki, Julia Fischer, Golda Schultz, Martin Fröst, Janine Jansen, Leonidas Kavakos, Chen Reiss et Sol Gabetta.

Tarmo Peltokoski a commencé ses études avec le professeur émérite Jorma Panula à l’âge de 14 ans et a étudié avec Sakari Oramo à l’Académie Sibelius. Il a également suivi l’enseignement de Hannu Lintu, Jukka-Pekka Saraste et Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Également pianiste reconnu, il a étudié le piano à l’Académie Sibelius avec Antti Hotti. Son jeu de piano a été récompensé lors de nombreux concours et il s’est produit en tant que soliste avec tous les grands orchestres finlandais.

En 2022, il a reçu le prix Lotto au Rheingau Musik Festival et en 2023, il a reçu l’OPUS Klassik pour son enregistrement avec la Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

En outre, Tarmo Peltokoski a également étudié la composition et l’arrangement, et apprécie particulièrement la comédie musicale et l’improvisation.


Programme
25 juillet 2024 18:30
concert symphonique
VFCO / PELTOKOSKI / WANG