Simon Rattle

conductor
Biography

Sir Simon Rattle was born in Liverpool and studied at the Royal Academy of Music.

From 1980 to 1998, Sir Simon was Principal Conductor and Artistic Adviser of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and was appointed Music Director in 1990. In 2002 he took up the position of Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker where he remained until the end of the 2017-18 season. Sir Simon was appointed Music Director of the London Symphony Orchestra in September 2017, a position he remained in until the 2023-24 season when he became the orchestra’s Conductor Emeritus. In 2023-24, Sir Simon took up the position of Chief Conductor with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in Munich. He is a Principal Artist of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Founding Patron of Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Sir Simon has made over 70 recordings for EMI record label (now Warner Classics) and has received numerous prestigious international awards for his recordings on various labels. Releases on EMI include Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms (which received a Grammy Award for Best Choral Performance) Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, Ravel’s L’enfant et les sortileges, Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, Mahler’s Symphony No. 2, Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring and Rachmaninov’s The Bells and Symphonic Dances, all recorded with the Berliner Philharmoniker. His most recent recordings include Berlioz’ Le damnation de Faust, Helen Grime’s Woven Space, Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande , Turnage’s Remembering, and Beethoven’s Christ on the Mountain of Olives, which were all released by the London Symphony Orchestra’s own record label, LSO Live.

Sir Simon regularly tours within Europe, the United States and Asia, and has strong longstanding relationships with the world’s leading orchestras. He regularly conducts the Staatskapelle Berlin, Berliner Philharmoniker, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, and the Czech Philharmonic. Recent operatic highlights include Der Rosenkavalier with the Metropolitan Opera New York, Janáček’s Katya Kabanova with the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin, and Wozzeck with the London Symphony Orchestra at Festival d’Aix en Provence.

Music education is of supreme importance to Sir Simon, and his partnership with the Berliner Philiharmoniker broke new ground with the education programme Zukunft@Bphil, earning him the Comenius Prize, the Schiller Special Prize from the city of Mannheim, the Golden Camera and the Urania Medal. He and the Berliner Philharmoniker were also appointed International UNICEF Ambassadors in 2004 – the first time this honour has been conferred on an artistic ensemble. In 2019, Sir Simon announced the creation of the LSO East London Academy, developed by the London Symphony Orchestra in partnership with 10 East London boroughs. This free program aims to identify and develop the potential of young East Londoners between the ages of 11 and 18 who show exceptional musical talent, irrespective of their background or financial circumstance. Sir Simon was awarded a knighthood by Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in 1994 and received the Order of Merit in 2014. He received the Order of Merit in Berlin in 2018. In 2019, Sir Simon was given the Freedom of the City of London.

His inaugural season (23/24) as Chief Conductor of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks will include tours in the US and Europe, concert performances of Idomeneo, as well as an important new commission by Thomas Adés. Appearances elsewhere include concerts with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Berliner Philharmoniker, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Czech Philharmonic, London Symphony Orchestra and at the Verbier Festival 2024.

November 2023


Programme
23 July 2024 18:30
symphonic
VFCO / RATTLE / KAVAKOS / MÄKELÄ / SHANI

Streaming
17 July 2018 RATTLE, SCHIFF
Concerts
Rattle & Schiff in Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 and Piano Concerto No. 1

Simon Rattle

direction
Biographie

Sir Simon Rattle est né à Liverpool et a étudié à la Royal Academy of Music.

De 1980 à 1998, Sir Simon a été chef principal et conseiller artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Birmingham et a été nommé directeur musical en 1990. En 2002, il a occupé le poste de directeur artistique et chef principal du Berliner Philharmoniker, où il est resté jusqu’à la fin de la saison 2017-18. Sir Simon a été nommé directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres en septembre 2017, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’à la saison 2023-24, date à laquelle il est devenu chef émérite de l’orchestre. En 2023-24, Sir Simon a pris le poste de chef principal de l’Orchestre symphonique de la Bayerischer Rundfunk à Munich. Il est un artiste principal de l’Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment et le fondateur bienfaiteur du Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Sir Simon a réalisé plus de 70 enregistrements pour le label EMI (aujourd’hui Warner Classics) et a reçu de nombreux prix internationaux prestigieux pour ses enregistrements sur divers labels. Les sorties chez EMI comprennent la Symphonie des psaumes de Stravinsky (qui a reçu un Grammy Award pour la meilleure performance chorale), la Symphonie fantastique de Berlioz, L’enfant et les sortilèges de Ravel, la Suite Casse-Noisette de Tchaïkovski, la Symphonie no 2 de Mahler, Le Sacre du printemps de Stravinsky et Les Cloches et Danses symphoniques de Rachmaninov, tous enregistrés avec le Berliner Philharmoniker. Ses enregistrements les plus récents incluent La Damnation de Faust de Berlioz, Woven Space de Helen Grime, Pelléas et Mélisande de Debussy, Remembering de Turnage, et Le Christ au mont des Oliviers de Beethoven, tous sortis sous le propre label discographique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres, LSO Live.

Sir Simon fait régulièrement des tournées en Europe, aux États-Unis et en Asie, et entretient des relations étroites et durables avec les orchestres les plus prestigieux du monde. Il dirige régulièrement la Staatskapelle Berlin, le Berliner Philharmoniker, l’Orchestre de chambre d’Europe et la Philharmonique tchèque. Parmi ses récents temps forts lyriques, citons Der Rosenkavalier avec le Metropolitan Opera de New York, Katya Kabanova de Janáček avec la Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin et Wozzeck avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres au Festival d’Aix en Provence.

L’éducation musicale revêt une importance primordiale pour Sir Simon, et son partenariat avec le Berliner Philharmoniker a ouvert de nouvelles voies avec le programme éducatif Zukunft@Bphil, lui valant le prix Comenius, le prix spécial Schiller de la ville de Mannheim, la Golden Camera et la médaille Urania. Lui et le Berliner Philharmoniker ont également été nommés ambassadeurs internationaux de l’UNICEF en 2004, une première pour un ensemble artistique. En 2019, Sir Simon a annoncé la création de la LSO East London Academy, développée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres en partenariat avec 10 arrondissements de l’est de Londres. Ce programme gratuit vise à identifier et à développer le potentiel des jeunes Londoniens de 11 à 18 ans présentant un talent musical exceptionnel, indépendamment de leur milieu ou de leur situation financière. Sir Simon a été anobli par Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II en 1994 et a reçu l’Ordre du Mérite en 2014. Il a reçu l’Ordre du Mérite à Berlin en 2018. En 2019, Sir Simon a reçu la liberté de la Ville de Londres.

Sa première saison (23/24) en tant que chef principal de l’Orchestre symphonique de la Bayerischer Rundfunk comprendra des tournées aux États-Unis et en Europe, des concerts d’Idomeneo, ainsi qu’une importante nouvelle commande de Thomas Adès. Il apparaîtra également dans des concerts avec l’Orchestre de chambre Mahler, le Berliner Philharmoniker, l’Orchestre de chambre d’Europe, la Philharmonique tchèque, l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres et au Festival de Verbier 2024.


Programme
23 juillet 2024 18:30
symphonique
VFCO / RATTLE / KAVAKOS / MÄKELÄ / SHANI

Streaming
17 juillet 2018 RATTLE, SCHIFF
Concerts
Rattle & Schiff dans la Symphonie n°5 et le Concerto pour piano n°1 de Beethoven