Milan Siljanov

bass-baritone
Biography

Milan Siljanov is currently in the ensemble of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich. A Samling Artist, he studied at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama (Opera Course) under the tutelage of Prof Rudolf Piernay. He is the winner of the prestigious Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition in London in 2015.

In 2018 he was awarded second prize and audience prize in the ARD international music competition and in 2014, he was awarded both the first prize and audience prize at the 50th International Vocal Competition in Hertogenbosch, the Netherlands.

Milan was a finalist in the Guildhall School of Music & Drama “Gold Medal” 2015 and is the recipient of the Independent Opera Voice Fellowship. His studies have been generously supported by The Worshipful Company of Wax Chandlers and the Independent Opera Voice Scholarship.

Highlights of the 2018/19 season included Leporello in Don Giovanni at the Bavarian State Opera, Der Einarmige in Frau ohne Schatten at the Verbier Festival, Haydn’s Nelson Mass at Staatskapelle Dresden under the baton of Omer Meir Wellber, recitals at the Hugo Wolf Academy in Stuttgart, at the Oxford Lieder Festival and the Wigmore Hall with pianist Nino Chokhonelidze.

Milan has worked with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Kirill Petrenko, Constatinos Carydis, Ivor Bolton, Erik Nielsen, Joshua Weilerstein and Simone Young.

Milan’s 2019/20 engagements include; Puccini’s Messa di Gloriawith MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra; a Japanese tour with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra performing Mozart’s Requiem; an appearance at the Mozarteum in Salzburg performing Mozart’s Requiem conducted by Constantinos Carydis; Beethoven Symphony No. 9 with Bilbao Symphony Orchestra conducted by Erik Nielsen; Escamillo in Carmen with Irish National Opera; Mahler’s Des Knaben Wunderhorn at Het Concertgebouw in Amsterdam with Julius Drake.

Roles at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich include; Montano in Otello; Peter, Besenbinder in Hänsel und Gretel; Sprecher in Die Zäuberflöte; Morbio in Die Schweigsame Frau; Masetto in Don Giovanni; Der Nachtwächter in Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (at the BBC Proms) and Schaunard in La Bohème.


Streaming
28 July 2019 Academy Success Story
Concerts
Milan Siljanov sings Schubert's 'Auf der Bruck' D. 853

MILAN SILJANOV

Baryton-basse

Lauréat du Prix Yves Paternot, Verbier Festival Academy 2016

Biographie

Milan Siljanov est actuellement dans l’ensemble de l’Opéra d’État bavarois à Munich. Artiste de Samling, il a étudié à la Guildhall School of Music & Drama (cours d’opéra) sous la tutelle du professeur Rudolf Piernay. Il est lauréat du prestigieux concours international de chant du Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation à Londres en 2015.

En 2018, il a obtenu le deuxième prix et le prix du public au concours international de musique de l’ARD et en 2014, il a obtenu le premier prix et le prix du public au 50e concours international de chant à Hertogenbosch, aux Pays-Bas.

Milan a été finaliste de la Guildhall School of Music & Drama « Gold Medal » 2015 et a reçu la bourse Independent Opera Voice Fellowship. Ses études ont été généreusement soutenues par la Worshipful Company of Wax Chandlers et la bourse Independent Opera Voice.

Parmi les moments forts de la saison 2018/19, citons Leporello in Don Giovanni à l’Opéra d’État de Bavière, Der Einarmige in Frau ohne Schatten au Festival de Verbier, la Messe Nelson de Haydn à la Staatskapelle de Dresde sous la direction d’Omer Meir Wellber, des récitals à l’Académie Hugo Wolf de Stuttgart, au Festival de Lieder d’Oxford et au Wigmore Hall avec le pianiste Nino Chokhonelidze.

Milan a travaillé avec des chefs d’orchestre tels que Valery Gergiev, Kirill Petrenko, Constatinos Carydis, Ivor Bolton, Erik Nielsen, Joshua Weilerstein et Simone Young.

Les engagements de Milan pour 2019/20 comprennent la Messa di Gloria de Puccini avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio MDR de Leipzig, une tournée au Japon avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio suédoise pour le Requiem de Mozart, une apparition au Mozarteum de Salzbourg pour le Requiem de Mozart sous la direction de Constantinos Carydis et la Symphonie n°1 de Beethoven. 9 de Beethoven avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Bilbao dirigé par Erik Nielsen ; Escamillo in Carmen avec l’Irish National Opera ; Des Knaben Wunderhorn de Mahler au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam avec Julius Drake.

Au Bavarian State Opera de Munich, on trouve Montano dans Otello, Peter, Besenbinder dans Hänsel und Gretel, Sprecher dans Die Zäuberflöte, Morbio dans Die Schweigsame Frau, Masetto dans Don Giovanni, Der Nachtwächter dans Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (aux BBC Proms) et Schaunard dans La Bohème.

Programme