fbpx

Erika Baikoff

soprano
Biography

Russian-American Soprano Erika Baikoff is in her second year in the Lindemann Young Artist Development Program. This season at the Met, she sings the roles of Xenia in Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov (debut), conducted by Sebastian Weigle; and Barbarina in Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro, under the musical direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Other engagements this season include Marzelline in Fidelio with North Carolina Opera.

From 2018 to 2020, Erika was a member of the Lyon National Opera Studio, where her roles included Le Feu/ Princesse/ Rossignol in Ravel’s L’Enfant et les Sortilèges and Juliet in Boris Blacher’s Romeo and Juliet. She was also featured as the soprano soloist in Mahler’s 4th Symphony with the Lyon National Opera Orchestra, conducted by Daniele Rustioni. Most recently, she sang the role of Musetta in Puccini’s La Bohème, as part of the Verbier Festival’s Atelier Lyrique. In 2022, she will make her debut at Musikverein Graz as Anna in Verdi’s Nabucco.

Erika was a 2021 Queen Sonja International Music Competition Finalist and a 2020 Metropolitan Opera Competition Semifinalist. She is also the first prize recipient at the 2019 Helmut Deutsch International Lied Competition and the 10th Concours Nadia et Lili Boulanger with her duo partner, Gary Beecher. Other awards include the 2019 Career Bridges Grant, 2018 Mondavi Young Artist Founders’ Prize, and 2013 Bouchaine Young Artist Scholarship.

Erika holds a Bachelor of Arts in French Studies from Princeton University and a Master of Music from The Guildhall School of Music and Drama.


Streaming
28 September 2021 VFJO / Gaffigan / Atelier Lyrique
Concerts
IDAGIO: Verbier Festival Academy 2021 — Puccini's La Bohème
01 August 2021 VFJO / Gaffigan / Atelier Lyrique
Concerts
James Gaffigan conducts Puccini's La Bohème
23 July 2021 Singers of the Academy
Concerts
IDAGIO: Verbier Festival Academy 2021 — Atelier Lyrique I

fbpx

Erika Baikoff

soprano
Biographie

La soprano russo-américaine Erika Baikoff en est à sa deuxième année dans le programme de développement des jeunes artistes Lindemann. Cette saison au Met, elle chante les rôles de Xenia dans Boris Godunov de Moussorgski (début), sous la direction de Sebastian Weigle, et de Barbarina dans Le Nozze di Figaro de Mozart, sous la direction musicale de Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Parmi les autres engagements de la saison, citons Marzelline dans Fidelio avec le North Carolina Opera.

De 2018 à 2020, Erika a été membre du Studio de l’Opéra national de Lyon, où elle a notamment interprété les rôles de Le Feu/ Princesse/ Rossignol dans L’Enfant et les Sortilèges de Ravel et Juliette dans Roméo et Juliette de Boris Blacher. Elle a également été soliste soprano dans la 4e Symphonie de Mahler avec l’Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Lyon, sous la direction de Daniele Rustioni. Plus récemment, elle a chanté le rôle de Musetta dans La Bohème de Puccini, dans le cadre de l’Atelier Lyrique du Verbier Festival. En 2022, elle fera ses débuts au Musikverein Graz dans le rôle d’Anna dans Nabucco de Verdi.

Erika a été finaliste du concours international de musique Reine Sonja en 2021 et demi-finaliste du concours du Metropolitan Opera en 2020. Elle est également lauréate du premier prix du Concours international de lied Helmut Deutsch 2019 et du 10e Concours Nadia et Lili Boulanger avec son partenaire de duo, Gary Beecher. Parmi ses autres récompenses, citons la bourse Career Bridges 2019, le prix Mondavi Young Artist Founders 2018 et la bourse Bouchaine Young Artist 2013.

Erika est titulaire d’une licence en études françaises de l’Université de Princeton et d’un master en musique de la Guildhall School of Music and Drama.


Streaming
28 septembre 2021 VFJO / Gaffigan / Atelier Lyrique
Concerts
IDAGIO : Verbier Festival Academy 2021 — La Bohème de Puccini
01 août 2021 VFJO / Gaffigan / Atelier Lyrique
Concerts
James Gaffigan dirige La Bohème de Puccini
23 juillet 2021 Les Chanteurs de l'Academy
Concerts
IDAGIO : Verbier Festival Academy 2021 — Atelier Lyrique I