Atelier Lyrique

Summer 2022

The Verbier Festival Academy’s Atelier Lyrique is unique among voice programmes in Europe. Singers are accepted for either or both of the Atelier’s Opera and/or Song Programmes. The Atelier Lyrique’s alumni are among some of today’s most sought after young performers.

with the generous support of

Fondation Juchum
Anonymous (2)

programme dates

10 July – 1 August 2022

includes arrival and departure dates


Applications open: 15 September 2021
Deadline: 17 November 2021

Application Fee: USD 50

guidelines / apply now


Age & Nationality

Singers of all nationalities between the ages of 20 and 32 as of 1 July 2022 may apply.

Covid-19 Vaccination

Musicians who choose to take part in Verbier Festival Academy programmes do so voluntarily and are therefore obliged to accept and follow rules set out by the Fondation du Verbier Festival in order to make its programmes viable and compliant with local law.  In the interest of public safety, the Verbier Festival Academy requires all students to be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 for the duration of the programmes in which they take part. All students accepted to Academy programmes will also be obliged to be regularly tested as part of the Festival’s repetitive testing scheme. The Festival reserves the right to make changes to its Covid-19 protection plan as required.


opera programme

After nearly three weeks of vocal, language and stagecraft coaching and public masterclasses, singers in the 2022 Atelier Opera Programme will give a semi-staged performance of Humperdinck’s Hänsel und Gretel on the final afternoon of the Festival’s mainstage programme in collaboration with the Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra and conductor Stanislav Kochanovsky. Singers will also perform in a late-night ‘opera gala’ featuring arias and operatic scenes as part of the Festival’s Unlimited programme. Some singers may be invited to perform alongside international artists in one of the Festival’s evening Mainstage operas, Verdi’s Un ballo in maschera, with the Verbier Festival Orchestra and conductor Gianandrea Noseda.

song programme

Repertoire choice is free although singers are encouraged to bring a variety of songs in different languages and styles. Students can expect to work through six to eight songs in the various masterclasses and will have the opportunity to work on other repertoire in coaching sessions. They are advised to bring groups of songs in German, English (British and American) and French, and are also encouraged to prepare songs in their choice of languages. Singers will perform in two recitals as part of the Festival’s afternoon Mainstage programme.


The schedule of Academy masterclasses and information about ticket reservations will be made available with the announcement of the 2022 Festival programme (tentatively December 2021).  Admission to masterclasses will be free with presentation of a ticket and valid Covid certificate.

mentors 2022

James Baillieu head, song programme
Tim Carroll
Caroline Dowdle head, opera programme
Barbara Frittoli
James Garnon
Thomas Hampson
Ken Noda
Thomas Quasthoff
Franziska Roth
Ekaterina Semenchuk

additional mentors to be announced

alumni mentors

In its quest for excellence, the Academy has developed collaborations with some of the greatest mentors and coaches. Returning 2022 mentors are marked with an asterix.

Thomas Allen
Emma Abbate
Theo Adam
James Baillieu*
Barbara Bonney
Tim Carroll*
Diego Cossu
Claudio Desderi
Caroline Dowdle*
Gian-Carlo del Monaco
Dan Ettinger
Brigitte Fassbaender
Barbara Frittoli*
James Gaffigan
James Garnon*
Hàkan Hagegàrd
Thomas Hampson*
Gundula Janowitz

Stanislav Kochanovsky*
Yannis Kokkos
Jonathan Miller
Alexandre Naoumenko
Ken Noda*
Elena Pankratova
Dimitri Platanias
Franziska Roth
Thomas Quasthoff*
Peter Schreier
Andreï Serban
Dame Kiri Te Kanawa
Anna Tomowa-Sintow
Roger Vignoles
Susannah Waters