Become a medici.tv subscriber to watch this stream in its entirety.

medici.tv >
Record date : 30 July 2021

Piano Sonata No. 9 in D major K. 311
Piano Sonata No. 17 in B-flat major K. 570
Piano Sonata No. 18 in D major K. 576

Mozart’s K. 311 sonata is the effervescent, shorter-length sibling to K. 310 in A minor and K. 309 in C major, the three having been published together in Paris in 1778. After a bubbling Allegro con spirito comes a dignified Andante Con Espressione, then a playfully skipping RondeauK. 570 dates from February 1789, and strangely was published in 1796 as a violin sonata, despite Mozart’s autograph catalogue listing it as being for solo piano. Its Adagio in particular stands out for opening with an invocation of solemn horns, and in general its music encourages orchestral imaginings. K. 576, also penned in 1789, was his last sonata. Nicknamed ‘The Hunt’ on account of its opening call, and combining highly virtuosic contrapuntal writing with lightness and elegance, it’s the most brilliant and technically demanding of all the sonatas.

More VF at home content