Become a subscriber to watch this stream in its entirety >
Record date : 25 July 2008

Piano Quartet in E-flat major Op. 47

Piano Quartet in C minor Op. 60

Schumann and Brahms were tied to together by their love for Clara Wieck. Loving wife and muse to Robert Schumann, Clara was a friend and mentor to Brahms both before and  after the death of her husband. This concert featured the works of these two great Romantic composers, opening with Schumann’s Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47, a piece emblematic of Schumann’s personality: agited, tormented, and passionate. It was followed by the Andante movement of Brahms’ Piano Quartet in C Minor, Op. 60, a work pianist Menahem Pressler describes as, “the most beautiful love declaration ever composed.”

More VF at home content